We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overwhelmingly dissapointed on all fronts”
Review of Makahiki

Makahiki
Ranked #10 of 133 Restaurants in Kapolei
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overwhelmingly dissapointed on all fronts”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

To preface, my family are die hard Disney Aulani Vacation Club members and decided to stay with Disney for our Hawaii Trip. The hotel is great, and we figured eating dinner at Makahiki should be a low risk endeavor given the Disney pedigree.. Unfortunately, in retrospect, we should have at least toured the buffet prior to our reservation... You'd expect some quality food at $43 a head. Unfortunately the variety was underwhelming, you were relegated to anemic looking crab legs and maybe two pieces of the salmon sashimi the whole night (amongst some other local filler fish), and some decent oysters on the half shell. You can't go wrong w/brisket at a buffet; it was delish.. unfortunately, all the other cooked fish were dry beyond belief . The carving station Hawaiian salt crusted prime rib would have been delicious if not for the saltiness. The dessert may have had a mickey printed on a sheet of chocolate, but that's really the only resemblance I've seen that may slightly match up to my high expectations of a Disney product over the years.

To top off the unfortunate experience, the waitress was inattentive. Granted, we didn't order any fancy cocktails or anything, but when is that ever an excuse to neglect? On top of that, we lost our waitress after she dropped the check off.... you know you have problems when a venue doesn't even efficiently take your money. We ended up having another very helpful waitress close out the check. Due to waitress neglect, I had time to notice other waitresses and how they were much more attentive to their customers. I guess I got a fluke this time around.

All in all, assuming I had a fluke waitress, I would recommend at least making a pass through the buffet line prior to committing yourself to expensive regret!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blank002m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    187
    141
    47
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Impressive buffet”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Took the family for my granddaughters 9th birthday. As she has Celiacs and needs a gluten-free diet I knew Disney would accommodate her. The Chef came out to show her the gluten-free choices that were included in the buffet and also made her a gluten-free pizza and cake. The whole party enjoyed all the choices the buffet had to offer. It was expensive but worth the price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SCCCDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Typical Selections, Decent Food, Nice Atmosphere”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We ate at Makahiki for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. There are buffet options for breakfast and dinner, but we ate a la carte. One thing we did appreciate was this a la carte option; most Disney buffets do not offer an alternative option. For all meals, there was nothing that special on the menu - the food was good, but not spectacular. We always appreciate a character meal when staying at Disney, and Makahiki offers a character breakfast; it was nice to see the characters, however we found it to be much louder and more hectic than most character meals that Disney offers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paia, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast buffet”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Breakfast buffet was amazing, everything fresh and such variety. Characters visit the dining room for photos and the service was excellent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CindyPaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Buffet at Aulani”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had both breakfast and dinner at Makahiki. Seating is both inside and outside on a patio surrounded by lush plantings.

Breakfast offerings were varied including omelets made to order along with items likely favored by the Japanese visitors. Otherwise it was the usual breakfast fare. Everything was well labeled so there was no confusion. Auntie keeps the children entertained but she is loud. (We were glad when she went on break!). Characters were plenty and stayed to take two or three pictures each. It was $155, including tip, for two adults and two tweens who are considered adults in Mickey's eyes.

Dinner was lovely. We had an excellent server, Lauren, who also provided excellent guidance regarding how we should spend our time while on the North Shore. Her recommendations were spot on. The food was very good with sushi, sashimi, prime rib, shrimp, salad bar, all sorts of chicken, pasta and vegetables prepared in many different ways. The desserts were good. Cost? $260 including tip and a small birthday cake for our daughter.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Travel8500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makahiki also viewed

 

Been to Makahiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing