We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence
Mobile, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise on earth!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We celebrated our anniversary here with our two kids and all I can say is WOW! I did not want to leave. It was everything I had dreamed and imagined. When we first walked into the A frame lobby area it literally took my breath away. The breeze coming off the water through that area along with the beautiful scene depicted around the ceiling was truly amazing. We arrived right at sunset which I recommend everyone do. At that time all the torches are burning that illuminate the driveway and it is beautiful. I cannot wait until we can go back. Everyone was extremely nice. We never met anyone in a bad mood. It is expensive but you do get what you pay for here. The only recommendation I could make to Disney is to install water sprays for the water slide waiting lines because during the peak day hours it would get hot and the lines would get long. Our room had an excellent view and was very spacious for the four of us. We rented the one bedroom villa. If I could have stayed all summer I would have. Truly the best vacation ever and I have traveled the world. Disney does it right again.

Room Tip: Pool/lazy river side up high enough for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,895
    1,258
    452
    185
    136
See reviews for
3,483
683
31
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kapolei
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Aulani from start to finish is an incredible experience. Upon arrival you are welcome with floral leis and beads for men. Kids also get their own necklace. The resort is incredibly well designed and it is clear that the ownership took great care in selecting quality furnishing and building materials throughout the resort. The walls are thick so you do not hear your neighbors - remember there are a ton of kids and infants and it was nice to have a peaceful environment in your room.

The windows and doors were double-pane to also help ensure a peaceful stay. The room was very nice as we upgraded to a suite. Living area had wet bar with mid-size fridge and sink. We had a microwave delivered and used the Keurig every morning. Table for four and sitting area for 6 was spacious enough for our family to join us for breakfast and happy hour daily. Large balcony was nice bonus.

Bedroom was great with access to balcony as well. Bathroom was incredible with large soaking tub, large shower with rainfall and sitting area, make-up mirror and bench and water closet with separate door provided privacy. Toilet was also a bidet toilet seat fro Toto.

Service at the resort was awesome, and everyone we encountered had a great attitude. You really don't even know you are at a Disney resort unless you enjoy the character breakfast or another Disney activity. We like Disney as much as the next guy but are not crazy about Disney.

With a 8 and 11 yr old the pool area was the perfect environment to allow them to be on their own and check-in with us every once in a while. They enjoyed the lazy river, watersides, multiple pools, beach with volleyball. Adults and kids enjoyed snorkeling in the 180,000 gallon salt water reef pool with over 1,200 fish. They fed the fish to get all to swarm around us and took underwater pictures. So cool to snorkel in a reel reef without any threat of shark or sea snakes.

The resort is one of the best I have been too and it is a perfect vacation for those that want a 5-star experience with kids from 3-14. Any review that says this resort is expensive simply does not want to pay for quality. You pay for what you get and this resort is worth every penny!

Room Tip: Check out the bay in front of the Marriott next door - great snorkeling Get a $20 cup for refills a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Majk20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Let me start by saying I am a huge fan of Disney and thier customer service. But after spending a week on Maui at the Grand Wailea and 6 nights at the Hilton Hawaiian Village in Waikiki, I find that the other two resorts fit our family better. My tween and teen were bored. The kids programs are geared toward younger kids and one night they cancelled all teen programs without additional compesation or other activities planned. So disappointed. This is not the Disney we came for. The kids were so excited to get here and after two days want to leave.
The bonuses are the workout programs and the snorkeling. It is just as good as Hunauma Bay but be careful for the current. You definitely need to be a good swimmer and flippers are a must to get to the nice areas. Go beyond the rocks in the cove in the morning when the surf is calm and clear. You WILL see many turles!! Don't bother with rainbow cove snorkeling. Too many misbehaving kids it make it fun. Disney would benifit from a reef/fish education program for its guests. It was painful to see so many stand on the coral in the lagoon.
The resort food is good and on par with Disney quality. Don't miss the evening buffet! If you have a kitchen or studio, there are four gas grills to BBQ with. A great way to save money and have an inexpensive dinner :) Costco is about 10 min drive. They carry Prime steaks and amazingly fresh fish to grill. We added a salad and a 6 pack of beer and had our cheapest meal yet!
The resort was an expensive venture that didn't match our expectations. We've stayed at many Disney properties and was hoping this stay would be the same. It really missed the mark. It is too expensive for families of teens. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank coloradotrigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I love this resort. It is beautiful, magical and majestic. When you arrive, you are greeted by Disney Cast Members with a friendly smile, genuine hospitality and Hawaiian leis. Then, they hand you pineapple water and show your the lobby. When you enter the resort it is apparent that they have put much detail into all aspects of the hotel. It is true to the culture as it pays homage to everything Hawaiian. This hotel is paradise. This is our second visit to Aulani and it was even better than the first visit. The hotel has added a new pool, more rooms and moved around some of the amenities.

It is a fabulous place to enjoy a family vacation. We went with family and friends and everyone loved the experience. We had a two bedroom suite with a kitchen, 2 1/2 baths and a central living area. The suite was very spacious and even though there were 6 people in the suite, there was plenty of space. There is room for three more people to sleep, but I don't think we would have more than one additional person in the suite.

The water features are tremendous. They have family and "adult-only" pools and hot tubs. There is a lazy river that is so relaxing that I could float in this cool river for hours. (Oh that is right, I did!) They have two water slides, one calm and the other in complete darkness. Don't forget the beach which is so beautiful and safe for swimming. There is also Rainbow Reef which has snorkeling in a controlled pool, stocked with tropical fish. Lots of places to relax on the beach and around the pools. You can have food brought to you if you don't want to move when lunch rolls around.

The Disney Cast Members are so into service and friendliness that it is hard to not enjoy their company. I found myself chatting with them each day. That aspect added to the pleasure of the trip. You will also run into Disney Characters around the resort for pictures, parties and entertainment. The Disney theme is definitely secondary to the Hawaiian theme.

The spa is exclusive, with relaxing services for the entire family. There is a teen spa, Painted Sky, where 13 - 17 year olds can hang out, have yogurt, get their nails done, or get a massage. The adult spa is like none I have ever seen. Before and after your treatment, you can relax in the mineral pools and the 6 different showers that are throughout the courtyard. After a couple of hours there I felt like a new person.

They have put so much of Hawaiian history into Aulani. The resort looks Polynesian and has stories of the Hawaiian people intertwined with the architecture, furniture and artwork. They have a show called the Starlit Hui that has the makings of a luau without the food. It has hula dancers, ukulele players and Hawaiian music. The show is free if you are staying at the resort. There are also nature walks, Ukulele lessons, excursions and so much more.

The restaurants are great. Grap and go, by the pool casual, and the AMA AMA, which sits right on the beach. It isn't cheap, but the food is fabulous at the AMA AMA. There is also a breakfast character meal for the little ones.

This is the best resort in Hawaii, in my view. You can't go wrong with Disney's Aulani.

Room Tip: All rooms are great even if they do not have an ocean view. The garden and pool views are also nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank swilson628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

You can't go wrong in combining Hawaii, Sun and Fun activities and The Aulani is great. The grandkids loved Aunty's Beach House, the slides and the kid only Bridge play area. The adults loved the Spa and quick service of drinks by the pool and of course the pools.
The down side; not enough lounge chairs; slippery and hot surface around the pools; in our hotel room the lighting in bathroom was inadequate.
The Cast Members were mostly very friendly and helpful, a couple of minor situations, but I feel they may have been a little inexperienced with the public.
I should have called maintenance on one issue. There was very bright spotlight that I believe was misplaced. It was facing directly at our balcony all night long. We were on the eighth floor Ewa Tower facing the pool with an ocean view. It must effect all rooms in the 880s, not just ours. Ruined all nighttime photos.
I don't why Disney had to make the Entrance is so bland and dark, not Disney at all. I understand not being Mickey all over, but why not a lighter feel?

Room Tip: In the Summer you will get afternoon sun in the Ewa Tower, and for a chance to see the ocean you nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Great place for kids. Tons of activities during the day. Snorkeling in the lagoon is very good, though the beach to the right of the Disney lagoon is better. Rainbow reef is full of kids and parents who have no business being in the water. Makahiki restaurant is a buffet with plenty of selection, but is quite pricey for either lunch or dinner, and the service was very hit-or-miss the two times we visited. AMA AMA has a beautiful location overlooking the lagoon, but you can do better at Monkeypod across the street for less money. Also a good idea to get beer at the ABC store across the street ($8 for a six-pack as opposed to $8/beer on-site. Room was very nice and well appointed, bit don't be surprised if your "garden view" gets you a view of the parking lot. Menehune trail was a eat way to explore the property, make sure you allow plenty of time for it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank microtr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from Aulani, wow!
Awesum place for family's, room was nice.. We were on the 8th floor, had lovely view of the pools and ocean. Our daughter loved the beach, and pools but mostly the lazy river..
Breakfast we got was the Disney character one.. Were goofy and Mickey Mouse came to see you at your table and get photos.. Breakfast food was a let down not very nice at all.. Same thing every morning, bacon is uneatable very hard. Not worth the $100 for 3 everyday.
Across the road is better eating places and cheaper, MonkeyPod has wonderful meals..
All in all lovely resort, busy resort.. Would love to visit again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nominz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapolei
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,252 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa

Property: Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
Address: 92-1185 Ali'inui Drive, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707-4434
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 819
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TravelUp, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aulani, a Disney Resort And Spa In Hawai`i
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa In Hawai`i Hotel Kapolei
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa Hawaii/Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing