We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visitors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Visitors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Myself, husband, 5 year old daughter, sister and in laws went to aulani for the character breakfast. The price was $32 per adult and $18 per child. We got to meet Mickey, Minnie, Goofy and Stich. Food was very tasty. Free parking with $35 spent and validation. We were also able to hang out at the lagoon for 3 hours. Beautiful resort, highly recommend.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,856
    1,233
    443
    183
    134
See reviews for
3,427
670
30
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Disney has done it again with fantastic efforts with Aulani. For a family, it has everything you are looking for. From the amazing scenery and buildings to the incredible variety of activities for kids. It was invaluable to have auntys beachouse be such a great place for kids to be safe and hang out with and without parents. The iPad scavenger hunts were so magical and fun and we appreciated the DVDs to borrow at night. We thoroughly enjoyed the lazy river and water slides. The only thing that could be improved is the system for signing up for the limited space activities for kids. There must be a better way then lining up at 6:30 am to sign up for activities that you may or may not get into. We thought the refillable mug beverage stations were a great idea $20 cup = as many drinks of coffee, pop as you like for your stay. All in all we loved Aulani and can't wait to go back again and search for the menehune. We will be recommending it to everyone we know!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disney1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We just returned from a 7 night/ 8 day vacation at Aulani and I have to say it was really great! The hospitality of the place and people are wonderful and since we have 2 kids it was great because we got to spend a lot of time doing activities with them. All of the design and layout of the place is setup for kids, and the pools/waterslides were great for them to have alot of fun. We did the star watching and while it was $100 for the 4 of us, it was great to see the planets up close through a telescope. The private snorkeling was great for only $20 for the entire stay, and it was awesome for our boy. We stayed in the hotel 3 days, and ventured out around the island on the other 4 days. If you stay through the DVC you don't have to pay the $35 daily parking fee as well. Note about Oahu, the traffic is brutal and at least 2 times we were stuck in traffic for 2 hours getting from Honolulu back to Aulani. Either drive early or real late to avoid it. We also took family pictures at a beach next to Aulani for our X-mas card from the "video21productions" photography/videography company and they were really wonderful with the kids and we received almost 70 edited pictures on a CD from 1 photo session at an amazing price. You have to contact them directly for the photo quote, but let me be clear in that it was completely worth it.

Food solution- Many here have voiced about the lack of food selection, and we found the same so we went across the street to the Mexican, and Pizza place a couple nights and it was a better price and the food was pretty good. (Stay away from the Hawaiian BBQ in the shopping center, it was horrible) Also since we were out on adventures around the island we ate around the island alot. A great hidden place we found in Honolulu was Highway Inn diner kind of in an industrial area, but we loved it so much we went back a second time for the real authentic Hawaiian BBQ. Also Boots and Kimo's in Kailua was the best Macadamian Pancakes ever, and it is always packed and has a wait of 20 to 30 minutes. We also went to Safeway (10 minutes away) and stocked up on snacks and drinks.

I'd say finally that it was probably the best vacation experience I've ever had. Also It was pretty neat that we kept on bumping into people we had already met around the island and many were other Aulani families. We would be on a beach or hike, and we'd recognize another family or person that we had already conversed with, and it happened like 6 times. More than anything it was the friendships and memories that were made that did it for it.

Room Tip: This time of year (April) was super windy, so in the future we'd wait until after June to go bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We just took our 4 kids to the Aulani for Spring Break (week before Easter) and really enjoyed our 4 night stay. Greeted warmly by valet, given leis and menehune necklaces, a glass of cool water, and everybody wearing a smile was a warm departure from our previous stay Waikiki.

The best thing Aulani has going are the really nice two bedroom villas with full kitchen. Granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, great beds, spacious bedrooms and tiled showers are way beyond what you usually find. We cooked breakfast and lunch (stop by Costco which is one exit west on H1) everyday, saving hundreds if not thousands of dollars. For dinner, we ran across the street to Monkey Pod or in to Kapolei (10 minutes west) for Outback, Dominoes, Thai and others. I've travelled enough to know that Disney is going to make a grundle of money off you at their restaurants...and the quality is not excellent.

Rent a car. Give me a break...you flew to Hawaii to sit at a resort the whole time? Weird. Go to the north shore and eat in Haleiwa, hike to Waimea Falls, and swim/jump off the rock at Waimea Bay, snorkel at Shark's Cove, visit the Polynesian Cultural Center, play golf at Turtle Bay and by all means, go surf at Waikiki just once. Awesome.

We would return to Aulani for sure, when visiting Oahu but I wouldn't spend the entire week. But I think Disney has a really nice piece of property on the dry, sunny side of the island with a great beach (even if it is man-made). Rent paddle boards and kayaks but snorkeling in the Lagoon is useless.

Any complaints about pricing is useless. Disney has brainwashed all of us for decades, and the magic just keeps opening our wallets for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

This was one of the greatest vacation spots I have EVER visited. There is plenty for the kids to do (pool and beach) and the staff is so polite and helpful. The only downside is that almost all of the activities are an extra expense and the food cost a fortune. I would recommend buying the mugs where you have unlimited drink refills for your vacation and then exploring the island for dinner spots; this will save you a great amount of money in the long run. Over all, it was a trip well worth it.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacationadvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We were very disappointed that this resort carries the Disney name. The camp is not worth it having to stay in line from 6:30 am if you want your kids to do any of the activities. And free play is so boring that my kids didn't want to stay there. The counselor just stood there and watched them. No interaction. The teen counselors didn't even show up to the activities
The excuse I got when complaining? We are only 2.5 years old and working out the problems. for this money, I expected smooth sailing. And forget asking for the room for a few extra hours if your flight is in the evening. They want 700 for three extra hours. The rooms are nice but not worth the money. You can get so much more for the crazy money they charge you. We have been to many resorts with kids camps and this is by far, the WORST

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kidzot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

I'd have to agree with the previous reviewer. I was worried about the spring break crowds and we went right during the peak of it. Crowded yes, but not crazy crowded like times we have been to Disneyland. Sure you have to wait for things here and there but there are many ways around it. We slept in ( because it should be a real holiday) and had a later breakfast ( no waiting anywhere). Went to the pool in the afternoon and could always find a seat to plant our towels and stuff. Sure you are not going to find 4 seats together at that time but when we wanted some quiet sunbathing time we headed over to Lagoon 2 beach just a short walk to the left of Lagoon 1. Clean, quiet and nobody within 25 yards of you. We just spread our beach towels out and often had a picnic over there.

We loved everything about the resort - the villa room, pools and slides, lazy river, restaurants, Starlight Hui etc. Our kids loved the firepit storytelling every night before bed.
We rented a car but besides some grocery stops, it was a bit of a waste as the kids were never bored and did not want to leave the resort. Some say you are not truly experiencing Hawaii unless you travel to all parts of the island. I have been to all parts and in my opinion, Aulani does an excellent job at capturing the essence and culture of Oahu especially as an intro to first timers like my kids.

We did not use Auntie's Beach House but I would have to agree with other reviewers that it would be extremely annoying to have to get up at 7am to line up for program registration only to get shut out. Also, the only bad meal we had was the worst fried chicken ever from Makahiki.

All in all, Aulani exceeded our expectations in every way.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank soojr988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapolei
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,188 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa

Property: Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
Address: 92-1185 Ali'inui Drive, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707-4434
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 819
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa In Hawai`i Hotel Kapolei
Aulani, a Disney Resort And Spa In Hawai`i
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa Hawaii/Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing