We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is Disney. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“This is Disney. ”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

The Aulani is a Disney property. Adults, this is a kids hotel. If you go without kids, you won't like it like a kid would. This is Disney. If you want an adult experience, go to Maui.

My kids loved the slides and the pools. They loved the beach and we had a blast. I had a blast watching them have a blast. Why? Because this hotel is for KIDS.

Who cares about your view? Get your pasty white starbucked butt outside. Get your kids and go to the beach or water park. Why? Because this is a resort for KIDS. Kids. It is for KiDS.

Who cares if the scuba pool is cold? Fish need it that temp to live, oh and by the way this resort is to make kids dreams come true, not adults.

If you go to this resort without kids, then make another appointment with your shrink. Why? Because this resort is made to appeal to kids, not spoiled baby boomers who gripe about everything. "But my pool side room was so loud with kids laughter and the sound of water". Yes, that's because it is Disney and built for kids who laugh and play in water, genius (it is built for kids).

Oh, and the food was pricey and Oahu is about an hour away. But my KIDS never knew the difference. They loved it and I am the best Dad ever.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
32 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,895
    1,258
    452
    185
    136
See reviews for
3,483
683
31
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our kids are older (14 and 11) so they are a little old for character breakfasts and such. Whereas the Aulani is a Disney resort and you can have the "Disney" experience, it is not overwhelming, which was actually a good thing.

As for the resort's amenities, they rival those of the Grand Wailea's in Maui. There are two water slides, a lazy river, a snorkeling reef, and a freshwater lagoon. There was really no need to leave the resort. However, there are some nice dining options in Koolina (Roy's and MonkeyPod), so it is worth a free shuttle ride to venture out in the evening.

We were at the resort the week after Christmas, so finding a chair at poolside after 9am was a problem. I don't know if that's an issue other times of the year.

This was one of the best family vacation destinations we have been to and we definitely recommend it to others!

Room Tip: Worth getting a timeshare room if there are many in your party or you are staying for a longer perio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SDJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I can't say enough about the service and staff at this hotel. They were GREAT! This hotel has the perfect amount of Hawaii and Disney. The hotel is beautiful, the pools and fun and the spa is AMAZING. The breakfast buffet as some have said, the food is no different then any other breakfast buffet but the personal attention you get from the characters can't be beat. Go to the buffet for the characters if nothing else. There is a quick service dinning area by the splash pad. I did not find this tell the last couple days of the trip but it has fruit, cinnamon and many other tasty things. This trip was one of my all time favorites. We had a 14 month old with us and it was so fun to see him with the characters. This hotel caters to all ages and there is something for everyone. Add this hotel to your bucket list!

Room Tip: Honesty Any Room is great. We had one just about the Parking Garage, but with the gorgeous view of H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Outstanding staff and property. The setting of the hotel and grounds, architecture, and location are just terrific. We are DVC members and of the resorts we have stayed at this is clearly the best in the fleet. Everything from having enough elevators (waiting for an elevator is a pet peeve) to the beach staff, it is all exactly the way I like things. Yes, it is probably expensive relative to other properties but you pay for what you get. If you are going to make one trip to a tropical paradise Aulani should be at the top of your list. I cannot think of a way or area to improve on this resort.

Room Tip: the wing on the east side facing the lawn area. You get the morning golden light but not the glare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idahosandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

This resort is way overpriced. The location is nice and the ocean is great. The access to the beach is great. The pools are nice but crowded. With all of that said we were there over New Years, so I would say it was probably the worst time of year for crowds and prices.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

As you enter Aulani, you are greeted by a beautiful view of a wonderful and spacious foyer. Your senses are inundated by sounds of beautiful music your eyes feast on the lovely color and architecture that surrounds you. At the same time you are warmly greeted and presented with a lei!
.... The studio was slightly bigger than Disney's Vero Beach or their Saratoga or Animal Kingdom resorts' studio. We took the tour about the grounds given by a staff member. It was helpful as well as interesting.
It is made for families. Although, there is a great adult pool. They have a lazy river that's nice and warm! They have slides, several pools for families... Story telling in the evenings, star gazing, Hawaiian musicians that play nightly .... They have several restaurants. AMA AMA is great for lunch with a beautiful view of their beach and lagoon! Great place to snorkel, learn to paddle board or kayak. It's all there. Price- it is resort priced. It's Hawaii it's going to cost but it's worth the memories you make. Did I mention there are character appearances!
With a great golf course across the street, literally- Ko Olina golf course.
LPGA plays there. Buy the multi-round package!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are small,dining facilities overwhelmed by crowds and Disney family elements are sparse. Today at 2pm, nap time for our youngsters, they started a loud speaker 100+ decibel event around the pools. Can be heard a mike away and no way anyone in a hotel room is not disturbed. We walked down the beach about 100 yards to the much quieter beach in front of smaller scale beautiful Ihilani resort. Discover yesterday they have much better breakfast and lunch menu for our family at 30% lower than Disney overpriced disappointing food.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank 792DavidB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapolei
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,252 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa

Property: Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
Address: 92-1185 Ali'inui Drive, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707-4434
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 819
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aulani, a Disney Resort And Spa In Hawai`i
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa In Hawai`i Hotel Kapolei
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa Hawaii/Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing