We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We love Disneyworld and waited for Aulani to be finished before going to Oahu. The resort is nice, typical Disney, very tropical, Hawaian music playing etc. Rooms are nice, nothing special.Our safe did not work so the first two hours of our stay were not pleasant. We did get $50 credit for this inconvenience.
The pool is great but hard to find a chair. The beach is a man made lagoon attached and roped off from the ocean. The beach is crowded and very difficult to find an umbrella. Ko'Olina is in the middle of nowhere. It will take at least an hour to reach the North Shore or East. We stayed in Waikiki a few days to see Pearl Harbor, Diamond Head , do a few waterfall hikes and kayak the Mokes. Didn't like the city but it was much more convenient. Food is expensive at Aulani restaurants and snack bars. Recommend going off property to eat if you can.
We liked the Monkeypod across the street. (Happy hour half price appetizers) We did enjoy the character breakfast. Mickey, Minnie, and Goofy are always a good way to start the day. DVC people get many perks including food discounts, free parking, washers and dryers, suites. I know they paid for this but the rest of us seem to pay more than we should. Be prepared to pay at least $100 a night more than room price for acivites fee( good luck with the chairs and umbrellas), parking ( even self is $30 day), and of course taxes. We probably won't go to Aulani again or even Oahu for that matter. There are better islands and places to stay in Hawaii. One more thing we did like the morning exercise classes and night time story telling hour. The astronomy activity at $40 each was not worth the money.

Room Tip: Our mountain view included a beautiful view of mountains and the Pacific. Others may not have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bike2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,663 - 3,669 of 5,513 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I love to stay on Disney properties, because you can always count on Disney for perfection. Aulani was no exception - it was truly perfect for us. We stayed in an oceanview studio on the 14th Floor of the Wai'anae Tower. The view was gorgeous, the room was very comfortable, and large. There is plenty to do (fun slides, nice pools, beach complete with provided chairs and umbrellas, poolside and beach food and drink service, storytelling, live music, and so much more)... and there is a Starbucks in the J.W. Marriott right next door. :-) The manmade lagoon makes for safe ocean swimming, and is clean and beautiful. The property is stunning.

The food is pricey, but that is to be expected. My only complaint is that the only beverages made readily available, except at the restaurants, are sodas and high-sugar drinks - no iced tea. The food is great at the restaurants - the counter-service is typical counter-service fare (e.g., chicken fingers). We would highly recommend the Olelo Room for its good appetizers and live music nightly. The buffet restaurant had an a la carte menu available if you preferred to have the buffet, which was much appreciated.

Everyone was very friendly and welcoming. The location was easy to get to, and is very close to Kapolei, where you can easily find additional (and cheaper) food options. Even just within the Ko 'Olina resort area, there are additional options, as well as an ABC Store - and the Ko 'Olina shopping center is directly across the street, walkable from Aulani. (Of course, the additional food options in Ko 'Olina are equally as expensive as Aulani).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Reading everyones reviews really helped make our stay even better. A lot of what I am going to say is a repeat of what is said by others but it was so helpful for us. We had an amazing time, Disney does keep to its reputation for great service, except beachside service, not the best.
Check in On line before you arrive, this saved us having to wait in lines. Bring the print out and hand it to the greeter when you first walk in.

Parking is $35 a night, self park or valet is the same price

Get a photo pass from one of the photographers right away, you can start viewing you photos from your room. Take as many photos as you can through out your stay. Before you leave it is on $99 to get them all burned on to a CD. Note: It doesn't include the character breakfast unless you buy the prints at breakfast.

They have a soda souvenir cup for $18.99. You can use the soda stations to fill up so there is no waiting in line, plus coffee in the morning. If you are a water person like me bring your favorite water bottle with you and the have fresh ice cold water stations all over the resort. No Charge, they even have cups available for use but they are small. Note: They won't fill them up in the restaurants, so bring them filled.

There are a lot of resort activities. We didn't do a lot of them, but enjoyed all of the ones that we did do. The Disney Movie under the stars was fun and they give you a mat to sit on, but still bring a pillow or towel rolled up for comfort. The Menehune Adventure Trail is so much fun, it is a scavenger hunt that makes the resort come to life. There are no charge for either of those activities. The kids wanted to go to the story telling by the fire pit, but we never made it.

Pool or Beach chairs, yes, they do fill up. One of us got down there at 8am each day we stayed at the resort to save our seats and didn't have any problems. But beware, they have a one hour policy which states if you are not there for one hour they will take your stuff and put it at the front desk. How do they know it has been an hour? They walk around and fold your towels. We didn't have any problems, but one of us was there most of the time.

Across from the resort is a shopping mall with a lot of restaurants and an ABC market with Deli. Pizza place is okay, Mexican place is good, the Hawaiian take out is just like an L&L (Yummy). The sushi place and the Monkey Pod are both good, but pricey. We didn't have time to try the Deli because we didn't find out about it until the end of our stay. The food looked really good and the prices were great.

Best Sunset, first night enjoy from the lagoon to get all of the palm trees in the photo, second night, walk over past the JW Marriott from the beach. Go past the first area where everyone stands, you will see some tide pools and have a great view.

Costco is just two off ramps away from the resort, you pass it when you are going to the resort from the airpot. There is also a Target in the same area. Gas is cheaper at Costco than the regular stations, so bring your Costco card.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were comprehensive when we swap our DVC points for this place because it's not located on Waikiki Beach. After arriving, we were happily surprised at the array of services and entertainments Disney provide at the resort. We had stayed at Royal Hawaiian the last time we visited Oahu. Compared to RH, Aulani definitely is a superior choice - much larger room (we had 1 bedroom suite) with kitchen, excellent water entertainment area with lazy river, water slides, snorkeling tank, and a man made cove that you can swim without worry about strong waves hitting you. There is also a path where people can walk or jog Within along the shore (about 3 miles round trip). Within 5 minutes driving from the resort right off the HW, there is Costco, shops, restaurants to choose from. We ate at Kazoku sushi which was pretty good - only many empty plates to show off. Disney also has free Luau show twice a week and it was really good - with this you don't have to spend additional money or energy trying to look for a luau show. Every night there was different bands performing at the courtyard. You can just sit there sipping your drink and enjoy the sunset and music. It's worthwhile to buy the $15 refillable mug for your entire stay if you drink coffee or other soft drinks. We also used the gym which is well equipped and spacious. The only warning is the drive to Waikiki was not pleasant as the traffic is always bad. So next time, I'd rather stay at Aulani the entire trip and go north instead. There are plenty of nice beaches in the north shore and west shore for surfing, snorkeling, and swimming. The one day that we went to Waikiki because our kids wanted to surf there was a disappointment. The water was so filthy and the beach was so crowded that after 1 hour of surfing, my kids had enough. We went to beach on the west side and north - less crowd, much cleaner. Our family will definitely come back to Aulani again!

Room Tip: We had ocean view room 10th floor. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewJerseyIlmmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We are big Disney fans but we love Hawaii even more. What we like best about Aulani is Disney's attention to details. They really got it right designing the interior of the resort as well as the gardens. The only thing that reminds you of Disney are the characters rooming around, but only from time to time... but we love them! So it is the best of both worlds. From the moment you enter the lobby, you see the history and spirit of Hawaii all around in all the frescos on the ceiling and the decoration reflecting all the colors of Hawaii. Right away as you enter, you see the ocean blue and the amazing gardens and you only want to do one thing, grab your bathing suit and relax! DVC members are greater by a warm "Welcome Home!" and even if you are not DVC... this is home. I wish I could live there year-round!

Service all over the resort is off course excellent, everything we expect from Disney. But it is all the little touches that get you and make this the perfect vacation. From the various activities offered throughout the day (lei making, hukulele, story telling...) to the kids program (our kids had too much fun there, like on the Mickey Boat!), everything is meant for each family member to have a great vacation. So what did the adult do while the kids were having a blast?... The Spa! And what a spa... Just thinking about it, it gets me all relaxed again. It is the gift that keeps on giving! We had the couple massage and spent 3 hours there without even realizing. There are several outdoor pools and sprays surrounded by beautiful gardens and a resting area with great lounge chairs, lemon water and light snacks. The staff is top notch and even though it may be a little pricey, it is well worth it. You will not regret it! You can also buy a day pass and enjoy the facility without having a treatment.

Our room was really great. We had a one bedroom mountain view with a great view of Diamond Head. Like all Disney accommodations, the room was spacious with all the little extra decorative touches we expect in the Disney property but without taking away from the Hawaiian character. Now not all rooms are made equal at Aulani. We are pretty sure we would not have enjoyed a parking lot view as much... I would not cut corner there. You already spend quite a bit to fly to Hawaii, a nice view is well worth it. It will make you vacation much more enjoyable.

We ate at the hotel a few times, and enjoyed the counter service of outside bar area the most. One paddle two paddle counter service had a great fish taco and the bar menu had a lot of nice options for both kids and adults. We ate at Ama-Ama once without the kids. It was nice but for some reasons it felt a little rushed for us. We had an early dinner reservation. The restaurant was pretty empty when we arrived, but still had to wait 15 minutes to be seated. Once we got seated, that's when the service started feeling a bit rushed. We were not planning on spending hours lingering at the restaurant so we just went for a walk on the beach afterwards. The food was delicious. My husband and I both got mahi-mahi but prepared different ways. Mine had delicious mushrooms while my husband has a spicy tomato sauce. For more food option, there is a little market place across the street from Aulani and a few casual restaurants. For better (and cheaper) dining options, it is best to take a car and drive a few miles. If you stay in a one bedroom with a kitchen, there is a Costco nearby where you can get Hawaiian dishes for pretty cheap.

We really enjoyed the beach and pool area. It does get quite crowded (everybody loves Disney...). I wish Disney had gotten more land to build a bigger resort! We enjoyed strolling along the beach and wandering around the other hotels as well. If you go towards the Luau (right side from the pool), you may even see turtles swim around. The shoreline gets a little more raggedy and rocky which makes it a great spot to explore with kids. On the other side (left from the pool toward the chapel) is a nice walk along the beach and away from the crowd. Great spot to watch the sunset too on an evening stroll too. In the evening, Disney is also there to keep the entire family have a good time. Whether it is watching an outdoor movie, participating in a star gazing adventure with a great local guide or listening to amazing stories around the fire with Uncle, there is always something for everyone. And who could not have a good time at the hui or the luau nearby. But the best for the kids was still to be able to swim their way around under the stars. Aulani is a great place for a relaxing family vacation. For us, because we love Hawaii so much, we split our time between Aulani and other islands to be able to explore and be close to nature. But next time... I'm staying a full week!!!

Room Tip: A nice view makes all the difference. It helps to have a car as there is not much around in terms of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalKidsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I would HIGHLY recommend the Aulani. We were there only 4 days but was able to get the majority of what we wanted to do. Everything from location to the service to the beach to the shaved ice was phenomenal. I wish we could stay a bit longer & more often. It's a must to walk along the path down by the beach to the right of the resort & if you take the path, you will experience a breath taking view & may see a few little to large ocean dwellers. The North Shore is not that far so it's must to stop by Giovanni's Shrimp truck & swing by Matsumoto's Shaved Ice. For a great stop for the souvenirs, I recommend Surf & Sea surf shop. Can't wait to return - Mahalo!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCook333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

DVC family visiting for first time from East coast US. Resort is wonderful, is exactly like the pictures show. We had a 1br villa, typical dvc, the doors offer no privacy. The bedroom door to the living room, and the bedroom door to the bathroom are louvered doors and provide no privacy. DVC must do this on purpose to push people who want any privacy to book a 2br. We had two adults and two teenagers. Had ample room. They should do away with the bathtub and put a shower and toilet and make it a 2 bathroom unit, but that would be convenient and who would ever book a 2br. The resort it beautiful, the hotel is probably too large for the amount of land, the pool area was always crowded and difficult to find a chair. They are currently expanding the pool deck to help with this. The beach is wonderful, when they build another resort to the left, I would expect the cove to become a bit crowded, but right now it is nice. Dinning options are limited, and the two sitdown restaurants are very pricy. ($48/person buffet, and $60+/person amama). This is definitely and adult/older teen destination. They have things for kids to do and I am sure they have fun, but be honest, little kids have fun anywhere. This is a vacation for the parents, kids can come, but don't fool yourself into thinking you have to take your little kids to Hawaii, they would have more fun in WDW. I don't think I will go back to Hawaii, but if I did I would not hesitate to stay at Aulani.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapolei
0.5 mi away
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
18.7 mi away
Marina Tower Waikiki
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
269 reviews
3.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Oahu Kapolei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Airport Honolulu Hotel
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,069 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oahu/Kapolei
18.5 mi away
Pagoda Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa

Address: 92-1185 Ali'inui Drive, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707-4434
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range: $482 - $896 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 819
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelPower, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aulani, a Disney Resort And Spa In Hawai`i
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa In Hawai`i Hotel Kapolei
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa Hawaii/Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing