We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have to say this was one of the nicest places to stay. We were there for 5 days and it was not enough!! Disney just gets it right again! One of the most amazing spas we have ever visited - didnt expect it. The Activities were wonderful, my little 4 year old LOVED it. Magical.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,736 - 3,742 of 5,450 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

We visited the Aulani twice -- in April of 2012 and again in February of 2013. Both times we had a wonderful time except for a couple problems I will get to in a moment. The grounds are immaculate, new, beautiful. I was SO impressed and it was such a pleasure to vacation in this beauty with this level of cleanliness. The pools for my 12 year old were perfect -- the slides and lazy river were fun and relaxing for him and a highlight of his trip. The toddler pool area didn't work for my 4 year old. The water features were too cold and blasted too hard. She loved the beautiful beach though and with zero waves this was a perfect beach for all age levels.
The kids club staff and the facility are lovely and it is just right for my 4 year old.
Aulani needs a real program for the teens/tweens with a schedule of activities that this age group could connect through and counselors who know how to work with this group -- much like the club med model/ day camp model -- pool and ping pong tables, pool games, tennis or archery . The only thing there is for tweens is an occasional activity. We may not return until this tween program is created.
The resturants are nice for adults but the food for children is expensive. There need to be more healthy options for children that won't run you $50 for a poolside lunch.
I'm surprised, in the design of this facility, they did not create rooms with an adjoining bedroom so that parents could put children to bed and relax in their own livingroom/bedroom area. This should be standard in a resort focused on families.
So, all and all, we loved much of this resort but want to see some changes before we return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Vacationfunfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed 8 nights at the Aulani and was blown away. I'm a big fan of the Disney company and this resort did not disappoint. The staff were friendly, all three restaurants were great, the spa was exhilirating, the pool & lazy river were fun even for a mid-20s girl like me, the snorkeling experience was fantastic, and the beach was a place I did not want to leave. Terribly miss being at the resort now that I'm back in everyday life, but definitely lots of great memories!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afmhoneybadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My mother in law fell two times in a five minute period near the pool area the first full day we were at the resort. She sprained her knee which left her in a wheel chair for the entire trip and she broke her wrist in two places and may now need to get pins put into her arm. The material used on the ground is a very slippery stone in an area that is intended for swimmers, hence they know it is going to be consistently wet - why would they do that? Clearly our trip was ruined as we had to cancel nearly all our excursions, she could no longer go in the water, she was stuck in her room and had to spend too much time in the hospital. During one of her trips to the hospital, she was told by the medical staff that this has happened before and often (why have they not fixed the problem???). My own son nearly fell in the same area three times but luckily I was holding his hand. Numerous managers at the resort were notified numerous times over a seven day period and. . . ready for this. . . THEY DID NOTHING (except send a plate with 4 chocolate covered strawberries to her room)!! Need I say more? Unfortunately for them - I am a lawyer:)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Parisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We visited Aulani in 2012 when it was fairly new. It was a fun experience for the adults in our party and the kids. i would have given them 5 stars if i wrote this review back then. But when we went again in 2013 expecting the same level of fun and service, it discouraged us from going back. they raised the price just because it was a holiday (memorial day weekend)- ouch... plus tax it was about $75 over. they were doing some renovations around the resort so half of the resort was not available to us (the kiddie pool, cabanas facing the beach, etc.) so basically we paid more for less this time around. plus on the water-play-pen for kids, they do not allow ppl over 48 inches (what's that about?). so i had to just supervise our group of kids from at bay - which i didn't mind since we got the cabanas near them. service was very slow at the cabanas, and it took 90 minutes for them to bring us 2 beers. i was watching an nba game and relaxing, by the time the game was over, the beers came. hello??? the whole reason for the cabana is to sit back and enjoy and be catered to no? maybe when they finish the renovation it will get better. for the time being...you lose some stars. one thing is the the food is pretty good but pricey.

Room Tip: no need to get fancy here, just get the base price room and you will get to see the ocean from wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GersonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have wanted to go since this opened and finally got our chance. Took our two oldest kids as joint high school graduation trip. Also took my in-laws. We ended up with a connecting studio and 1 bedroom. Rooms were beautiful and well done. Ours was 783 and on the loud side due to being by the night movie screen and them doing shows at night on that side. We did see some ocean though and we had island view category.

We only ate on the resort a few times. The chicken strips were surprising good. Shaved ice was yummy but the place on Big Island (Scandanavian Shave ice way better). Mixed blender drinks were about 8.75 each. I think I paid 5.75 or so for a Coors Light beer.

Beds were way to hard for us :(

We had been waitlisted for a 2 bedroom for months and never got it. Never thought to ask at check in because we did online check in. Asked the next day and one was available but no on felt like moving our stuff.

Beach was nice. Never got to Monkeypod for happy hour :( Avoid the Hawaiian BBQ place. Overall our food was yuck.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank oneblessedmom_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

After four weeks of travelling and living out of a suitcase we were hoping Aulani would be the place that we could totally unwind and enjoy the Hawaiian spirit. We were not disappointed. The resort is stunning and descibed in one word Paradise. We were upgraded to an ocean view without even asking. Our room had an amazing view of the pool area and the ocean. Our family of five (5, 8 & 11 year old children) was very comfortable in a one bedroom villa consisting of king bed, queen sofa bed and single trundle bed. We had a full kitchen, washer and dryer which was very handy. Our children loved the pools. Slides were a lot of fun and Goofy even came to play games in the pool with the little ones. Lots of photo opportunities with Disney characters and many free activities scheduled throughout the day. Every day we would receive information on all activities that were available for that particular day. Staff were friendly and always willing to help. Food was good but not much variety. We noticed that some guests who rented cars would come back to hotel with grocery bags full of food. We had no car so we were quite limited to restaurants that were within walking distance. That would be my only complaint. AMA AMA restaurant was amazing. The Olelo Room had a nice continental breakfast and at night they would have entertainers. A nice place to sit and relax. It truly was a great experience to stay here and it left us with beautiful memories of Hawaii. Would love to return to see extension of water playground being built while we were there. Our four night stay at Aulani was a highlight of our whole trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapolei
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,062 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa

Address: 92-1185 Ali'inui Drive, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707-4434
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range: $427 - $830 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 819
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelPower, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa In Hawai`i Hotel Kapolei
Aulani, a Disney Resort And Spa In Hawai`i
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa Hawaii/Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing