We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Aulani -March break 2012” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Aulani -March break 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The resort is beautiful! Having two teenage daughters I felt safe allowing them to come and go as they please. The staff were quite friendly. My daughter described the beds being so comfortable it was like sleeping on a cloud. Very clean premises. When we wanted to venture off site we enjoyed the restaurants just across the street and especially enjoyed the ABC store. Lots of things to do - the lazy river is wonderful!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,635
    1,133
    393
    161
    116
See reviews for
3,103
623
30
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I came to Aulani Disney Resorts to spend Christmas and New Year, a total of ten nights with my family. At the time of writing this review we are half way, spent here five nights. I am a member of the Austrian vacation club company Cordial, which has a partnership with DVC. We are staying in a two bedroom villa. Having said that, you understand we come from Europe, and are used to a bit different culture regarding hotels and resorts, especially restaurant standards. I red reviews both at tripadvisor and Yelp, and seen a lot of photos before arrival, and based of everything I had build some kind of expectations about the resort. I am very well traveled all over the world, and I have seen a lot of places, from luxury to basic, depending on what kind of trip I have been on. It’s a nice Resort, but there was no wow experience upon arrival. There have been a lot of negative writings about the restaurants. Ama Ama is the resorts highest standard restaurant. In the dining guide in the rooms it’s advertised as “casual elegant dining”. The dining experience is really noting to brag about. The ambiance is really poor! The restaurant is like an Applebee’s or TGI. There is a dress code for this restaurant, but you have still people in swimwear and T-shirt, and men with a cap on the head, sitting at the table next to you, sitting. Not very civilized or elegant! We have no complaint about the quality of the food, and we did not find it that expensive either, as many people have complained about. But, if the resort is supposed to be a five star establishment, they should have a decent restaurant within the premises. That would be a restaurant white tablecloth standard, and where the dress code is enforced. Now there is a restaurant with three star standards.

The rooms are spacey and OK, the beds comfortable. Restaurants, pools and garden are too limited or small, considering the number of hotel rooms (359) and vacation club villas (481). If the place is fully occupied at peak season, and if we count with a moderate number of 3 persons per room, we have 2520 persons at the premises. How many sun chairs do you think there are? How many persons have space in all of the pools and water area? I really wonder how qualified the people who have planned the resort, have been for the job? And one thinks the Disney Corporation have some know how about resorts?
There are totally three Jacuzzi's, which all are full of kids equipped with goggles swimming and diving. I understand they like the warm water, but it’s not a kid’s swimming pool? I know it’s a resort with emphasis for families with children, but still. No supervision from the resort personnel at all! The best part is the beach.

The service is very friendly, polite and good averall. Because of the poor standard of restaurants, no enforced dress code, no supervision of Jacuzzi's, I give only a average rating

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ombudsmannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in a 2br apartment which we upgraded to at the last minute. The apartment location and facilities were excellent for a family of 8 and the resort staff went out of their way to help in any way they could. The kiddies really enjoyed the pools, beach and seeing Mickey, Minnie and the rest of the characters.

As an adult I found the pools underwhelming especially the lazy river, which didn't really seem to have much variation except for the cave with waterfalls. No rapids and only two slides, one of which was probably a little to scary for the young kids we travelled with. Having done the pools at the Grand Wailea (Maui) I think these pools were better. Lifesavers around each corner meant that kids were pretty safe. However we also saw a child slip and fall on the kids playground (staff were quick to respond) with blood gushing out of his head so this was a concern.

The food was average and prices were what you expect from a resort of this calibre. Staff were also excellent and I cannot speak highly enough of them like everyone else has said.

But I also agree that the resort was overpriced for what it offered, and was not really close to any of the main 'attractions' so visiting these can be awkward without a car.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Everything was simply breathtaking - from the reception with leis, room decor, food, activities, location, beach, pools and everything in between.

Disney Character breakfast with Mickey, Minnie and friends was a dream come true.
Aunty's beach house day care for kids is magical.
There are plenty of Free activities and so you don't need to worry about having to pay for "special" activities.
Staff was exceptionally friendly.

The only downsides are that parking was 35$/night - that is as expensive as New York Times Square and room service is 18% gratuity + 3$ (although food prices are expensive but reasonable).

Our family can hardly wait to go back again!

Room Tip: Ocean View is so worth that few extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTrotterTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We arrived on Dec. 20 and stayed 7 days with our 3 kids ages 8 mos, 7 yrs and 9 yrs, when we arrived our room was already waiting for us. We had the 2 bedroom villa with full kitchen and 2.5 baths, 2 balconys one off the livingroom and one off the master. 3 flat screen tv's. The pool, lazy river and the beach were excellent, there are so many life guards around the pools and they are attentive and helpful. Auntys beach house was very fun for the kids, we did get a rental van but we did not pick it up from the airport,we picked it up from the Enterprise on Ala Moana Blva because of price, if we rented it from the airport it would have cost $1200 for the week at the Ala Moana location it was only $354 for the whole 7 days. We saved money by grocery shopping at the Safeway. We did the character breakfast one morning and the kids loved it, the icees were delicious. I don't have any complaints, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Pool view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank April B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north america
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

My family of 5 (3 kids ages 5, 9 & 13) arrived at Aulani around 11 pm on Friday night 12/23/12. We had booked a two-bedroom, ocean view villa and that is what we got. An awesome 10th floor room looking down the lagoons all the way to the marina. We were right above Rainbow Reef, the snorkel pond made by Disney. We also overlooked the pool area and kids play tower area. We could see the whole resort from our two balconies. The kids club, called Auntys Beach House, provided some fun activities for our kids. We ate at Off The Hook two nights to enjoy the appetizers which were mostly seafood options. Very tasty shrimp and crab legs. Our kids got fried chicken strips from pool menu there and it was enjoyed. We rented a cabana one day which was nice as the service was amazing. We set up on the beach at the lagoon every day too as the chairs and umbrellas were plentiful. Our kids kayaked and snorkeled. Ama ama was tasty for lunch and dinner too. We had Christmas brunch in the ballroom but it was not what we expected so we were refunded for our kids meals. Overall it a great place for families. We felt safe and had everything we needed nearby. We were there 5 nights and also walked across the street to the Country Market for breakfast supplies and beer for our kitchen. We also took the resort shuttle to Roys for dinner. It was VERY tasty!! Go and enjoy seeing Disney characters n Hawaii. Very relaxed resort!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sunandfunseakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
1,145 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 475 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Dropped into the resort for a drink and mid day snack. We were not disappointed with the drink selection. The snack menu was limited but OK. Our waiter was terrific and as friendly as could be. We shared the cheese pizza, chicken fingers and ham and cheese panini at our table and all were tasty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapolei
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa

Property: Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
Address: 92-1185 Ali'inui Drive, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707-4434
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 819
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa In Hawai`i Hotel Kapolei
Aulani, a Disney Resort And Spa In Hawai`i
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa Hawaii/Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing