We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aloha Aulani!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2012

From other Disney experiences I knew Aulani would be beautiful. The experience exceeded my expectations. The staff was genually friendly as opposed to Disney mandatory friendly. They seem to really enjoy their jobs. From the moment you were welcomed with the lei and entered the lobby there was a sence of calm and tranquility. While there were many activities for families as seniors we felt very welcomed. When we booked the poolside we wondered if it was going to be to noisy but we had no problems from our fifth floor room. From our balcony we looked down on Waikolohe Stream (tubing) tree tops and beautiful flowers. You could see the ocean in the distance. DVC members check out the really decent perks. We really enjoyed our Aulani experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 49Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,039 - 4,045 of 5,357 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

After reading alot of negative reviews mixed with good ones, I was hesitant before we arrived. We opted for an Ocean View room and was glad we upgraded. Room 1430 was spacious, quiet and had an incredible view. Housekeeping kept everything like new twice a day. Kids (5 and 7) couldn't get enough of the lazy river, slides and pools. Place wasn't too "Disney-ized". Auntie's was my kids favorite place to spend a few hours and gave the adults a bit of quiet time. Food was pretty good, although very expensive.
Here are some observations.
Since it is Hawaii, everything is going to cost alot more, especially in the resort restaurants. Breakfast for two adults and two kids was about $80 so cold cereal and milk in the room might be cheaper.
Lunch at the pool was fine, chicken strips and shave ice were popular.
Dinner choices ...either a buffet for $45 for adults or the fancier Ama Ama where an entree is $30-46. Lots of options outside of resort....Roy's is within walking distance and lots of chains in Kapolei.
Wanted to do one touristy thing and chose the luau down the street. Kids had a ball getting canoe rides , making leis, etc. and the dinner and show were surprisingly good, especially the fire dancers. Lastly...
Go early and stake out your pool chairs with towels and hats before breakfast or else you'll find yourself without anyplace to sit. Not sure how the resort will handle it once the other tower of rooms opens.
All in all, a great trip for the whole family, adults included!

Room Tip: Ocean Views are amazing. Make sure they are not looking over the parking lot to the ocean , but a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mbeachcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa with my family of five (3 kids under the age of 6). Overall everything was superb.

Pros
- very large fully-equipped villa, with washing machine, tumble dryer, microwave, dishwasher, stove, oven, fridge. Perfect for a young family. Room enough to dine in for children needing to sleep early. The in-room dining even featured family meal deals.
- unique pools: one like a long disney ride-like stream, provided great interest for adults and kids. A number of welcome hot tubs with stunning views.
- great beachfront hospitality
- very helpful staff on the whole
- rooms and grounds kept clean
- free wi-fi
- excellent gym

Cons
- not enough poolside chairs with shade from the intense Hawaiian sun. You need to get there early to get the position you want
- costly food
- not many restaurant tables: we struggled to book a table for breakfasts! It turned about better value for money any way to buy breakfast cereals, etc and have breakfast in our room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank viability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My granddaughter (age 5) and I just returned from Aulani. When the cab driver drove up to the beautiful hotel I knew I had made the right decision. We were immediately greeted with cool fruit-water and escorted to the checkin desk area. From there we were promptly escorted to our ocean-view, beautiful-appointed room complete with the most softest bathrobes and sea salt toiletries. We dined at the Makahiki character breakfast which my granddaughter throughly enjoyed and we also ate at the buffet dinner on our last night. The food tasted -- mouth-watering. They have the best vegi wraps at One Paddle-Two Paddle. There is a ABC market within a short walking distance from Aulani that stocks just about everything, at reasonable prices. My granddaughter absolutely loved staying at Aunties Beach House; in fact, she probably would have stayed there the entire trip. The staff remembered her name and frequently asked her how she was doing -- they genuinely cared about her, ensured her safety, and went beyond measures to fulfill her requests. Aulani offers lots of fun activities; such as, the Menehune hunt, arts and crafts, and out-door evening movies. Aulani also has lots of water activities -- we especially loved floating down the Lazy-River. Evening dips in the infinity spa sent me to dreamland nightly. Yes, Aulani is expensive and worth every penny. First-class accommodations, great restaurants, wonderful entertainment, a clean private beach, (life-jackets and unlimited soft, thick towels), safety, and tons of fun- fun- fun. Claim a lounge chair early in the morning but remember you have to return at least even hour or the life-guards may lock-up your personal items and give the chair to someone else. We absolutely loved our stay at Aulani and are looking forward to returning real soon.

Room Tip: The ocean views -- a must. We had room 1544!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marincitticat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We just got back from Hawaii, we stayed he for 6 nights at the end of July 2012.the resort is nice but the pool is very crowded ,and one whole wing of the resort isn't open yet.we rented a car because this hotel is far away from everything it's in a gated community with homes and other hotels and there is only one resturant in walking distance from the resort that's not in a hotel.the food at the resturants at the resort is high priced because it Disney, and to me Disney food is over rated.we left the resort everyday to see Oahu ,and it is awesome the whole island except the area where the resort is.the area outside the gated community looks like a desert with nothing around.we stayed here because we are dvc members,and with Disney you know what you get good service and clean resorts.when we come back to oahu we will stay a lot closer to the nicer sides of the island.the resort is nice but very man made looking and you need a car to go anywhere ,all the things to see in Oahu are far from Disney.we used the pool first thing in the morning when people were still sleeping then at the end of the day when we would return from site seeing and the pool was not too crowded at the times we used it.the day we stayed at the resort it was packed.so if you go make sure you see the amazing sites on Oahu don't spend everyday at the resort you can do that anywhere this is Hawaii enjoy it because it is an amazing island.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NEWJERSEYSCOTTIEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

If one is looking for Disney esk type ( with a lot of mickey, Disney tunes ) resort, this is not it. If one is looking for a Waikiki resort this is not it! If you are looking for a resort tailored to families, with beautiful grounds, architecture , stunning views this place is awesome!
We stayed in a grand villa , with friends ( 8 of us) ,
The rooms were excellent , although a bit smaller than the rest of the DVC properties. The architecture was very well thought out and I recommend taking the free tour as it explains the artwork and the Hawaiian culture, art and materials … as expected Disney did it right.
The pools and water features were again what one would expect from a high end Disney resort , lush landscaping , awesome views and scenes for taking Pics.
We did not have any problem getting seats / lounges although id one wants to sit right near the pool I would expect those go fast.
If one want some great views of the ocean, lagoon, and swaying palms I would go to the right or left of the pool and you will find great seats, open space and away from the crowds.. simply stunning
The only negative , the lazy river tubes where had to come by as people saved them back at their seats ( Disney needs to do better here)
The food.. it’s a bit pricey and I would stay away from the buffet , we found it to be average at best and for the money well its not worth it.
Ama Ama the resorts other restaurant was again pricey but very well worth it! Very good views and excellent menu.
There are a couple of fast food /pool service eateries ( off the hook, one paddle two paddle) great pool food and fair pricing for Hawaii
We spent seven day here and just booked it for early next year

Room Tip: when choosing an Ocean View room get a room on 11 fl or higher or you will be blocked by the JW marr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank docsjigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We went there in August of 2012. The place has stunning architecture. At first glance the pool and lagoon area look inviting. We had wonderful Bell service as well as a welcoming greeting and mini-tour of the facilities. Since our room was not ready upon arrival, we decided to head to the pool area. No chairs were available. Many were claimed with towels and no one around them. We had some lunch which was the poolside restaurant and it tasted okay but was highly priced. We then thought it would be nice to try the lazy river. I think we finally claimed an innertube to float on in 20-30 minutes. We ended up counting them at night when the pool was closed. 43 single tubes and 11 double tubes!!!! And I wonder how many guests are staying there on a typical day??? I realize perhaps they are trying to make it not as crowded on the river but they need some kind of a system. You may be waiting for 15 minutes to get one, and some random person will get out and hand their tube to someone who just happens to walk up. It is extremely frustrating! Also, because there are not enough tubes, all the little children are swimming beside you splashing, swimming under you and kicking you and there is nothing "lazy" about it! I will say that my most relaxing time was at night between 8:30 and 10:00 at one of the jacuzzis when most of the children are down for the night. Don't get me wrong, I have a 10 year old, but he is watched and accounted for, not roaming around and being disruptive or rude! Then, my other complaint is the food. We were not happy with the buffet....43.00 per adult and not near worth it!! Ate at Ama Ama for breakfast. And it was better, a little more woth the money you pay. Unfortunately, even calling 2 weeks in advance, I was unable to book a dinner reservation there! We thought our room was very nice. It was a 2 bedroom villa. Had adorable little wooden Mickey lamps. Beds were very comfortable. But in the evening, we would look at the windows adjacent to our building and so many were dark at 8pm. I had a feeling that the hotel was not full, maybe not even half full and yet dinner reservations were hard to obtain and the pool chairs were full very early. The beach area was nice, plenty of chairs there. Umbrellas and boogie boards are available free of charge at the rental booth. Thank goodness, I found something that was included in the very high nightly rate to stay here. There needs to be some changes made here. I don't believe I will be returning anytime soon!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
12  Thank beachmama1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapolei
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa

Address: 92-1185 Ali'inui Drive, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707-4434
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range: $474 - $851 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 819
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa In Hawai`i Hotel Kapolei
Aulani, a Disney Resort And Spa In Hawai`i
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa Hawaii/Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing