We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Chuck's Steak and Seafood - CLOSED

Chuck's Steak and Seafood
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Chuck's use to be the "go-to" place for a good meal at a fair price. Not anymore. Been going to one of the Chuck's for almost 30 years and this year went to both the Chuck's at the Marriott Ko Olina and the Chuck's at the Outrigger Waikiki. Chuck's has gotten to be EXPENSIVE and the quality of the food is so so. this is painful because I love Chuck's and the locations are the most romantic but they are losing business big time. this is really evident at the Chuck's in Waikiki at the Outrigger where Chuck's is across the room on the second floor from the Hula Grill. The Hula Grill was jammed, an hour wait. Walked into Chuck's to an almost empty restaurant and got seated at a great table immediately. The difference between the two? Better pricing!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank james t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    142
    82
    47
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely way to end a vacation”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We ate here on a final night, at the Marriott Ko Olina, in June, and what a lovely evening. We lucked out and got to sit overlooking water with fish and the lawn and the ocean beyond. I suggest that you go early, as did we, at around 6 or 6:30pm to get such a good table. We had a wonderful waiter - I think his name was Jeff. I loved having the salad & soup bar included. I had steak and it was a decent size, cooked perfectly and tasted good. I got the baked potato that came with the entree. You don't get that often anymore. And, it was huge. Some people said this place is expensive, but if you price it like at another restaurant, you'd pay about $8.95 for a salad, at least $8.00 for a potato and then add the steak, you'd probably come out to more than this meal cost. All in all, it was a beautiful setting, a very good meal and excellent service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank extranan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food nice location”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Very nice atmosphere,great food.. Dinner includes soup n salad bar. Tuesday nites there is a luau on the lawn that the resturant overlooks . Great show w dinner!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank guido f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
210 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Chuck's”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Still riding on the good reputation they earned 40 years ago in Waikiki, this tenant gets by with offering the bare minimum...a waitstaff ignorant of the ingredients they are serving, "Chuck's Highest Quality Meat" that is supermarket quality, and--the night we went at opening--a lukewarm soggy baked potato that must have been transferred here from another restaurant the previous evening.

No awnings or palapas, so the sun will cook you until it sets (7:15p in July)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RioMountainMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mai tai's and great steaks: love it!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We go here often. We love their mai tai's which are a good value at happy hour. We also love watching the sun set from their ocean side location. In addition, they have fabulous sirloins and an interesting and well stocked salad bar that includes soup. The bartenders and wait staff are excellent. Have a happy hour cocktail special and follow it with dinner as the sun sets. You can't go wrong.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuck's Steak and Seafood also viewed

 
Kapolei, Oahu
Kapolei, Oahu
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing