We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Worst Vacation Ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Paradise Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaneohe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aloha Paradise Inn
Save
You added Aloha Paradise Inn to your Saves list
44-633 Kaneohe Bay Drive, Kaneohe, Oahu, HI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Kaneohe B&B and Inns
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worst Vacation Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Worst Vacation Ever --owner's cats tried entering our unit several times - no fire extinguisher in kitchen--not enough parking for amount of units with cars- parking area NOT LIT -outside steps NOT LIT -I slipped on 1st step in dark--leaving parking area --taking life in own hands -on 2 blind curves--had to get a ride to hospital at 5am because of being BLOCKED IN to be with adopted daughter to have her baby -was reason went to Hawaii. Kitchen smelled - unit NOT CLEAN- couldn't sit on balcony on Friday night after 10pm and talk (2 people not a party). OH and last but least -owner rented out 1 bedroom in our unit. -- they had to enter and leave with sliders --I hope they couldn't enter my unit but DON'T KNOW--nothing missing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank jhammock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed in one of the units, enjoyed the beautiful bay and the nice garden. the rooms were quite spacious and fully furnished. we had all we needed. the landlady was very friendly and helpful. she took us to the local market and guided us to local restaurants and places of interest. She turned to a friend in the few days we stayed at her home.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hawaiilocum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Aloha Paradise Inn is backed up to a beautiful bay and has an awesome view. The Inn is a huge house and the apartments within are VERY spacious for a family. Some units have a/c; ours did not but the 3 ceiling fans kept us cool enough. Having access to the kayaks, boogie boards, beach chairs and towels was great. There is a beautiful beach within a 10 minutes drive: Kailua Beach Park . The staff was very helpful and accomodating. The only concern I had was that the owner came into our unit while we were gone to pull down blinds and turn on fans. While it was a nice gesture, it would have been nice to know if she was coming in. Again, she and her maintenance man, David, were very helpful and kind. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tergerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, UT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

The grounds keeper David was awesome. He deserves big tips. However, besides that there was little privacy and I felt I needed to tiptoe around. If you leave the AC on in the rooms she will come in and turn it off and let you know that it will cost you your deposit. It's not worth it to be worried during your own vacation...you come to Hawaii to relax! Parking was also inconvenient and difficult to get in and out. They did have some kayaks though that were fun to take out. I would not recommend this place, there are plenty of other locations out there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank eaolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kaneohe hotels

Kaneohe, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We stayed for 8 nights and had a wonderful time! We had plenty of room, all the comforts of home with a beautiful view of Kaneohe Bay and the mountains! The place was very clean and well equipped for cooking or grilling. Close to beautiful beach and central to so much on the island. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful! We would highly recommend for your next stay on Oahu! I know we'll be back! Parking is tight, but just fine if you have just one car!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmweigand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

For my neice's graduation I decided to give her a trip to Hawaii, someplace that would be spectacular and she would never forget. Also brought along my sister, sister-in-law, and mother to make it a girls trip. I had been to the Aloha Paradise Inn 7 years ago and imagine my surprise when I noticed the view from the balcony and was able to obtain the same suite I had stayed in before. The White Ginger is glorious with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms (really great for five women) and Harriet goes above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. The greatest part about this place is the boogey boards, umbrellas, coolers, full kitchen and gorgeous views are all included in the price. This was my second trip to this inn and I will definitely be back. It is quiet, spacious, and the snorkeling off the back yard is great! Aslo just ask David to climb up a tree and get you a fresh coconut or fruit, it was yummy! We all agreed that a once in a lifetime girls trip is definitely meant to be repeated with the entire family!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyMesa_Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

This was my second trip to this side of the island. The first time around we went all out and spent thousands for a house right on the beach at Kailua. This time we didn't plan to spend much time at our lodgings so went with something MUCH less expensive.

We were in the White Ginger Suite and a prior reviewer mentions the lack of privacy caused by the fish tank and how the rooms are laid out. I heard while we are there that Harriet plans to put up some kind of curtain over the fish tank so noise may still be an issue but at least you won't have to worry about accidentally flashing anyone. they were also putting in a stove / oven in the Red Ginger while we were there.

I thought the place could have been cleaner but there were certainly tons of towels, big closets and plenty of hangers. Harriet stopped by a few times to make sure we were doing ok but never came in uninvited. The washer and dryer are old and I was a little offended by the sign asking for three dollars per load but I did put money in the cup. The plastic table on the patio had seen better days and I was a little afraid my wine glass was going to fall over on the uneven surface but what a great place to sit and enjoy the view over the bay.

Yes parking was an issue. There is parking on a side street 5 mins away if you need more than one car. We didn't have that much trouble making a right or a left onto the road out front but maybe that is because July is the off season.

There are tons of things to do within and hour drive so this is a good base. Don't come expecting luxury and your expectations will be met.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pgc320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaneohe
18.4 mi away
Courtyard Oahu North Shore
23.2 mi away
Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club
9.9 mi away
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
10.1 mi away
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
5.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Paradise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Paradise Inn

Property: Aloha Paradise Inn
Address: 44-633 Kaneohe Bay Drive, Kaneohe, Oahu, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kaneohe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kaneohe
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront with million dollar views. Kayak from the backyard. Kailua Beach is just a 7 minute drive from the house. The Aloha Paradise Inn is a 10 bedroom, 8 full bathroom home located on the waters of Kaneohe Bay. It is divided into 4 completely separate apartments each with its own living room, kitchen, and locking front door. The house may be rented by the individual apartment, by any combination of apartments or it may be rented in its entirety. The entire house can sleep 26 people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aloha Paradise Inn Kaneohe, Oahu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing