We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
Nearby Hotels
$209
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$154
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
$219
$199
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$227
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$173
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
The Equus, an Ascend Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$167
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (700)
Filter reviews
700 results
Traveler rating
405
152
62
37
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
152
62
37
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssand barwindward sideboat excursionkoolau mountainsfriday night dinnerfire knifefree kayaksfloating dockbay viewprivate reefevery morningstand up paddle boardskualoa ranchnorth shorelarge lanaishort drivefresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
570 - 575 of 700 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our 3 days at Paradise Bay Resort. After a few days at a Waikiki Beach hotel for a convention, this quiet spot off the beaten track was just what we wanted. We took kayaks out each morning without the hassle of renting and we loved that. We also used the snorkel gear (although the water in front of the resort was not so clear when we were there, and I wish we had booked a guided tour out to Sand Island -- need to plan ahead for that.) We stayed in a mountain-view room and it was beautifully decorated, with a private lanai. My only complaint is that sound-proofing between rooms could be improved. But with lots of nice bonuses -- towels, gear, good (free!) food and music on Wednesday night, very friendly and helpful staff, and a cute dog, too -- well, I'll take Paradise Bay resort over Waikiki any day!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayleigh S, Marketing/ Guest Relations at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Aloha Chris,
Mahalo for the kind words. We are glad you were able to get away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki and relax with us in Paradise. We are glad you took advantage of the use of our kayaks and explored the reefs in the bay. We have made a note about your concern for sound-proofing the rooms better and we will consider adding it to our extensive renovations. Next time you stay with us we'll be sure to book a guided tour to the sand bar for you! We look forward to seeing you in Paradise again soon!
Mahalo,
Kayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Paradise Bay in Kaneohe Bay is a hidden treasure. It was quiet, relaxing and tranquil. Our room was like a studio version of "home" with modern decor, flat screen tv and wardrobes to be envied. The kitchenette would allow anyone a comfortable stay for days. (It had it all: blender, pans, dishes...)The boat crew and resort staff were so friendly & helpful. The trip to the sandbar and the reef snorkeling were a dream come true; I could have spent all day out there. The bay is perfect for kayaking or stand up paddling and both are available just for the asking. No matter what water activity you choose, all you need is your swimsuit and they provide the rest! Outdoor breakfast before paddling was a treat as we found an assortment of fruit, baked goods, warm beverages, their signature Passion Juice & more. My boyfriend and I had an amazing stay---it was just too short. No doubt, we'd come again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayleigh S, Marketing/ Guest Relations at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Aloha Bonnie,
Mahalo for your kind words. We are glad we could provide you with a "home away from home" in Paradise! Thank you for the compliment to our staff and boat crew, we have a great team here. The sandbar excursion is a guest favorite here at Paradise Bay; we are glad you enjoyed it so much. We can't wait to see you again in Paradise.
Mahalo,
Kayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This was our first stop during our honeymoon trip to Hawaii. We had considered Honolulu side, but decided that we would prefer a bit of peace and quiet in paradise for the start of our trip.

We arrived via transfer, having neglected to book a rental car (much to our loss); as it is a way from the airport expect a shuttle to set you back about $50 or more for a taxi. This lack of planning was of course our fault, but a costly one! The hotel staff however were extremely helpful in arranging the nearest Rental company to come and collect us to sort out a rental as well as booking a taxi for our return. Advice - rent a car from the airport to save on transfers!

Upon arrival, we were shown to our room (after the suggested check in time) to find it had not been properly cleaned. We informed the receptionist, and a very apologetic cleaning lady arrived minutes later to tidy it all and even gave us a box of chocolates by way of apology for the inconvenience, which I thought was a nice touch. We were a little let down by this first impression however and slightly bemused by the surrounding area. The resort is set down a slightly shabby residential street - no other facilities are within comfortable walking distance, no food/restaurant options - nothing. With a car this is less of an issue (see notes above), but it does mean you need to bring in all your supplies with you.

Aside from a continental (bagels, yoghurt and fruit) breakfast, Paradise Bay provides no food (unless you count microwaveable cheeseburgers), which I think is a major failing in the type of Resort it is aspiring to be. I heard from several different people however that it has undergone extensive renovation over the last couple of years, so maybe this is something which it will develop in time - it would benefit the guests and the feel of the resort considerably. It is also slightly misleading with the Mai Tai evening notes - although it looks like a bar/restaurant, it does not serve drinks normally, so off to the shops again you go....

Kaneohe is not far by car (10 mins drive) and is pretty well served for shopping choices along with several dining options (think more local and lower end chain restaurants rather than fancy sit down affairs), so this served as our base for food and drink to bring back to the Resort. We would have had no problem with this if we had been aware beforehand that neither food nor drink are readily available on site, with no immediate alternative facility in place. Finding the resort on a "Hotels" website did unfortunately give us a slightly misinformed view of the site. This is a Bed & Breakfast not a hotel, and I do not think this is overly clear in the online information.

The resort, being set in a very local area, seems also to be used regularly by the local community. Virtually every night, locals came over from the road and were playing around in the pool (noisily) for some time. Several locals also came over to enjoy breakfast on a regular basis. Perhaps this is joint owned by the community, in which case of course they would wish to avail of the facilities, or perhaps it is open to locals in order to prevent any feeling of segregation or ill feeling in the neighbourhood. Regardless, it is a little galling to those of us who have travelled a LONG way to relax and paid for the privilege too to share the area with those who can enjoy it for free. Perhaps I am missing the point, and should be more community minded, but the impression and the price tag of the "resort" suggest something more than they actually provide.

My review is probably coming over as rather negative, however my wife and I really did enjoy our time here. The view from our room was fantastic looking our on to the river and the hills in the distance (however it was only partial bay view - more sea view commanded a considerable premium on our already non budget price). Not all the rooms benefit from such a pleasing wakeup vista - several of the rooms look out on to the residential street out the front, and I would really not have been very pleased if we had one of these! Three or four lodgings actually front out onto the bay, with many of the others like ours facing the mountains (still delightful).

So in short:
The pros:
- View (if you have partial/full bay view)
- Nice pool & hot tub
- Lovely views of bay & mountains
- Jungle noise in the mornings - amazing!
- Fantastic views from breakfast bar
- Helpful staff
- Free kayaking into the bay - great fun!
- Good location for Valley of the Temples and exploring the North Shore
- Much quieter than the Southern side of the island

The cons:
- View (if you got a street facing room, which we didn't!)
- Too pricey for the limited facilities available
- No food/drink options available beside breakfast
- Location is "weird" in terms of the surrounding messy residential area
- Rooms not as private as could be (thin walls, wicker/bamboo screens)
- Noisy locals detract from the solace

Would I stay here again? If I could get a good deal on the price then yes. If they start serving proper food and drink then definitely. If you want local amenities, then look elsewhere, but for a quiet retreat it fits the bill nicely.

Room Tip: Ensure your room is either full or at least partial bay view as those facing the street would not warrant the price tag for the location.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulianHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayleigh S, Marketing/Guest Relations at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Aloha Julian,

Mahalo for your kind words and advice. We are glad our staff were able to
help you get a rental vehicle in a quick and efficient manor. We do always
suggest that our guests get rental vehicles because of our remote location.
We apologize that we did not get the chance to suggest that to you prior to
your arrival.

We are currently revamping our housekeeping department to ensure each and every room is properly serviced every time. Your check in day was unusually heavy and we apologize for any inconvenience.

Paradise Bay Resort is in a tropical, rural location to give our
guests a taste of true Hawaii. The area we are located in is
typical of old Hawaii. Our beautiful island with its temperate climate allows us to live both
inside and outside of our homes to take full advantage of the island
weather.

We are glad you traveled around the area and explored Kaneohe. If you were
looking for higher end restaurants we would have gladly suggested many very
nice restaurants just ten minutes away from Kaneohe in Kailua. We wish you
had asked our staff about suggestions for different varieties of
restaurants. Our staff is always happy to suggest restaurants and
grocery stores in the area and would have offered you a
list of restaurants from high end to quick and affordable to try.

The Resort has gone through extensive renovations since the new owners
purchased it a year and a half ago. We appreciate your suggestions for adding
a restaurant on property. With the many dining options on Oahu we found
recommending our personal favorite restaurants gives our guests an
extensive taste of Oahu. For our guest's convenience we offer a 24 hour
quick shop on property.

As was previously mentioned, Paradise Bay Resort is set in a tropical
neighborhood. However, we are an exclusive resort and only registered
guests are able to use our facilities. To ensure that is always the case we
have security patrolling the property. However, we do frequently have local
guests who stay here to get away from "town."

We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us in at Paradise Bay Resort
and we appreciate all of your suggestions. We hope to see you again in
Paradise soon!

Mahalo,
Kayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

My girlfriend and I were looking for a special place for the last night on Oahu. We chose The Paradise Bay Resort. Our room was a one room studio complete with a refrigerator/ microwave/ stove/ sink/ toaster/ all kitchen accessories and utensils necessary to be very self sufficient. More than ample storage in the room. Did we mention the flat screen w/ cable and remote in our room? A private balcony and adjoining large deck with a spectacular view. We were greeted with a smile and every courtesy was extended by the entire staff to make us feel at home. The boat ride to the "sand bar" was phenomenal and snorkeling on the shallow reef was unbelievable! They provided everything we needed for out outing in Kaneohe Bay. We also used the stand up paddle boards before we left the next morning...Kayaks were also there and available. A beautiful pool and Jacuzzi was available for relaxation also. Our stay although just one night was just the "quiet" we needed at the end of our trip. P.S...Come hungry to the complimentary breakfast! They have everything you want and more! The orange/passion fruit juice is a must. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayleigh S, Marketing at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Aloha Tommy,
Mahalo for the kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Paradise. We are very happy to hear that you took advantage of the use of our kayaks and our stand up paddle boards! Too bad it wasn't breezy enough for you to go windsurfing on the bay while you were here! We hope you visit us again soon. Let's make it a week next time!
Mahalo,
Kayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Don't believe what you see on their website I wouldn't even call this a hotel. It's more like a motel and a bad one at that!!
Although the view is nice the rooms are terrible!! The room we stayed in lacked any real character and instead felt very cold and uninviting. Large space for nothing with hardly any furniture no curtain on the kitchen window and extremely thin and see through curtains on the other windows making it not private and other units around us could see right into our room!! There were adjoining doors with about an inch of space underneath so that EVERYTHING said from the other room could be heard as if they were right in our room!! It was also very annoying that every sound from the room above was heard all the noise is due to the fact that there are bare floors in every room It was so noisy that I couldnt even sleep!!! Poor lighting at night with steep steps to our room made matters worse and with the rain I almost fell very dangerous I would never go back!!! It's not with it. There are a lot of better cheaper and safer places to go than here!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bambi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayleigh S, Guest Relations at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

Aloha Bambi,

We at Paradise Bay Resort strive to give our guests a relaxing and unique Hawaiian experience and we are sincerely sorry that you believe that is not what you were given. Your opinion is important to us and we will be sure to note all of your concerns. Since your stay we have renovated and upgraded many of our rooms and much of our grounds. We hope that you will give us another chance to prove to you that we are the hidden gem of Oahu Resorts.

Mahalo,
Kayleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews