We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A complete disappointment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaneohe
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A complete disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

WOW, this was a complete RIP-OFF. First, there was no resort sign from the main street to indicate the turn off from the main road. Second, you have to drive thru the middle of a rundown neighborhood (complete with rusted cars on blocks, and hanging laundry) to get to the place. Third, the appearance is not worthy of the title "resort". We were charged $209 a night, for a one room suite, and we were expecting a real resort, not the shady looking, half star motel with matching accommodations. If the steep stairs leading to the rooms, the squeaky fllors, or the noisy air conditioners were not a problem, then maybe the cockroaches in the kitchen and the baby termites might entice you to a better choice. We were scheduled to stay for seven nights but decided to leave after one night. We wondered why no one in management asked why we left so early and unexpectedly. Oh yeah, the view of the bay is fantastic, that is if you can stand still long enough while your skin is crawling. DO NOT EVER STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Do not stay here ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank harry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Aloha Harry,
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Paradise Bay Resort is located on the beautiful and tropical Windward side of Oahu bordering Kailua and we are located on Kaneohe Bay a marine preserve. Our resort is set in a mixed community of high end residential homes(millionaires circle) and local hardworking Hawaiian families. The neighborhood is safe and friendly, providing our guests with a true taste of Hawaii. We are not the Waikiki experience and that is one of the reasons our guests come. The property was recently rebuilt and all of our rooms are newly renovated with beautiful finishes, furnishings, bedding and amenaties. Pests are prevelant on Hawaii due to the climate and lush environment. You will see roaches and ants in the nicest resorts in Waikiki, these insects are prevelant in any tropical environment. At Paradise Bay Resort, we take the same preventative measures to contol pests as the finest five star resorts. We strive to give our guests the ultimate true Hawaii experience and I hope you will return to our Resort one day and get to have these experiences for yourself.
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    121
    50
    30
    37
See reviews for
143
266
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

I would describle this as a delightful hideaway rather than a resort. The location of our waterside room was stunning, with a nice back-to-nature feel. Accomodaton was comfortable, spacous & well equiped, the staff friendly & helpful. There was a little noise from the adjoining unit on their party night (yes, the walls are a liittle thin) but not enough to prevent us sleeping -there was more noise from birdlife (dawn & dusk chorus each day). Nice beakfast on balcony with great views overlooking the bay & mountains. Didn't find much locally in the way of dining options in the evening, (but then we didn't really look that hard!). We really enjoyed our stay, (but no, it wasn't cheap)

Room Tip: Lakeside room is a MUST.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheshireSue_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Mahalo for your review and for making us your desitnation for your Hawaiian vacation. Glad you enjoyed your room and our beautiful views. WIsh you would have asked our front desk for resturants in the area, our staff would have been more than happy to reccomend some options for you. A Hui Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

This is possibly the best hotel I have ever stayed in. We booked a studio and were upgraded to a one bedroom apartment with the most gorgeous views of the water and mountains (see photos).

The staff were super super friendly and organized us being picked up and dropped off from the airport, the manager was actually the one who did this, and on her day off!

The apartment was huge, clean and beautifully decorated, we even had fresh flowers in the room. There was a full kitchen with cooking facilities and utensils, and a large bathroom with a big bathtub. Everything was very new and recently renovated.

There were free kayak's, paddle boards and snorkeling equipment. And the resort organized several free as well as paid activities.

The breakfast was simple with bagels, bread and fruit, but set on a beautiful open terrace with a gorgeous view.

I loved staying here, it was such an undiscovered paradise, and kayaking out to the sand bar was one of the most memorable things I have ever done on vacation anywhere. The views of the bay were gorgeous but best of all we encountered several turtles!

Room Tip: Room 232 - one bedroom apartment with an excellent outdoor terrace and spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Aloha Angela,
Mahalo for your great review! We enjoyed having you here as well. Glad we could upgrade you to the one bedroom suite, I agree the views from that room are amazing. Jonette was more than happy to pick you up at the airport, and we are happy that we could be one of your best vacations ever. Hope you can come back in the future, a Hui Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

I was looking for somewhere different, unique, tropical and quiet to hold a baby shower and Paradise Bay was the absolute perfect place! The resort has a beautiful dining area that we were able sit, relax and privately share the afternoon while overlooking Kaneohe Bay! There is a wet bar and kitchen, tables and chairs and they played music for us, as well. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful! The event coordinator, Sarah Godden helped me plan, organize and set up a beautiful baby shower day. THANK YOU PARADISE BAY RESORT FOR A BEAUTIFUL DAY AND LIFELONG MEMORIES!! Not only did I enjoy my baby shower day here, I returned for a Mother-to-be massage package! A private relaxing room was set up and Patty, the massage therapist was very professional. The massage was extremely helpful with easing pregnancy pains! I would love to return to the resort for an event, stay and/or massage!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfarrister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonette01, General Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Mahalo, Sarah enjoyed taking care your event. Baby Showers and Bridal Showers are very popular here, 1st the location is great, but most of we love seeing people have fun and tend to get personally attached to the event. You will have come back show off your new baby.
A Hui Hou, Jonette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Staff was very accommodating. The papaya and pineapple at the continental breakfast each morning was delicious. Hawaiian entertainment on Wed was well done and the food was excellent and free. Units were clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and we especially loved Darcie who was able to provide at the last minute lovely accommodations. Great cooks, mother and daughter team, Amber and Dorene. Great resort for families as well as couples.

Room Tip: Make sure to specify if you want air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loismoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonette01, General Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Mahalo for taking the time to write this review, it's very much appreciated. We strive to show our guest the Hawaii we grew up in. I'm glad our wahines (women)are taking care of you our new Ohana(family) member. Aloha oe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

I write this review in the middle of our 12 day stay...We love this place! The mountain views, the free Saturday boat excursion, the tranquility of the bay, the free kayak use, the included breakfast, the very easy parking. We visited Waikiki yesterday for the longboard classic surf competition and wondered why anyone on vacation would want to subject themselves to the stresses of high-rise living, impossible parking, the blare of horns in congested traffic, and a general lack of peace one finds in a concrete jungle. Here we are experiencing a genuine Hawaii experience in an authentic tropical setting. Looking forward to the Wednesday dinner, live music and mai-tais.

Room Tip: Just ask! It worked for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fenixfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonette01, General Manager at Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
We loved you guys too and enjoyed your visit with us, I think the same thing every time I go to Waikiki. A Hui Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

this was the most amazing place!! words cannot desribe how great the view, the room, even the hotel staff went out of their way for us- this was beyond my expectations. the price is great, there's free excursions like snorkelling and kayaking, a saturday boat ride to the sand bar, free dinner and mai tai nite, a live hawaiian music and dinner nite , all included in the price of your stay, which was waaaayyy less than the other hotels on the island, and it included so much more. they even have an on-call massage lady! (i even came home at the end of the day to clean laundry for only a few bucks!)
your away from the hustle and bustle of the city of waikiki but close enough to go when you want that. we are from Los angeles and were on our honeymoon, so the last thing we wanted was city and noise. this place kept our days full (when we wanted) and peaceful and serene when we didnt want city life! i am so glad we found this hidden gem. certainly affordable enough for us to go back again soon!! oh yah, the showers and beds are amazing. 5 star resort balcony views also. the layout is great where you can join rooms to balconies for larger groups...i could have stayed here forever. loved it!! very kid friendly as well. lots of fun for the honeymoon couple like us, people who want to be alone, or large parties- all spectrums. there were all kinds of people staying here, but it was always peaceful, quiet, and perfect! i dont have one bad thing to say. just that i would have liked to stay longer. AMAZING!!

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony/lanai. saturday is excursion day-snorkelling and sand bar. no charge so do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jester33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaneohe
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii

Property: Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
Address: 47-039 Lihikai Dr, Kaneohe, Oahu, HI 96744-4743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kaneohe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kaneohe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha! We are very excited to announce the completion of our room and property renovations. We will continue to enhance the property as other resorts do, however the bulk of work is complete. We appreciate all of the input we received both positive and negative and we have used it to get to the point we are today. We were recently awarded the 2014 TripAdvisor Award of Excellence. We are blessed to be part of what we all consider to be the most beautiful tropical setting in the Hawaiian Islands. Now the property, accommodations and warm staff complement our surroundings. We call ourselves True Hawaii and what does that mean? Our setting reveals the answer. We are located in a panorama of spectacular natural and tropical beauty, from amazing Hawaiian mountain ranges and lush tropical landscape, to beautiful Kaneohe Bay, Chinaman's Hat Island and out to the Pacific Ocean. We border an ancient Hawaiian fishpond surrounded by lush tropical mangroves. The Kahuona Fishpond is one of the last remaining working fishponds and is designated a historical site. We are the only resort property with private access to Kaneohe Bay. Kaneohe Bay hosts the most abundant and diverse sea life and reef system in the Hawaiian Islands and our guests can access it safely right from the resort. Our design fits with the environment and has a contemporary and authentic Hawaiian look and feel. We thank our guests who have stayed with us in the past and helped to support us. We appreciate your patience with the renovations and know you will be delighted on your next stay. The property, guest rooms, new amenities, services and warm staff are here to take care of you. We offer our guests the same entertainment, special Saturday sand bar excursion and we have added a few more; a Friday evening Firedance Show, additional live Hawaiian music and surprise cultural classes. We have added some new things such as; a fitness room, Wi-Fi, on call spa service, new pool and hot tub, new floating lounge areas, conference room, intimate wedding ceremonies and we are pet friendly. We have renovated and upgraded our guestrooms with; new furnishings, artwork, premium pillow top mattresses, luxurious bedding and linens as well as new flat screen TV's and IPod docks.Kayak use is still included and we also have Standup Paddle Boards and private boat charter available. We look forward to seeing you the next time you come to Paradise. Warm Aloha, David and Stephanie Ryan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii Hotel Kaneohe
Schraders Windward Country Hotel
Schraders Windward Country Resort
Country Inn Kaneohe
Kaneohe Country Inn
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii Kaneohe, Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing