We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Byodo-In Temple

Byodo-In Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.00*
and up
Oahu Grand Circle Island Tour
More Info
$124.61*
and up
Ultimate Circle Island Adventure with Waimea Waterfall
More Info
$1,597.00*
and up
Spiritual Hawaiian Culture Tour from Honolulu
Ranked #1 of 40 things to do in Kaneohe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a beautiful place to visit, all the koi fish were fascinating to see. The gardens surrounding the temple are beautiful and serene. I wish I had more time here to look around and explore, but it was a wonderful experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    814
    369
    93
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

very pretty!!! I recommend going the 2nd Saturday of every month because they have tables set up where you can do soul cleansing activities like make a plant arrangement drink tea that is used for medicine and other things it cost $3 per person and cash only!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very peaceful place in the morning”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The temple was a wonderful, quiet respite after a busy week. The grounds are lush and beautiful and the mountains are stunning. We arrived as it opened and suggest you do that as well. We enjoyed a quiet moment of reflection at the temple, lighting a candle and a piece of incense. We fed the hungry birds and koi with inexpensive food pellets from the gift shop. The birds will land on your hand. The shopkeeper was able to teach us much more about the surroundings. She was extremely gracious to us and we enjoyed our time with her. We finished our visit just as the tour buses began to arrive and upset the peace and quiet. Rainshowers should not come as a surprise, but umbrellas are sold at the fee counter if needed. Kaneohe is green and beautiful for a good reason. I recommend wearing mosquito repellent. Look for the many little cats hiding in the valley.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MissingKailua88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beauty and Peace together”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The grounds are beautiful and we had such a feeling of peace as we were there. The only disruption was when a tour group came through and they were very loud as we were paying our respect and prayers. We had our sense of peace back very quickly as we hand feed the swans, fish and birds and became one again with life.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CR-Roller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Oasis of Beauty”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent only an hour at this temple, but it remains one of our favorite and most memorable sites on Oahu. The temple is beautiful and extremely photogenic, and the koi ponds with black swans and turtles and peacocks nearby made for a spectacular scene. The inside of the temple is tiny, but I recommend visiting the Buddha statute inside and checking out the "gong" on the left side of the temple. Overall a really great place to stop for an hour or so.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYTravelerBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byodo-In Temple also viewed

 

Been to Byodo-In Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing