We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”
Review of Byodo-In Temple

Byodo-In Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.00*
and up
Oahu Grand Circle Island Tour
More Info
$124.61*
and up
Ultimate Circle Island Adventure with Waimea Waterfall
More Info
$1,597.00*
and up
Spiritual Hawaiian Culture Tour from Honolulu
Ranked #1 of 41 things to do in Kaneohe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
l0vet0travel77
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

It was worth the drive to go through the valley of temples and see this beautiful Japanese replica temple. Unfortunately it was in need of tender loving care. There was a slight cost but not much. I rated it very good because of the context of which someone might visit a temple, but would rate it average on the care of the temple. Otherwise, glad we made the trip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank l0vet0travel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    801
    364
    91
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cloverdale, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Really enjoyed our visit to this temple! Great place to go on a day away from the beach. Very relaxed and only $8 for family of four.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rmartin166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Serene and beautiful”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stopped at this place as part of a tour. There are huge Koi fish in th waterway that surrounds the temple.. You cross the bridge and notice a huge gong with the wooden swinging hammer. Inside you are able to light a stick and pray or meditate. This place is located in cemetery valley with other denominations. This is an authentic Buddhist Temple. Very enlightening.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place to Spend a Morning”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Context is important to interpret a review… so here’s the context. We had just finished a two month tour of Southeast Asia. We saw hundreds of temples. So it’s not unexpected that we would be less than wowed by a Buddhist temple in the US. We were a bit surprised, after reading all of the reviews, to find that we were driving through a rather large cemetery to get to the temple that everyone was raving about… so be forewarned, if you’re a little spooked by cemeteries, you’re going to be driving through a pretty big one.
So what about the temple?... it is beautiful and the grounds are pretty and well kept. I would not make this a destination when you’re on Oahu, but if you happen to be in the area, definitely stop by. The best time to go is in the morning… the light is nice and it is less crowded. Be sure to stop by the gift shop and buy some food to feed the goldfish. The goldfish in the ponds on the grounds are more like little dogs than fish… they are enormous and come to the surface to beg.
If you want to make a day of it, take H3 to the north side of the island. Spend some time in the morning at the temple. Go into Kaneohe to Dean’s Drive Inn for an early lunch. Then head north out of town on Kamehameha Highway and stop at some of the best beaches on Oahu (the ones near Banzai Pipeline are the best). And finish off the day with a sunset cruise with North Shore Catamaran Charters out of Haleiwa (of course book this ahead of time).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBonesSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“This is a nice side trip”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The temple is nothing amazing, but the grounds are nice and there are some beautiful black swans on the property.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank serenityseekerFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byodo-In Temple also viewed

 

Been to Byodo-In Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing