We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful restaurant”
Review of Haleiwa Joe's

Haleiwa Joe's
Ranked #1 of 129 Restaurants in Kaneohe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Haleiwa Joe's at Haiku Gardens is a hidden gem out in beautiful Kaneohe, Oahu. Enjoy delicious steaks and seafood in our open-aired restaurant while absorbing the breath-taking Hawaiian views of the botanical gardens below, lined with the majestic Ko'olau Mountains!
Woodland, California
1 review
“wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Old friends that live here took us to this restaurant. What a wonderful experience. I lived here in the 60's and 70's and it was like going back in time. Food was great and the atmosphere was over the top. I am sending everyone there! People having dinner were so much fun and the owner and staff were excellent! We will be back....

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    208
    36
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth Checking Out”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went for a really nice supper with another couple we had met at our condo in Punalu'u and the experience was worth the drive. The gardens and flowers provided a beautiful backdrop for our Friday evening meal...it is actually like dining outside! Two of our friends had different types of fish...a little on the dry side they said but tasty. My husband had a shrimp dish that he said was great and I had the Prime Rib...not having any idea of the size of the beef and it was just ok. I just had to take a picture to show friends at home.
A local band started playing around 9 pm and they drew in a large crowd but we couldn't stay too long because we had a bit of a drive to get home. That being said, they're aren't a lot of options for this type of dining experience on the NE shore and I would highly recommend this restaurant. It was not expensive! Our bill for 2 was just over $60 and that included 2 drinks...not bad at all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waynorthontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Worth the price”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were a family of seven and all of us liked our dishes. We shared them around the table so everyone else could taste and savor each others choices. Between all of us, we had a large variety of dishes, from appetizers to fish, to meat to salads and every one was delicious. We also shared three desserts and those were quite tasty too. If you want prime rib, make sure you get there early. They don't take reservations and the prime rib is available until it runs out. We walked around the garden waiting for our table and it is absolutely beautiful! This is a great place (but pricey) for a family, for a romantic couple or a business dinner. If you are lucky enough to get in early, you can sit along the "windows" and enjoy the vistas of the garden.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, MA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“awesome”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I'm glad we stumbled upon this place. The food was outstanding, the fish couldn't have been any fresher, and the service was great. We had a fabulous lunch here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ejfmaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Wonderful in All Ways”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We vacationed on Oahu for our 32nd anniversary. After much research I picked Halewia Joes at Haiku Gardens to celebrate our anniversary. I was not let down - our dinner was perfect! We were staying at Turtle Bay Resort on the Noth Shore and it took us about 50 minutes to drive down the windward coast to the restaurant. The GPS on my iPhone gave excellent directions.
We arrived about 15 minutes before the restaurant opened,but the bar was open so we enjoyed a drink first. Soon our table at the rail was ready. We had a beautiful view of the gardens and mountains. The pretty hostess took several photos of us when I asked her to help us remember this evening.
Our waiter for the evening was Chris and he was very good. We started out with the coconut fried shrimp. Yum! We took his suggestions and tried the fish dishes for our entrees. Hubby had the fish of the day - Opa crusted with dried seaweed and baked. He really liked it. I had the Mahi Mahi steamed the Chinese way. It was covered with cilantro, green onion and fresh ginger. It was so delicious! Our sides of sautéed veggies were good too. We ended our meal with a Baby Cake for dessert. It's a small molten choc cake with cream cheese on the bottom. Good.
After dinner we walked through the gardens. A lovely way to help create a happy memory. We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sdatex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haleiwa Joe's also viewed

 

Been to Haleiwa Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing