We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and setting...”
Review of Haleiwa Joe's

Haleiwa Joe's
Ranked #1 of 130 Restaurants in Kaneohe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Haleiwa Joe's at Haiku Gardens is a hidden gem out in beautiful Kaneohe, Oahu. Enjoy delicious steaks and seafood in our open-aired restaurant while absorbing the breath-taking Hawaiian views of the botanical gardens below, lined with the majestic Ko'olau Mountains!
Laguna Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and setting...”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I love a restaurant that has a unique setting and this restaurant definitely meets that criteria with its location up against the Koʻolau Mountains. It is surrounded by the Haiku Gardens and giant Banyan Trees--great place for a walk before or after dinner. The restaurant has a great open air Hawaiian feel and good food. We have been several times and always enjoy our meal.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank PJS308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    216
    37
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midcoast Maine
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highlight of the vacation!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Among the best meals I've ever had. I had a special Marlin dish that was unforgettable. My wife had a curry fish dish, very good but no comparison to mine. 2 steaks and a filet mignon for the rest of the table, all absolutely great. Wonderful atmosphere and staff... highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mainetraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“What a gorgeous setting!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I can't think of a lovelier garden setting - it's like a tropical fantasy. We arrived early on a Saturday (after finding the parking lot overflowing Friday night - it's first-come, first-served.) We had before-dinner Mai Tais and Pina Coladas (excellent), while enjoying the open-air setting. We got a prime table right next to the railing, overlooking the garden, pond and Japanese bridge - with tiki torches providing atmosphere. The service was attentive, but not obtrusive. The salad and entrees excellent. I had fresh catch of the day and my husband the pork chops, both ample and with lovely presentation. We were too full for dessert, although they were tempting. We took a post-dinner walk at dusk along the garden path.One of our best dining experiences on the island.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LovesExploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views and Excellent Food”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was my family's favorite place to eat while we were stationed in Hawaii. We loved the beautiful views of the waterfall and the lush greenery all around. You dine in a covered, open area so that while you enjoy fresh seafood or delicious landlubber grinds you are treated to a tropical Hawaiian setting.

The crab legs were the best I have ever had!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Wedding venue!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had our wedding reception here. Coordinators Robyn and Tamara were very pleasant to work with and accommodating. The venue was beautiful and well organized. The food tasted great, large portions and there were options suitable for everyone. Service was prompt and courteous. I would highly recommend having your wedding here because they can take care of everything (depending on your budget) so no stress!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vaneza1444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Haleiwa Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing