We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kanile`a `Ukulele Factory Tour
Open today: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Review Highlights
Music to your ears

This tour began with the huge raw wood chunks and ended with a unique instrument. We walked through... read more

Reviewed March 5, 2019
Pam Y
,
Beulah, MI
Make sure to take the tour (Mon-Fri @ 10AM) - Update

Sorry, we purchased an Islander, not Highlander ukulele. :-) The Islander ukulele is a wonderful... read more

Reviewed July 3, 2018
Raging_Proteus
,
Maribor, Slovenia
Read all 15 reviews
  
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveler rating
14
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
14
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews koa wood step by step craftsmanship instruments aloha art purchase hawaii
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 15 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2016

I had the opportunity to visit Kanile'a Ukulele last week. Kristen Souza took us on a tour of their manufacturing process. We saw how they store the Hawaiian koa wood for the ukulele body, the rosewood for the fretboard, and the mahogany for the neck. We saw how they book match the wood for the soundboards. In essence, we learned what excellent artisans they are in creating these beautiful instruments. Kristen and Joe Souza, Lina, Micah and the entire Kanile'a team could not have been any nicer to the tour group, providing outstanding hospitality. And, they have a great showroom of their ukuleles, along with other items like Kanile'a shirts and caps. All in all, a trifecta: The tour was fascinating. The ukuleles were amazing. And, the staff was truly very welcoming to us.

Date of experience: December 2016
2  Thank Mitch J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2016

Coming to Hawaii with the intent to purchase a new ukulele, I set out to visit as many ukulele dealers and ukulele builders as possible. I had visited nearly every dealer on Oahu, and several builders including Kamaka and Koaloha. The moment I walked into Kanilea there was a feeling of family. It was more than just the beautiful ukuleles on the wall, it was the family of people who make up the Kanilea staff. As we were shown through the workshop, you could tell that every employ cared and took great pride in their work and the beautiful instruments they were creating. Whether or not you are a ukulele fan, taking a tour of this ukulele factory will make you want to come back to Oahu to visit the new friends you will feel you have made at the Kanilea factory.

Date of experience: November 2016
2  Thank CPG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2016 via mobile

Parking is a challenge for there are only 4 available at the store. You must get there before 10:30 a.m. only one tour a day.

Date of experience: February 2016
3  Thank Climber213378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2015 via mobile

This free tour of a ukulele factory was a lot of fun. We had no idea of the contents and craftsmanship that went into this quality instrument. The description of the finishing process alone was fascinating. The tour takes about 45 minutes and involves some stairs, but it's worth the effort. Call ahead for tour times; the first one was at 10:30am. They'll even give you directions to the post office and bakery!

Thanks, Joe for a really nice tour.

Date of experience: September 2015
2  Thank Denis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Toured the Kanile'a ukulele factory after a tour of the Kamaka factory. While both tours are informative, the personal engagement of owner Joe Souza, his knowledge, and his aloha make the Kanile'a experience exceptional. Located in Kaneohe, the factory is easy to find and has good parking. The 15-20 workers are friendly and well informed. And the product they produce is superb. I purchased a Super Tenor made from koa wood. The sound is exquisite.
Daniel Tyler

Date of experience: March 2014
8  Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews