We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great activity for reasonably fit boomers.”

Holokai Kayak and Snorkel Adventure
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Kaneohe Bay Kayak and Snorkel Tour to Coconut Island
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Stand-Up Paddleboard Lesson and Snorkeling in Kaneohe Bay
More Info
$129.00*
and up
He'eia Fishpond Guided Kayak Exploration in Kane'ohe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kayak on beautiful Kane'ohe Bay located on the windward coast of Oahu. Kane'ohe Bay is home to Oahu's only barrier reef. Enjoy a guided eco-tour with Kama'aina Kids' friendly staff of certified instructors. Experience the magnificence of Kaneohe Bay's pristine waters and diverse sea life with the Bay's one and only kayak eco-tour. The three hour tour will journey to Coconut Island, home of the Hawaii Institute of Marine Biology (and where the television show, Gilligan's Island, was filmed). Along the way explore and snorkel at various patch reefs and observe sea turtles, rays, and tropical fish in their natural habitat. Your guide will point out cultural sites, such as the traditional Hawaiian fish pond at He'eia, and will also explain some of the challenges facing the ecosystem of the Bay. The protected waters of the Kaneohe Bay make it a perfect place for kayakers of all skill levels. This hands-on approach makes it a safe and exciting learning experience for all ages.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great activity for reasonably fit boomers.”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful morning kayaking beautiful Kane'ohe Bay with the "outstanding" staff of this great and very committed non profit organization. The snokelling was nice although a bit cool with the windward breeze. The warm drink was much appreciated. Thanks also for the yummy lunch. Before we left He'eia State Park we had a great visit with Uncle Bobbie the founder and crafts man behind the Puakea Foundation- Outrigger-Koa canoe restoration, and paddle maker. Mahalo and Paddles Up

Helpful?
1 Thank Pamcrorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    37
    6
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome adventure!!!!!!!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This tour was the most beautiful and informative attractions we've done on the Island this time around. I'm not a big swimmer and am a bit scared of the whole being in the ocean thing,,but our guide Kendall made me feel safe and relaxed. We learned so much about the area from her. You're not rushed to finish up and she went in with me to show me some pretty neat stuff under the surface. The barbeque on the beach afterwards was delicious with lots to eat....If you are looking for a kyak and snorkeling adventure, this is the one, no matter how much or little experience you have. This one is great for younger kids as well. We will definitely do this one again when we return. Profit goes to a great cause helping educate the next generation on how important our oceans are. Thanks again Kendall, you were GREAT!!!!!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice little tour”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were satisfied with this tour overall. The guide, Nick, was informative and helpful throughout the trip. The actual kayak portion is a bit less than expected given they tow you out half-way to the island - although it makes sense as they do this to prevent us from being too tired to snorkel when we do arrive. Both snorkel spots had plenty of fish and interesting coral - our second location even had a sea turtle for us to swim with! The bay is in a very scenic setting - although being in a bay the water isn't quite as clear compared with other parts of the island. Lunch was a great bonus - BBQ was decent for what they are - a park that donates proceeds to a good cause. Our only suggestion is to provide guests with some brief information about the types of fish we may encounter as this would have added to the experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nick_danielleCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoy awesome Kaneohe Bay!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband, George, and I had such a serene, laid back experience taking in the incredible beauty of the calm Kaneohe Bay during the first week of Oct (which was sunny and hot). If you are looking for a scenic adventure outside of the craziness of Waikiki/Honolulu, then this is for you! It was George's first time snorkeling and he really enjoyed it. The reefs of Kaneohe Bay and near Coconut Island have beautiful live corals (more than Hanauma Bay) and lots of colorful fish. We saw some turtles also. Be sure to bring some wave runners or footwear to get wet and an underwater camera. The kayaking was not terribly strenuous, so don't worry if you are out of shape. You can ride on the boat too, if you are tired. Our guide, Kendall, was great, explaining the history of Coconut Island (of "Gilligan's Island" fame) as well telling us about Kaneohe Bay and neighboring islands. Our time ended with a good BBQ lunch. The experience is well worth the money! Just go and do it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KFitzsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
here
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Two thumbs up!”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had read about the great kayaking in Kane'ohe Bay. We specifically wanted to see the sunken island and sandbars. We signed up for this one that unfortunately did not take us to those places. (Our fault, not theirs.) However it was still a great trip. Mike and Kendall, our guides, could not have been nicer! They took us to 2 locations to snorkel. The first place was the idyllic little lagoon you may remember from Gilligan's island! It had some fish and limited color coral, and had big pink sea slugs everywhere you looked. (everywhere) Overall not great snorkeling, but calm, pretty, and perfect for beginners. The second spot was called Turtle Alley and we did see an absolutely huge turtle! The reef here was much prettier and had a few more fish. We are wondering if there are fewer fish to see in Hawaii than in the past. Just a warning, the water can be a little cold, even in the summer. Overall, we were happy with our experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sojo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holokai Kayak and Snorkel Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Holokai Kayak and Snorkel Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing