We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience!”

Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ Dining
Ranked #8 of 128 Restaurants in Kaneohe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband loves this place and that is saying a lot. He is very critical of any restaurant. The idea that you can cook your own food at your table is fun.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank hortgirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    23
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Level Contributor
351 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“nice place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

One of the better environment s to dine at in Kaneohe. Good food and many choices. Can get expensive if you keep adding to your meal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“It's Fun to Grill Your Own Meat and Veggies.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our kids loved this meal. It was fun to grill at the table, service was prompt and attentive, and we all left more than satisfied. The Harami-Miso skirt steak is cheaper than other beef, but it was the tastiest to barbeque. I wish veggie servings were larger - we got just a few slices of onion or zucchini at each request - but they were fresh and flavorful off the grill. Off the appetizer menu, the crispy smoked pork tacos were memorable - they were so unbelievably good, I wanted to drive back the next day, even though we were hours away by then. The shrimp bibimbap was also delicious, and the kids like watching it cook in the bowl.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Uluave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very fun and tasty dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

My daughter and I went in the afternoon during happy hour and we were pampered by our attentive and knowledgeable waitress. She went out of her way to answer our questions about the menu and to offer suggestions. The meat was exceptionally tender and we love to be able to grill it at our table. Portions were generous for the price and we most definitely will return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizochka65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Fun and cheap dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our group of 4 ate here last Friday night for their happy hour. We were seated after a short wait and our waitress was busy but friendly.

Since we ordered from the discounted menu, we were able to try lots of different appetizers, meats and drinks. Grilling your own food at the table is fun and unique (it reminded me of a more casual version of Melting Pot back on the mainland). They have super happy hour Sun-Thurs and regular happy hour on Friday after 9 pm. Loved the sweet potato fries with wasabi dipping sauce and the bacon wrapped filets. Our meal ended on a yummy note with s'mores for dessert.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bananafishfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ Dining also viewed

 

Been to Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing