We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breath taking views in rustic setting”
other travelers have booked this property
Overview from upper end of property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Overview from upper end of property
View of Cottage from shoreline Cottage Entry area & parking
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Overview from upper end of property
View of Cottage from shoreline
Cottage Entry area & parking
Living room lounge area
Kitchen area
Dining area with views
Mountain + Bay View from lanai
Upper Sleeping Loft-Queen bed
Upper Loft Bedroom area-dbl bed
Full Bathroom on main level
Backside view of Cottage
Back yard of Cottage
Sunrise over Chinaman's Hat
Sunrise over water
Morning light
Palm shadows
Kaneohe Bay Shoreline
Red ginger & yellow heliconia picked from the garden.
Morning reflections of Kaneohe Bay and Ko'olau Mountain Range.
Nearby Kualoa Beach-Chinaman's Hat Island
Nearby mango tree
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kaneohe, Oahu, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jadehr
Morton Grove, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Breath taking views in rustic setting”
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

When I rented this place in Kaneohe, my family and I wanted to be close to the water. I enjoyed getting up each morning and watching the sun rise and feel the breezes. The pictures do not do the view justice. It is gorgeous and breathtaking.
Hawaii in July, it is quite warm and humid. When I say rustic, there is no air conditioning. There is a breeze, but not enough to cool the house and the fans circulate the warm air. That being said, I remember as a child, being at my grandmother's house in the Philippines and remembering the openness of her home, the high ceilings and the vegetation, the plants and the fruit trees, the chickens running around the yard. The house has modern conveniences: clean beds, towels, kitchen appliances, pots and pans with kitschy Hawaiian furniture and the occasional small lizard on the ceilings. Not to worry, they eat the mosquitoes and that worked for us. This Kaneohe Bayside Retreat reminded me of my childhood and my family enjoyed our time here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2017
Thank you for your nice comments-glad that your family enjoyed the property overall...and that it brought back memories of your grandmothers home in the Philippines. Sounds like the trade winds had not cooled as usual, but glad you all managed ok. Hope you return someday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
latanyata...
Sacramento, California
1 review
“First Timer Hawaiian Experience”
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Beautiful Country Side Home. I rented the home June 14-June 19 with the goal of avoiding yet another resort experience and this cottage for excellent for that purpose! It was our first time in Hawaii so adjusting to the weather, insects (particularly geckos) was challenging for this city girl like me, but after a few day's I grew to appreciate the experience. The home is beautiful and well equipped with everything you will need. Dian (the owner) was responsive to questions I had and provided prompt answers. One issue I had which had nothing to do with the house is my cell phone service (which was sketchy) so I missed several calls and text for the duration of my stay; which in the end served me well as I found myself more in tuned to the beauty of the cottage and beautiful scenery of the Hawaii County Side (25-30 minutes mesmerising drive to Waikiki). Lastly, as a social/environmental advocate, I appreciated the signs posted throughout the county side that read "No development! Please Let keep our land natural and beautiful!". Enjoyed the stay and will visit again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2017
Thank you so much for your feedback...glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the surrounding country beauty! Hope you come back in the future! Mahalo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardingP...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed May 21, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Upstairs bedroom was stuffy, poor air flow. The house needs to have a/c. Gets hot during the day because the vegetation around the house blocks the ocean breeze from coming through. The bay we found to be a collection of ocean debris. The geckos in the house,while cute, made a terrible racket in the middle of each night we were there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2017
Aloha,
So sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the air flow, geckos & shoreline. We have ceiling & portable fans to assist the trade winds, when still. The geckos we have no control over-we actually like them for they eat mosquitos. Same with the ocean debris-can't control, just try to pick up, as needed. Again, sorry you were disappointed. May we recommend staying in a hotel next time, for being in a more rural area can be a bit rustic for some.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitV704
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay with the family”
Reviewed July 21, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We loved staying in this beautiful cottage with two teenagers. To have the sun rise in front of the cottage over the ocean is a sight not easily forgotten. You can walk up to the shoreline to get magnificent views of the Pacific. Cottage is on two floors, spacious and reasonably well equipped. The cleanliness is acceptable and communication from owners very clear and timely. There are no doors to bedrooms, two queen beds are located on either side of the staircase with no direct line of sight. The WiFi works well, cell reception was not too bad. Neighborhood is good and safe, you have perfect privacy all around. This helped us get true Hawaiian experience, not the commercialized beach city experience of Waikiki. Only downside was the heat and no air conditioning but it is for short periods and there are many fans to help. July is hotter period in general for the island. North of island is home to some beautiful, secluded, white sand beaches and these are within reasonable distance from Kaneohe than the South. There are shops and supermarkets within 10-15 of driving distance, including food options. There are local eateries and a popular road truck within few mins of driving distance. A rental car is essential to get around the area and island. Overall, this property is recommended for smaller families or groups of four who prefer to be away from crowds and relax in truly Hawaiian style.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2016
Aloha Amit & Family,
So nice to hear that you all had a nice stay and enjoyed touring the island! Appreciate your feedback! And hope you return someday!
Mahalo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N
Three Lakes, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Aloha Paradise”
Reviewed February 1, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful, relaxing cottage.... more like a peaceful home. Feels like the real Hawaii, with chickens, roosters, & a couple of geese roaming the grounds. The roosters start their crowing just before sun up and it's a pleasant wake up call to the morning to view the beautiful sunrise over the ocean. The home is complete with everything but air conditioning, which isn't necessary due to the breeze off the ocean & numerous fans provided, and there is no dishwasher for those who don't do dishes by hand. We enjoyed the hammock and large deck, which provided a beautiful view of the nights starry skies.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location & peacefulness
Liked least: parking/amount of access to waterfront
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2016
Aloha! Thank you for your feedback on our hidden island retreat...glad you had a nice stay! Sounds like you experienced the essence of this magical area. Hope you come back in the future!
Mahalo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cap1005
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cabin Style”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Very hospitable neighbors!

Great Location!

A couple geckos live in the house but they are chill :)

Everything else was amazing!
House came with towels, washer/drier, snorkel gear, full kitchen, and really great features.
The room floor plan is really open meaning they have no doors so there is not much privacy. Not a big deal though. Rodney, the owner, is the nicest person ever!

Our stay 6/10/14-6/17/14

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sosiever
Yankton, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This was a perfect place to stay and get away from the traffic of Honolulu. It had everything we needed from cooking items to beach toys. It was great waking up to the privacy of the property and the Hawaiian views from it. We would highly recommend staying there, and we would stay there again the next time we go back. Wish we would have found this place for all the other times we had gone to Oahu.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy, the views, and everything that was available for cooking and cleaning.
Liked least: Our morning wake-up calls from the local chickens. Wasn't quite use to that. But they were fun to watch during the day :)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2014
Aloha Sonya,
Thank you for your fine review! So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would like to return in the future!
Appreciate it!
Mahalo,
Dian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing