We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Dean's Drive-Inn

Dean's Drive-Inn
Ranked #7 of 129 Restaurants in Kaneohe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Restaurant details
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Based on two travel web sites, we tried this small but unique restaurant. It's difficult to get into the strip shopping, but worth making an extra trip around the block. Only 6 tables in the restaurant, no restrooms and charges for refills, lots of people do "take out'. We had just walked up Diamond Head and was heading north, so we wanted to relax and have a good lunch. Dean was a great host. I had the mini ahi sandwich with mac salad (macaroni salad). My hubby had the surf and turf. The beef was amazing and so worth it. Try it. A fun, off the beaten track spot to try. Don't expect restrooms or refills, but do enjoy and wonderful lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryFLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    33
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Open arms welcome”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Super friendly and charming hole-in-the-wall where they serve great food! The menu is more extensive than what is on this site so go check it out! Most order take out, but there are 6 booth tables for dining in-house.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Here it's all about the food. We were out at Kaneohe to visit the botanical park and sought this place out because the reviews were so good. We were not disappointed. It's a little place with five tables inside. You could drive past really easily. But the food was amazing.
My wife and I both got the "surf and turf" which has both the ahi cakes and teriyaki beef. With that you get a choice of Mac or green salad and white or brown rice. We both got brown rice and Mac salad. The ahi cakes were wonderful with an aioli that had a touch of spice. The teriyaki beef was tender and delicious. I was surprised at the quality and presentation. The Mac salad was pretty ordinary but the ahi and beef were amazing.
Service was friendly and warm. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Diner_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly ”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Ate here on our last day of vacation. It was delicious and fresh. We tried Ono and mahimahi and also teriyaki beef. It was all tasty. Kids licked their plates. Owner was very friendly and talkative. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Tracimcgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stopped for an early dinner tonight and we were not dissappointed. We were treated like family by the owners who made sure we were happy with our food. I had the chopped steak and it was delicious. My husband enjoyed the rib special. They serve plate lunches as well as burgers and fries. The parking lot is small and can fill up. We circled around once and found parking. We would definitely recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mich115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dean's Drive-Inn also viewed

 

Been to Dean's Drive-Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing