We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the real Hawaii”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sheffield House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 13 Kailua B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Staying here gave us a real feel of the way Hawaii is to those lucky people who get to live here all the time. This B&B is perfect for experiencing the wonders of nature, the geckos, warm sunshine, breeze in the palm trees......Sure there is traffic nearby but so is the beach, shops and everyday Hawaiian life. Our hosts were courteous and non intrusive. We knew they were there if we needed them but we wanted the privacy so as long as the rooms were ok we were happy. Everything is set up well, lots of towels and a full workable kitchen. We booked both rooms and it was very convenient. We loved the garden. Give this B&B a try, I am sure that there will be no disappointments.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDayMateAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 40 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2009

I'll start with the positives. Correspondence prior to booking was great, really friendly and efficient. Apartment is nice and well located, just 7 minutes walk to a thoroughly fantastic beach. Beautiful beach. Beach towels, boogie boards and grass mats were provided.

But, sadly the business has lost its soul. I imagine the ownere were once incredibly good at this business but in our three night stay we did not see them at all. We weren't expecting a welcome party but a quick two minute show around of the apartment might have been nice. We felt as though we were only there to line their pockets. In the kitchenette the coffee maker and toaster did not work - a little pointless having a kitchen. The information that they provided about the local area was out of date.

Such a shame as the place itself was nice. I just think these people need to show a little more gratitude and be more welcoming to their guests.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
5  Thank annewetherspoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuuleiRoad, Owner at Sheffield House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2010

It sounds like the breaker flipped. Did you contact us or our house sitter about this electrical problem? If a problem occurs and we do not know about it, how can we help you? Given the time period on this comment, I should note that were traveling during this time dealing with my Father's health issues and subsequent funeral.

The phone number to contact us is posted in the room and on the guest information sheet. We try to take our cues from each guest. We like to visit yet at the same time we do try to respect each guest's wish for privacy. My sincere apologies if you tried to contact us and we did not respond.

Rachel Sheffield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

This was my first solo "mommy vacation" after 4 years to Hawaii and I was very excited about the whole plan, but got some un-expected surprises: first the BUS does NOT take you from the airport to Kailua if you have a carry on bag, and there is NO SHUTTLE SERVICE unless you arranged for one before your trip. CABS are $60 (which I ended up paying for) Second:
How unfriendly and cold my arrival was by the owner of the BB! She had a problem with me leaving my carry on bag locked unless I paid $60 (half a day) because I was 3 hours early to check in, so I had to hide them in some bushes, and had to take my computer in my backpack to go for a walk in town, which is very close. After this I never heard from them, but when I had a problem connecting to the internet where let's say she was strictly handy. The room I was in very pretty but noisy at night-time, the bb is located on a pretty busy road. Other than that I'll say I will not use this BB again, sorry but hospitality is a very important asset which they totally lack.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pulgarcyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Kailua is hands down the best beach on O'ahu. We stayed at the Guest room of Sheffield House for one full week. Paul and Rachel are nice people. No Air Conditioner but has ceiling fan. No full kitchen but there are coffee maker, toaster oven, microwave, cutlery, plates and utensil. Just as advertised. I think next time for a 1-wk stay we would probably go for the garden suite with full kitchenette so we can really cook. They provided you with some electric skillet and rice cooker though. Great location, less than 7 minutes walk and you are on the best beach. Kailua is on the windward side and it was very windy with sometimes high surf when we were there. Nevertheless, we enjoyed walking freely amoung the locals without having to watch out not to step on people like on Waikiki. Our unit came with 2 beach mats, and 2 boogie boards for you to try out. Or you can just watch all the surfers and many kite-boarders show-off their skills. The sand and Kailua is much whiter and finer than at Waikiki...

Most B&B in Hawaii will provide you breakfast for the 1st morning. And i think the regulation is that they can't prepare the food for you so they will likely give you danish, buns, fruits, juices bought from the store. First night was hard to sleep b/c we weren't used to having no A/C in this kind of climate. But at night it got cooler and ceiling fan almost made it too cool sometimes so we had to turn it down. After that we got used to it and slept just fine. Road noise at night was horrible and it can take some time to get used to. People started driving as early as 4-5 AM and that will likely wake you up. Bed was comfortable though. The shower in the bathroom was clean. Floor was clean. There was TV and tons of books and magazine you could borrow. Bar fridge. Hair Dryer. Iron. Lots of clean towels. 7-eleven is the closest store within walking distance. You can walk a bit further (2 blks) to McD. Check out Farmer's market on Thursday morning 9-10AM at the parking lot a bit furthur behind the police station. There were fresh fruits, vegetables, and flowers. No cooked food. Thursday night market behind Long's Drugstore from 5-8PM had some cooked food which was just ok. Best place to buy grocery are Foodland and Saveway. (Foodland looks a bit newer.) They both are a fair distance from the B&B but if you are not the whiny type then walking is doable.

There is parking for you at the B&B if you rent a car. A drive right into downtown Honolulu (Chinatown nearby) is approx 30-40 mins. Food is good and cheap and the portion is generous at the plate lunch wagon in Honolulu. Be adventurous. You are in Hawaii, so try some local foods. Maunakea marketplace at Chinatown has tons of different kinds of ethnic food. Don't be afraid to try them. My opinion, they sell the best food with the best value.

We felt very secure at Kailua. I get a feeling that well-to-do people come to live here to enjoy life and they prefer Kailua to stay prestine, clean, and no street trouble. Just like the way any of us want. You work hard so that you can live in a nice community and hope it stay that way. If I come back to O'ahu again, I will always visit Kailua. Perhaps I might also check out Kaneohe and Lanikai. Windward O'ahu is the best kept secret on the island.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gainandglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2007

For those who've never been to Oahu or who've only ever stayed in the stale, touristy picture postcard that is modern day Waikiki, a stay at the Sheffield House affords travelers the experience of living as a local in paradise. Situated on my favorite side of the island, the Sheffield House is nestled in a lush, quiet nook off the main road. The friendly family leaves you in peace and the feeling is instantly more like you're old neighbors than temporary guests. Walk to the beach or drive your rental car. Gas, groceries, coin laundry, shops, and dining is a short drive up the road into the main section of Kailua town. The idyllic beach town of Lanikai, oft voted the most beautiful beach in all of Hawaii, beckons and it but a five minute drive away. Residential Hawaii, at its best. This is the experience you've been dreaming of. Leave Waikiki for the unadventurous and ignorant hordes while you enjoy the pleasures and lifestyle of the locals. Aloha!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank risamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank namumaschm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
736 reviews
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheffield House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheffield House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 131 Kuulei Rd, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-2719
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua
Price Range: $139 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawaii Sheffield House: in Kailua, Oahu, Honolulu. Walk to sandy Kailua Beach or Kailua Town. Off street parking, private entrance, private baths outdoor shower, complementary FIRST morning breakfast of pastry , juice, coffee, tea provided in your room. Two units: Garden Suite available 2/5-7, 2/24-3/4, 3/7-4/16,4/21-26,5/3-11, 5/18 on more in 2018. With kitchenette and outdoor garden. And Ginger Studio available : 1/28-2/1, 2/24-3/9, 3/16-4/18, 4/27-5/26, 5/29 on 2018 The Ginger Studio breakfast bar microwave, toaster and refrig. secret garden. Rented together sleeps 5 people. Queen beds with Hawaiian quilts. Free high speed WiFi. AC. Towels, paper towels and beach towels . Irons and hairdryers . Both units are non-smoking units. cable TV phone . Licensed by City and County of Honolulu and State of HI. Providing hospitality in Kailua for over 30 years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sheffield House Bed & Breakfast Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing