We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay here - wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sheffield House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 13 Kailua B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed in the Ginger Room (there are two separate rental accommodations at Sheffield House) back in 2005 and returned again Christmas 2012. The Sheffields have just remodeled this studio rental and it's even nicer than before. As other reviewers note, it's not a traditional bed & breakfast. They leave juice, coffee makings, fruit, cereal and pastries, enough for your first day or two, then you are on your own for meals after that. The owners are available, if you want to make inquiries about the area, but they don't intrude otherwise. They also provide plenty of local info in the room. Great place for self-service, independent travelers (which we are). The bed is very comfortable, there's a porch and a small garden patio with umbrella table to relax in. We love the large walk-in shower (room for two!). It's a short walk to a fantastic beach - which we visited daily for sunrises, swims, and long romantic walks. Only downside is a bit of traffic along the main road - but the room is set back behind a wall and much foliage, and this muffles the sounds. A slightly longer walk to Kailua's business area, with access to a Whole Foods, many good restaurants, shopping, library, park, and so on. This is not a place for those looking for a resort-type experience and it's far from Waikiki, but heavenly for those who like a more authentic, low-key local Hawaiian experience. Good access to the rest of the Windward Coast and North Shore. We love it and will be back again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovesExploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuuleiRoad, Owner at Sheffield House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 40 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

I am so happy we chose to stay at the Sheffield House. The Garden Suite is private and relaxing. The accommodations are exactly as pictured on their website. Great shower! It's much more relaxing to return here each day than the high-end resort we stayed in on the other side of the island. The owners were responsive to any questions we had. I like the fact that they afforded us our privacy. It's a short walk to beautiful Kailua Beach. Lots of neat places to shop and great restaurants in town. Locals are friendly. If you want a high-end, pristine but sterile hotel room, stay in Waikiki. If you want to get a true feel for living in Hawaii, stay at the Sheffield House.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vetmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I recently had the privilege to stay at Sheffield House in Kailua, Oahu. From the first minute we walked in, I knew I was going to love it there. You enter through the garden gate into your own little walled-garden escape. Each unit feels very secluded from the other (it's a 2-unit place). I didn't even notice the other guests who were staying in the other unit!

It's a very short walk to beautiful Kailua Beach, and a short drive to Lanikai Beach, which is rated one of the top beaches in the world. Very close to the Kalapawai Market, for a quick cup of coffee and the best breakfast burrito I've ever had! Sheffield House had beach chairs, mats, and body boards available for guest use, which was very nice.

The rooms are very nicely kept, and the features are nice too (microwave, coffee maker, toaster oven, little fridge). In the ginger room, the bathroom facilities are handicapped accessible.

The proprietors have lived at this house for 20 years, and therefore have a wonderful knowledge of area activities and features if you need guidance. They are very friendly people, but will also give you whatever amount of space you want on your trip.

If you're looking for relaxation on Oahu, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyTravels79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Cottage style accomodation. NO intrusion by owners. This place is not B&B in my opinion... its a step above as both rooms they offer have private entrances off the drive and are each somewhat secluded and private. Covered in greenery it provides a kool refuge from the sun and heat. I had a GREAT stay here. (may not leave :)) If you seek Rachael out she's great at conversation, but if you want to just want to have a quiet vacation, this is a great base for visiting Kailua/Oahu and not be on the tourist trail.... Quiet, clean and private accomodation. Very near great beaches.

In all, very good value.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 63vino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

An excellent, relaxing hideaway with great access to one of the finest beaches on Oahu (beach tatami mats, beach chairs, and boogie boards available on our front porch). Not for anyone wanting a "tourist" experience. Our hosts were available upon call, but not obtrusive. It seemed like we were in our own private residence. Note: Breakfast is for the first morning only, but the guest room has a microwave, toaster, coffee maker, a small fridge, utensils/dishes, and coffee. We enjoyed making our own breakfast and lingering over it, looking at the beautiful garden and being visited by the familiy cocker spaniel. We are former locals who really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kanery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We stayed at the Sheffield house this past week, and loved it. I was a bit worried at first, because we didn't hear much from the owners, but I think that was intentional. They respect your privacy (almost to their own fault). The room was the Garden Suite, which was a beautiful quaint little cottage with a front Lanai, a futon in a guest area, a dining area, a kitchenette, a bedroom with a generous closet, and a bathroom with a huge shower that opened up to it's own porch. The first night we got a nice bowl of fruit and a Hawaiian cinnamon bread, but you should expect to be on your own for breakfast after that. Not a big deal, since so many breakfast places in Kailua are so good. Contrary to some reviews, the place is not crawling with roaches, but we did see and kill one small one during our stay. The geckos take care of that problem, primarily. You can hear them chirping outside your windows in the early morning. If you want a taste of living a real life in Hawaii, then stay at the Sheffield house. If you want to be pretend, then buy a ticket to Disney or stay on Waikiki at the Hilton resort. It is very sterile there. The walk to the beach from the Sheffield house is actually shorter than the walk to the beach from the Hilton at Waikiki. Seriously. We checked it out. And Kailua beach is so much nicer than Waikiki. If you are person who likes resort-created artificial life, then please, don't bother the Sheffield family, but if you like a really nice taste of a great neighborhood in Hawaii's friendliest town, then give these people a try. My wife and I loved it, and plan to bring the kids back to stay in the adjoining room soon.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghostflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

This review is about the Garden Suite at Sheffield House:
Have you ever been to Kailua beach? If so, you know why any apartment that's close by need not be 100 per cent perfect to still be worth staying there.
Taken by itself, Sheffield House is not a dream vacation spot. It's cons: It's dark. That's due to the lush, but small garden right outside. Also, in the Garden Suite, you almost have a front row seat to the main street leading down to the ocean. There are trucks driving by as early as 5 a.m. The garden also is home to a multitude of little critters. In five days we killed four cockroaches in the bedroom. But, come on: you're in the tropics! That's part of the deal.
Here are the pros: there's a good kitchen. Owners Rachel and Paul leave a lot of the stuff the previous guests bought in the closets. When we were there, there was enough stuff to last for two days without shopping. Also, there was a fresh sponge and dishwashing liquid. Linens and towels were clean. There was a basket with a minimum of breakfast items (Kailua has a no breakfast policy for accomodations). You can sit outside in the shade on some nice metal chairs. Rachel was really making an effort to accomodate our child (1 yr. old), too. There was a free baby crib and she got out some beach stuff for kids from her giant garage. The best thing about Sheffield House, though, is its proximity to the beach. It's about a five minute walk along main street and through a side street and you're right there on one of the world's most gorgeous beaches. We spent seven weeks on four Hawaiian island, and there was no beach that could match Kailua's beauty. Incredible sunrises, great white sand, and some small island offshore that make it an awesome scenery. To make it a special morning, drop by Kalapawai Market (take a right on Kalaheo road) for a coffee and some great sandwiches, walk to the beach and ... enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Zeitungsfuzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua
9.9 mi away
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
738 reviews
10.2 mi away
Prince Waikiki
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
431 reviews
1.5 mi away
Manu Mele Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
1.8 mi away
Paradise Palms Bed and Breakfast
27.1 mi away
Turtle Bay Resort
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheffield House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheffield House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 131 Kuulei Rd, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-2719
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua
Price Range: $139 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawaii Sheffield House: in Kailua, Oahu, Honolulu. Walk to sandy Kailua Beach or Kailua Town. Off street parking, private entrance, private baths outdoor shower, complementary FIRST morning breakfast of pastry , juice, coffee, tea provided in your room. Two units: Garden Suite available 2/5-7, 2/24-3/4, 3/7-4/16,4/21-26,5/3-11, 5/18 on more in 2018. With kitchenette and outdoor garden. And Ginger Studio available : 1/28-2/1, 2/24-3/9, 3/16-4/18, 4/27-5/26, 5/29 on 2018 The Ginger Studio breakfast bar microwave, toaster and refrig. secret garden. Rented together sleeps 5 people. Queen beds with Hawaiian quilts. Free high speed WiFi. AC. Towels, paper towels and beach towels . Irons and hairdryers . Both units are non-smoking units. cable TV phone . Licensed by City and County of Honolulu and State of HI. Providing hospitality in Kailua for over 30 years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sheffield House Bed & Breakfast Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing