We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A beautiful garden getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheffield House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sheffield House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 13 Kailua B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“A beautiful garden getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

I recently had the privilege to stay at Sheffield House in Kailua, Oahu. From the first minute we walked in, I knew I was going to love it there. You enter through the garden gate into your own little walled-garden escape. Each unit feels very secluded from the other (it's a 2-unit place). I didn't even notice the other guests who were staying in the other unit!

It's a very short walk to beautiful Kailua Beach, and a short drive to Lanikai Beach, which is rated one of the top beaches in the world. Very close to the Kalapawai Market, for a quick cup of coffee and the best breakfast burrito I've ever had! Sheffield House had beach chairs, mats, and body boards available for guest use, which was very nice.

The rooms are very nicely kept, and the features are nice too (microwave, coffee maker, toaster oven, little fridge). In the ginger room, the bathroom facilities are handicapped accessible.

The proprietors have lived at this house for 20 years, and therefore have a wonderful knowledge of area activities and features if you need guidance. They are very friendly people, but will also give you whatever amount of space you want on your trip.

If you're looking for relaxation on Oahu, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyTravels79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

Cottage style accomodation. NO intrusion by owners. This place is not B&B in my opinion... its a step above as both rooms they offer have private entrances off the drive and are each somewhat secluded and private. Covered in greenery it provides a kool refuge from the sun and heat. I had a GREAT stay here. (may not leave :)) If you seek Rachael out she's great at conversation, but if you want to just want to have a quiet vacation, this is a great base for visiting Kailua/Oahu and not be on the tourist trail.... Quiet, clean and private accomodation. Very near great beaches.

In all, very good value.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 63vino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

An excellent, relaxing hideaway with great access to one of the finest beaches on Oahu (beach tatami mats, beach chairs, and boogie boards available on our front porch). Not for anyone wanting a "tourist" experience. Our hosts were available upon call, but not obtrusive. It seemed like we were in our own private residence. Note: Breakfast is for the first morning only, but the guest room has a microwave, toaster, coffee maker, a small fridge, utensils/dishes, and coffee. We enjoyed making our own breakfast and lingering over it, looking at the beautiful garden and being visited by the familiy cocker spaniel. We are former locals who really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

We stayed at the Sheffield house this past week, and loved it. I was a bit worried at first, because we didn't hear much from the owners, but I think that was intentional. They respect your privacy (almost to their own fault). The room was the Garden Suite, which was a beautiful quaint little cottage with a front Lanai, a futon in a guest area, a dining area, a kitchenette, a bedroom with a generous closet, and a bathroom with a huge shower that opened up to it's own porch. The first night we got a nice bowl of fruit and a Hawaiian cinnamon bread, but you should expect to be on your own for breakfast after that. Not a big deal, since so many breakfast places in Kailua are so good. Contrary to some reviews, the place is not crawling with roaches, but we did see and kill one small one during our stay. The geckos take care of that problem, primarily. You can hear them chirping outside your windows in the early morning. If you want a taste of living a real life in Hawaii, then stay at the Sheffield house. If you want to be pretend, then buy a ticket to Disney or stay on Waikiki at the Hilton resort. It is very sterile there. The walk to the beach from the Sheffield house is actually shorter than the walk to the beach from the Hilton at Waikiki. Seriously. We checked it out. And Kailua beach is so much nicer than Waikiki. If you are person who likes resort-created artificial life, then please, don't bother the Sheffield family, but if you like a really nice taste of a great neighborhood in Hawaii's friendliest town, then give these people a try. My wife and I loved it, and plan to bring the kids back to stay in the adjoining room soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghostflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

This review is about the Garden Suite at Sheffield House:
Have you ever been to Kailua beach? If so, you know why any apartment that's close by need not be 100 per cent perfect to still be worth staying there.
Taken by itself, Sheffield House is not a dream vacation spot. It's cons: It's dark. That's due to the lush, but small garden right outside. Also, in the Garden Suite, you almost have a front row seat to the main street leading down to the ocean. There are trucks driving by as early as 5 a.m. The garden also is home to a multitude of little critters. In five days we killed four cockroaches in the bedroom. But, come on: you're in the tropics! That's part of the deal.
Here are the pros: there's a good kitchen. Owners Rachel and Paul leave a lot of the stuff the previous guests bought in the closets. When we were there, there was enough stuff to last for two days without shopping. Also, there was a fresh sponge and dishwashing liquid. Linens and towels were clean. There was a basket with a minimum of breakfast items (Kailua has a no breakfast policy for accomodations). You can sit outside in the shade on some nice metal chairs. Rachel was really making an effort to accomodate our child (1 yr. old), too. There was a free baby crib and she got out some beach stuff for kids from her giant garage. The best thing about Sheffield House, though, is its proximity to the beach. It's about a five minute walk along main street and through a side street and you're right there on one of the world's most gorgeous beaches. We spent seven weeks on four Hawaiian island, and there was no beach that could match Kailua's beauty. Incredible sunrises, great white sand, and some small island offshore that make it an awesome scenery. To make it a special morning, drop by Kalapawai Market (take a right on Kalaheo road) for a coffee and some great sandwiches, walk to the beach and ... enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Zeitungsfuzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

Well, first of all: Did I expect some "Aloha" feeling there ? Certainly not. Has the host (Rachel) been unfrindly? For sure not. But what I could expect is a warm welcome after a long trip (especially to my 8 year old daughter to give her a feeling of warm welcome, no koochy koo but a smile will do), some guidance to the house and more than 4 minutes about the where and how to go to, preferably when you are settled after the first beach walk or whatever.Though, after we had our 4minutes she has not be seen anymore unless we have asked or called house2house and when we got prompt and clear guidance. The location is nearly perfect (3 mins walking to one of the best beaches on Ohau) and close to the city of Kailua. Secondly, the traffic from the street is heavy for an easy sleeper as I am but has not been a problem for my daughter.
All in all it was OK, I believe other places are better to stay in Kailau. You will get B&B´s (as Sheffield house does not serve Breakfest and is not listed under B&B) for little more with a better "feeling"- like we had when we flew to Hilo and stayed in the Orchid tree B&B where we had the feeling to be more than a living ATM.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iging64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuuleiRoad, Owner at Sheffield House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 26, 2010
Sheffield House website covers transportation issues. I also give transportation advice when asked.

Our check-in and check- out times are clearly stated on the website and in the correspondence, and are necessary to be able to clean and maintain the room. We can't provide a locked space for luggage when it is not yet cleaned. We do offer an out of sight place for luggage.

As a courtesy to our guests we offer an early check in or check out for a rate of 50% of room rate. Usually, this means that the room is un-rentable for the day preceding checkin or after checkout
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

Staying here gave us a real feel of the way Hawaii is to those lucky people who get to live here all the time. This B&B is perfect for experiencing the wonders of nature, the geckos, warm sunshine, breeze in the palm trees......Sure there is traffic nearby but so is the beach, shops and everyday Hawaiian life. Our hosts were courteous and non intrusive. We knew they were there if we needed them but we wanted the privacy so as long as the rooms were ok we were happy. Everything is set up well, lots of towels and a full workable kitchen. We booked both rooms and it was very convenient. We loved the garden. Give this B&B a try, I am sure that there will be no disappointments.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GDayMateAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheffield House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheffield House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sheffield House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 131 Kuulei Rd, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-2719
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawaii Sheffield House is located in Kailua on the island of Oahu across the mountain from the city of Honolulu. Walk to sandy Kailua Beach or Kailua Oahu Town. Kaapuni Loop is the nearest beach access. June- September the white shower tree is flowering. Off street ground level parking, private entrance, private baths are provided, as well as outdoor shower for after the beach. Complementary FIRST morning breakfast of muffins, juice, coffee, tea provided in your room. After that there are many Kailua Restaurants for you to enjoy. Two units: Garden Suite available 9/18-20, 10/3-9, 10/15-18, 11/8-23, 11/29-12/8, 12/19-22 With kitchenette and outdoor garden area ($159-$184+ tax and cleaning fee). And Ginger Studio is available from: 8/22-29, 9/3-5, 9/29-10/3, 10/15-26, 10/28-30, 11/13-17, 11/30-12/10, 12/15-24, 2016. More dates are available in 2017. The Ginger Studio has a breakfast bar with microwave, toaster oven and under counter refrigerator. It has its own outdoor sitting area and secret garden ($139-$159 + tax and cleaning fee). Both units are ground floor units. They can be rented together and sleep 5 people. Decorated with tropical colors, rattan, and queen size beds with Hawaiian quilts. Renovated in 2012. Free high speed WiFi. Enjoy the slow tempo of the Windward side of Oahu. Think hiking, snorkeling, kite surfing, body surfing, boogie boards, kayaks, bicycling, beach chairs. Swimming pool and tennis courts are 13 houses down the street from us toward Kailua Town. Chen Store across the street from the library provides computer services. Even though the trade winds keep things cool both units have quiet split system AC. Towels, paper towels and beach towels are provided. Irons and hairdryers are provided. Both units are non-smoking units. Both units have cable TV. There is a shared phone line provided for local phone calls. Yes, we have an eleven year old cocker spaniel who no longer hears very well. : ( Our rental policy is first come first served based on receipt of deposit. Fully licensed with City and County of Honolulu and State of Hawaii. Please phone or email for license numbers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sheffield House Bed & Breakfast Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing