We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special and pricey”

Noboru Japanese Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Noboru Japanese Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 144 Restaurants in Kailua
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing special and pricey”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Small place in good location. Sushi was very overpriced and of average quality. Spider roll was poorly done. The Udon Tempura was good. Service was mediocre. Local person went there with said that was their second bad experience with this restaurant and they are not going back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spodic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Japanese in Kailua!”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Great sashimi! Great prices! Great Saki! Loved the spicy tuna roll--one of the best ever. At least 9 choices for Japanese beer, including micro-brews I have never seen in the States.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yum! Like Shabu Shabu, but seafood”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

So I wanted to go with the Shabu Shabu, but they had a problem with the meat slicer for some reason. Instead they suggested the Chanko Nabe Seafood and what a great alternative. There was crab, salmon, butter fish, traditional vegetables, chicken, some kobe beef, and a few other delicious morsels. I LOVED IT.

My wife and I were the only non Japanese patrons in the restaurant... which I took as a pretty good sign that the food was good. The service was friendly and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. The only thing I didn't like was that I could have used a bigger table. The butane burner used to cook the bowl of food was large and made it a little hard not to spill everywhere. Although I would not let that deter me from returning; I would for sure go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank super_e916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Loved it when me and the fam went. Had a pleasent meal and some good drinks.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We ordered two combos which included miso soup,salad and rice. The Butterfish was very good. The grilled Saba and unagi was also delicious. By far the best meal we had in Kailua. A little pricey, but you will not regret it. They were very busy and they politely informed us that there was a 15 minute wait. Even with the crowd, service was friendly and they apologized for us having to wait, which I felt was not unreasonably long. The place is small so get there early.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pebroruf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noboru Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Noboru Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing