We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveler rating
6
1
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
1
1
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 9 of 9 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2008

First of all, we LOVED Kailua. Kailua has the best beaches and loads of friendly folks. It's also a nice in-between between urban Honolulu and crowded Waikiki and more local, suburban, rural places up the East and North Shore. Marty and Gail's attached apartment was very comfortable and equipped with everything we didnt even know we needed! Loads of beach stuff (mats, chairs, boogie boards, cooler, etc), everything you'd need in the kitchen to make most meals (even a salad spinner!), comfy bed, ambient lighting, indoor and outdoor shower (by pool), and clean bathroom. They have really set up the room lovingly with many details you wouldn't expect in a rental this size. The pool is truly beautiful - lined with cobalt blue tiles and surrounded by palms and plants; it's long enough to do some laps if you like! The only complaint we had was it does get downright steamy during the day inside the unit - there's no way to comfortably stay indoors in the afternoon without the A/C on as there are only two small windows (one in bathroom) and the front door to allow ventination. Even with A/C on, it doesn't get much cooler than 75 during the day. At night, the A/C can get as chilly as you could possibly want. Since we were out most of the afternoons enjoying the island, this didnt affect us much or change our positive opinion of our stay. We could walk to beautiful Kailua beach in less than five minutes, and almost everyone greets you as they pass! Such a lovely spot - we loved it, and two ducks was a great home base and convenient location.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank fatnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

We stayed at the Two Duck Inn for 3 nights after having been in Maui for 11 nights. It is a studio attached to a main house, accessible via a side entrance. It has a queen bed, ktichenette and bathroom with a very small outside seating area. There are aspects that we enjoyed about the studio but some things we did not enjoy.

it is conveniently located to the beaches of Kalama (nearest), Kailua Beach Park and Lanikai, is near supermarkets/banks and other amenities. The studio is of a good size but there is not much ventillation since the big window cannot be opened and a large patio door also cannot be opened (since it opens onto the backyard and it intrudes into the owner's privacy). There is air conditioning and a ceiling fan however.

The studio is well stocked with all items and that was really great. It does have a cosy feel. We also felt that we had alot of privacy to come and go as we please.

We knew that the pool can only be used from 09:30am to 5:30pm, we did not want to use the pool at all since there are lovely beaches nearby but it would have been nice to be able to take early morning coffee or have a glass of wine in the backyard late in the day. The outdoor area allocated to the studio is very small and not attractive to sit, plus the outdoor furniture was not that clean. So we missed the outdoor aspect of the accomodation which is important in hot climates.

The bathroom was not very big but was well stocked with towels, but it had alot of black around the shower. This was the only thing that I really disliked about the studio and I do understand in hot climates mold/mildew builds up very fast but really there is no excuse not to replace bathroom and kitchen sealants in a place where people are paying to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank fru_sorteravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2007

Booked via VRBO, a small Annex to the main house in Kailua Oahu, Was everything we needed, Comfortable bed (Ralph Lauren bedding) small kitchinette with Microwave, hotplate, rice cooker, full refrigerator, Outside barbecue.. Etc etc, Gail and Marty Very friendly but not intrusive, Allowed pretty much to get on with what we wanted to do, Use of the backyard and pool all very beautiful from 9.30 - 5.30 (Then reserved for owners use) though after a few days Marty told us we where welcome to use anytime after 5.30pm explaining they sometimes get partiers...

One small gripe... Being from England we tend to drink Tea (Hot with Milk) and there was only a coffee maker no kettle..

Kailua is a sleepy town and most places close at 10pm with the exception of a few bars in town, So if your looking for the Waikiki party scene then Kailua is not for you.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Brashy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews