We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Dining”

Kalapawai Cafe & Deli
Ranked #1 of 145 Restaurants in Kailua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Saratoga, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Dining”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My wife and I ate dinner on two evenings while staying in Kailua. Both dinners were enjoyable by the great service and good food. The fish soup dish that I had was like a fisherman's stew without tomato sauce and it was terrific in taste. The fish ingredients were cooked perfectly and flavorful in their own right with the seasoning of the stew subdued but adding a nice herb taste. My wife''s fish entree was also outstandingly prepared. The next experience was not as good as the sausage-based entree that I ordered was distasteful to me and had it taken away. A replacement dish was offered with no charge for the original order. I ordered another margarita pizza that I was eating from my wife's plate as it was tasty. This incident was handled very pleasantly and I commend the management and service staff for treating me as a valued customer and not as a tourist who is unlikely to return to the area again and , therefore, not in their interest to please.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmk41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    151
    28
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing staff”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

This is simply a great place to eat and get coffee. My husband couldnt wait to have an iced americano. Staff went out of their way to be sure i could eat there with a nut allergy. Sandwiches are worth the trip across the Pali. They are big enough to split with another person. Variety is incredible when ordering. Loved the bean sprouts on sandwich. Breakfast burrito with pulled kalua pig is my favorite. My daughter loved waffles. Doont even think twice.. eat here!

Helpful?
Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the title of cafe & deli”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

This place is top notch. Food and service was great. Staff is super friendly. Food was amazing every time we went here. Possibly our new favorite restaurant on the island.

Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great deli and a must stop in Kailua”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We come here frequently when we are in Kailua whether to buy coffee or sandwiches for picnics at the beach. Both the food and the coffee are excellent and decently priced. Staff is very friendly despite the fact that the store can be very busy. There are a couple of tables inside to eat at plus a few outside too. Parking can be a bit difficult and it is sometimes hard to get out on Kalaheo Rd but if you're in Kailua looking for lunch or a snack, Kalapawai is the place to go!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiNut02760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, NV
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“The best in Kailua”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

When ever we visit Kailua it's a must to eat here. The restaurant is small and can be very busy but worth the wait. The gnocchi is fabulous. And last night a special was paella, terrific. We find the waitstaff to be friendly and efficient, the prices good for Hawaii, and are never disappointed!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tbasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalapawai Cafe & Deli also viewed

 

Been to Kalapawai Cafe & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing