We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SECOND STAY AND BETTER THAN THE FIRST”

Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway
Ranked #13 of 13 Kailua B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 28, 2011

This B&B is located 5 minutes from the best beach in Oahu the sand is as soft as a silk carpet. It is tucked away on the windward side of the island and shows Hawaii as you would expect, high ridged mountains covered in jungle. When I arrived the fridge was full of food and fruit and drinks and the unit was clean and comfortable.
This was my second stay at the Hideaway and the only reason I went back was because I enjoyed the place so much the first time.
I will be going there again on my next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank moira384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 65 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2010

Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway is a secluded, romantic, little gem that truly is a piece of Paradise. The 3 units each have private entrances, baths and kitchenettes with decks galore...one even has a hot tub to soak and gaze at the stars. Only a 5 minute walk away are gorgeous white sand beaches, aquamarine waters and offshore islands framed by swaying palm trees. Fall asleep to the relaxing sound of waves coming ashore in the distance. The town of Kailua nearby has fine dining, art and antiques. Your hostess, Janice, is a breath of fresh air who knows the history and attractions of Oahu in detail and you feel as if you're staying with an old friend. We stayed here prior to an inter-island cruise to Maui, Kauai and the Big Island. I'd give the cruise a C+/B- but Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway gets an A+...it was so relaxing and enjoyable that next time we're spending the whole week here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliforniaSteve47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

When my friend and I arrived at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway late at night after our car had broken down, we were delighted to find a warm, inviting place with everything we could possibly want. Janice has anticipated one's every need and want, providing us with thoughtful items such as robes, umbrellas, food, beach mats, you name it. Especially noticed was the attention to detail such as crown molding and lace edged dust ruffles. We stayed a week and loved every moment. It was private, quiet ~ except for birds ~ and a short walk to the beach. I would love to come back one day.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettyismoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

DO NOT READ THE REVIEWS ON THE FIRST PAGE ONLY!!
i believe that we made the same mistake as others who stayed in that hole in the wall, which is to only read the REVIEWS ON THE FIRST PAGE, which are all totally positive. why? because they are manipulated. you visit the other pages and you will see for yourself that things arent as rosy as they look in the first page, when it comes to that B & B.

we arrived late in the day, like around 8pm and signs lead us to our studio. $165/night. this is not the one with the indoor jacuzzi.

well, well, well... we were exhausted after a 9-hour trip, car renting and some visit around the city before driving there. And guess what? with 88 degrees F, there was a cheap fan on the ceiling, and a dusty, dirty extra one in the closet. we couldnt believe it. NO A/C! in Hawaii, that's like saying NO POWER. i call that hostess and she says that there is no ac anywhere ih this building. she had requested a minimum stay of 3 nights even though we wanted to stay 2 nights, but i told her we were leaving the next day in the morning, no matter what, since there was no Ac and we didnt know about it.

and then....during the night...after adjusting the fans and taking much needed showers in an OOOOOOOOLD bathroom with oooooold tiles and smelly faucet/sink, we notice that we had absolutely no privacy in there, as ANYONE could see us from outside. INCREDIBLE!!!! we spent an hour HANGING the cheap kimonos on the door and the window (the cheap curtains didnt cover all of the window), then stacking our suitcases one over the other, to feel safe during our sleep. i mean WHO wants to be seen from outside, and maybe exposed to a potential danger, in a totally new location???

there were a few muffins and a few drinks in the fridge, some fruits, nothing fab of course, given the fact that the motto of this place is HIGH PRICES, CHEAP SERVICE.

we hardly slept at night, and got ready to leave the place at 10a.m. the hostess, Janice, wouldnt pick up the phone so we could pay her, until like 4 hours later. we had to return to pay. And what do we find? $165/night + $55 one time cleaning fee (AND SHE IS THE ONE WHO DOES THE BAD CLEANING) + $45 cancellation fee.

she was unfriendly, aggressive, defensive, upset. She is an old, messy looking and extremely unsociable woman. i was still friendly with her, despite the fact that i was upset with the 2 unpleasant surprises (Ac and privacy), and she was ok with us leaving. but when we met her in person to pay her, she was incredibly aggressive. she had the NERVE to say that "EVERYWHERE ONLINE i say that i have fans and extra fans in my unit", as a response to my complaint that there was no A/c. i told her that saying that she has fans does not mean she has A/cs and does not mean that she has NO A/c. So that was pretty tricky, and thus frankly, DISHONEST. She is PURPOSELY misleading her hosts because MOST of them have complained about the heat, and she STILL does NOT mention that she has no Ac. Furthermore, she is a LIAR because she said that all B & Bs have no a/c, which is totally wrong because we found another one that is newer, cleaner, with a PRIVATE POOL, 2 rooms, A/c, breakfast, WIRELESS INTERNET, at $109.99!!!!!!!!!! AND NO CLEANING FEE.

i told her i would NOT pay the $45 cancellation fee because she was supposed to be honest and inform us about that.

Oh! did i mention that the LIQUID HAND SOAP IS SO DAMN OLD that it smells like mildew!!?? YUKKK and then the Peroxide Oitment expired in 2007 so i couldnt heal my husband's wound!!!!!!

did i mention she only takes CASH!???

did i mention the room has a 1950s look and smell to it??? old grandma style carpets and NO place to put your stuff?

did i mention that it is NOT CLOSER TO LANIKAI BEACH THAN OTHER B & Bs? it is only close to the bad part of Lanikai beach, where you can't lay a towel on the sand because the water hits the stone walls!!!

i was EXTREMELY upset mainly by her demeanor and aggressiveness. Did this thief really think she could rip people off and expect them to go with it and pay her for disastrous service!????? yeah right.

never again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank NeverFarEnough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Perfect in Paradise
 
We were thrilled when we found this wonderful B&B.  Starting with the welcome package that had lots of helpful information, including perfect directions from the airport, which helped as we arrived late in the evening.  The lights were on and everything was waiting to greet us.  We enjoyed sleeping in and when we got up the next morning, we had our breakfast out on our lanai with the birds singing.
 
The room had EVERYTHING that we needed and extra items (scissors, scotch tape, CD player, kimono’s )  that you don’t find in a hotel room.  We even ground our own free coffee from the fresh kona coffee beans, provided.  We found the unit very clean and the bed was very comfortable, and the surrounding gardens were beautiful. The B&B furnished everything for the beach, chairs, mats, extra beach towels. We appreciated that there was no charge for these items, like at the hotels.
 
The location was perfect.  We walked down, every morning, to the beach to see the sun rise over the ocean. Plus the Lanikai beach was great to swim at.  The town of Kailua had so many  different restaurants’ we did not have enough nights there to eat at all the places we wanted to go to.  We also had a book in our unit that had suggestions for the local restaurants, and menus so we could easily make a choice on where we wanted dine ahead of time.  We highly suggest Baci Bistro for a great meal and great service.
 
We wished we had stayed here long, as this was our favorite place that we stayed thruouh out the islands.  We would come back here anytime and highly recommend this to anyone who wants a perfect experience in staying in Hawaii.  
 
 
 

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We have traveled throughtout the world, and this is one of the best places we have ever stayed in. We have just returned from thise beautiful place. Not only is it in the perfect location, next to one of the most beautiful beaches, but the B&B had everything we needed! Plus, there were no extra charges for parking, internet, or any of the beach chairs and the room is filled with all kinds of snacks that you normally pay for at other establishments. The unit was also very clean and included a wonderful outdoor deck, surrounded by all the lush tropical gardens, that we had our coffee on each morning, while we listened to the birds singing. And don't forget to check out the turtle (design) on the stone floor in your bathroom if you are lucky enouigh to stay in that unit.

The town of Kailua had great restraurants and the information book in the unit had all the restauraunts listed with many of the menus so we could easily decide where we wanted to eat. Plus, our hosts had some wonderful recommendations for us. Those little touches is what makes this place so special and will defiantly keep us comming back.

One of the most memoriale moments for us was the hike behind the B&B that took us to the top of the ridge and overlooked half the island! It was just spectacular and if we had not stayed there we wouldn't have have known about it. We are already planning on comming back where we truely felt at home and was able to relax from all our hectic stresses. We defiantly recommend this to everyone You can't go wrong here! (:

-Shelbi

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelbilynn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

A terrific place. It became our home away from home, with all the extras you need to have a great vacation. The windward breeze, local birds singing and walking distance to Lanikai Beach. We experienced the real Hawaii and the true Aloha Spirit. A dream vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank circledrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua
26.5 mi away
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
22.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Oahu North Shore
10.6 mi away
Prince Waikiki
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oahu/Kapolei
9.4 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
3.4 mi away
Paradise Palms Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway

Address: 1369 Mokolea Dr, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-3240
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to be our guest in this award winning, licensed bed & breakfast. Considered one of the best vacation spots on the island and recipient of the Most Romantic Hideaway Award, Hawaii’s Hidden Hideaway B&B is second to none. We are ideal for honeymooners, special occasions, a family or those on business. With a unique style of accommodation and three gorgeous private units - including one suite and two studios, all of our guests enjoy private baths, kitchenettes, and lanais (beautiful patios) and gorgeous garden views. We are always open to offering suggestions for day trips and hikes and your stay always includes parking and wifi free of charge. We want you to relax and enjoy the island as much as we do. Only a short walk to the world famous Lanikai and Kailua Beaches, with pristine turquoise waters and fine white sand. Watch the sunrise from your private lanai, listen to the ocean on a quiet night or walk on the beach and watch the moonrise between the islands. This distinctive spot on the Windward side of Oahu is only a 30-minute drive from Waikiki, Honolulu or from the airport. Five minutes away, in the quaint town of Kailua, are some of the top restaurants on the island, antique shops, and rentals for kayaks and windsurfing. Don't forget to check out one of the best hikes on the island right behind the B&B. Plan your stay with us today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawaii`s Hidden Hideaway Hotel Kailua
Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway Kailua, Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing