We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Paradise   We were thrilled...”

Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway
Ranked #13 of 13 Kailua B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Perfect in Paradise
 
We were thrilled when we found this wonderful B&B.  Starting with the welcome package that had lots of helpful information, including perfect directions from the airport, which helped as we arrived late in the evening.  The lights were on and everything was waiting to greet us.  We enjoyed sleeping in and when we got up the next morning, we had our breakfast out on our lanai with the birds singing.
 
The room had EVERYTHING that we needed and extra items (scissors, scotch tape, CD player, kimono’s )  that you don’t find in a hotel room.  We even ground our own free coffee from the fresh kona coffee beans, provided.  We found the unit very clean and the bed was very comfortable, and the surrounding gardens were beautiful. The B&B furnished everything for the beach, chairs, mats, extra beach towels. We appreciated that there was no charge for these items, like at the hotels.
 
The location was perfect.  We walked down, every morning, to the beach to see the sun rise over the ocean. Plus the Lanikai beach was great to swim at.  The town of Kailua had so many  different restaurants’ we did not have enough nights there to eat at all the places we wanted to go to.  We also had a book in our unit that had suggestions for the local restaurants, and menus so we could easily make a choice on where we wanted dine ahead of time.  We highly suggest Baci Bistro for a great meal and great service.
 
We wished we had stayed here long, as this was our favorite place that we stayed thruouh out the islands.  We would come back here anytime and highly recommend this to anyone who wants a perfect experience in staying in Hawaii.  
 
 
 

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 65 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2010

We have traveled throughtout the world, and this is one of the best places we have ever stayed in. We have just returned from thise beautiful place. Not only is it in the perfect location, next to one of the most beautiful beaches, but the B&B had everything we needed! Plus, there were no extra charges for parking, internet, or any of the beach chairs and the room is filled with all kinds of snacks that you normally pay for at other establishments. The unit was also very clean and included a wonderful outdoor deck, surrounded by all the lush tropical gardens, that we had our coffee on each morning, while we listened to the birds singing. And don't forget to check out the turtle (design) on the stone floor in your bathroom if you are lucky enouigh to stay in that unit.

The town of Kailua had great restraurants and the information book in the unit had all the restauraunts listed with many of the menus so we could easily decide where we wanted to eat. Plus, our hosts had some wonderful recommendations for us. Those little touches is what makes this place so special and will defiantly keep us comming back.

One of the most memoriale moments for us was the hike behind the B&B that took us to the top of the ridge and overlooked half the island! It was just spectacular and if we had not stayed there we wouldn't have have known about it. We are already planning on comming back where we truely felt at home and was able to relax from all our hectic stresses. We defiantly recommend this to everyone You can't go wrong here! (:

-Shelbi

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelbilynn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

A terrific place. It became our home away from home, with all the extras you need to have a great vacation. The windward breeze, local birds singing and walking distance to Lanikai Beach. We experienced the real Hawaii and the true Aloha Spirit. A dream vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank circledrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Staying here was truly a highlight of our vacation in Hawaii. We were thrilled to have found such a wonderful place on Oahu. The B&B had EVERYTHING, starting with a great welcome package that we used to plan our trip. The location could not have been better – just a quick walk to the beach and a short drive to Kailua. We found the unit fabulous with all the goodies of home. The gardens were beautiful and the place was very clean. This was the only place that we had “covered” parking for our car.

Most of all we enjoyed our hostess that provided us with lots of tips, especially about the beautiful hike to the old WWII bunkers. The binder in the unit with restaurant suggestions and menus made it easy to select where we wanted to go for dinner. We so enjoyed the quite, relaxing time at the B&B after being on the go all day, and sleeping in during the mornings and hearing the birds singing. Our special night was when we walked down to the beach and saw the full moon rise over the ocean. Only from here could we have had the beautiful evening.

We recommend this B&B to everyone looking for the Hawaiian experience, away from the crowds. We are looking forward to when we can come back again. Aloha to all -Marie

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueBirdLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We found Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway to be everything we hoped for and more.
Our room was spacious and very clean. We loved sitting out on the lani in the
mornings listening to the birds and enjoying the pastries the inn keeper provided
for us. Not only were there fresh pastries the frig was filled with juice,milk, soda,
and yogurt and many other goodies. We would recommend Hawaii'a Hidden Hideaway
to our family and friends. Sherri and Mike

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aigkailua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

My mother and I stayed at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway (HHH) in June 2009.

The drive to get to the B&B from the airport is very scenic. HHH is located in Lanikai, which is, in my opinion, the most beautiful area of Oahu. When I chose the HHH, I did so based on the knowledge that even if the B&B was terrible, it wouldn't matter because the location is idyllic. Like others have said in the other reviews, you really don't spend much time at the B&B.

Which is a good thing.

The things we DIDN'T like:
1. The first thing we noticed about the unit was that it had an overall seedy appearance.
2. The towels had a musty odor, even before they were used. I understand that we're at a beach and the air is humid, but . . . GROSS! The towel situation got worse each day, because there were not enough towel racks to hang up all of the towels, so the smell kept getting stronger. The linens weren't changed daily, but Janice did give us more towels after we called and requested more.
3. It's great that there is a washer and dryer on site available for use. However, it really rubbed me the wrong way when Janice told me to put a few extra bucks on the table before we check out to cover the extra costs of the laundry. Um . . . are you kidding me?
4. The breakfast that is provided consists of a carton of juice and a plate of pastries, half of which are moldy the first morning. We threw out the moldy ones and were able to have 2 breakfasts out of the food. It didn't dawn on me at the time, but maybe the breakfasts worked like the towels - maybe if I would have asked her for more breakfast she would've provided it? Maybe, but I really don't think I should have to.
5. The absolute worst thing about the unit is that there is not air conditioning or enough fans to cool the room down at night. There was NO breeze, and we were so hot the first night it was unbearable. We found the oscillating fan, which helped a bit, but didn't cool it enough - two oscillating fans would've made a big difference.


The things we DID like:
1. Upon arrival, the owner, Janice, greeted us. The unit we stayed in was up a flight of stairs and Janice helped us with 1 of our 4 bags.
2. There is basically everything you will need in the unit - beach towels, beach mats, beach chairs, igloo coolers, hangers, iron, ironing board, coffee maker, hairdryer, bug spray, an oscillating fan, a selection of paperbacks and Hawaii-related magazines and books, a TV, and a radio / CD player.
3. There is a very informative binder with directions, menus from local restaurants, and a list of attractions. This really helped us decide where to eat each night. Janice's recommendations were spot-on.

Despite all of my negative impressions, I probably would stay here again. Next time I would ask Janice in advance to change the towels every 2 days, provide breakfast daily, and provide a 2nd oscillating fan. The location of HHH is incredible, and is worth putting up with these relatively minor (and correctable) issues.

Recommendation: Stay here. If you decide to stay somewhere else, make the drive and spend the day on Lanikai beach. It's totally worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WearyTraveler93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2009

The reason why there are so extremely different reviews of this B&B is that it offers two different units. We, two adults and two kids, spent a week in Feb 2009 at the Hideaway, not in the big studio but in one of two smaller units. Those units are definitely not award-winning, they offer no ocean view, and you hear a lot of what goes on in the units above and next to yours. The room was crammed with older furniture and did not offer a lot of space to open suitcases or to put things. Although the owner's website suggests the units sleep four, they only sleep two. After we had paid the whole fee in advance the owner told us that we needed to rent the other unit as well in order to have enough beds for all four of us. When we said we couldn't, we were provided with two old, torn, thin "futons" and small towels as blankets for the kids to sleep on the floor. We never saw the owner once during our stay. The expensive big studio is probably a nice place to spend your vacation, the smaller ones are definitely not. And you judge the decency of the owner.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua
10.4 mi away
Aqua Oasis
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
630 reviews
9.4 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
3.4 mi away
Paradise Palms Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Manu Mele Bed and Breakfast
28.8 mi away
Turtle Bay Resort
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4,226 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kailua Guesthouse
Kailua Guesthouse
#8 of 13 in Kailua
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway

Address: 1369 Mokolea Dr, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-3240
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to be our guest in this award winning, licensed bed & breakfast. Considered one of the best vacation spots on the island and recipient of the Most Romantic Hideaway Award, Hawaii’s Hidden Hideaway B&B is second to none. We are ideal for honeymooners, special occasions, a family or those on business. With a unique style of accommodation and three gorgeous private units - including one suite and two studios, all of our guests enjoy private baths, kitchenettes, and lanais (beautiful patios) and gorgeous garden views. We are always open to offering suggestions for day trips and hikes and your stay always includes parking and wifi free of charge. We want you to relax and enjoy the island as much as we do. Only a short walk to the world famous Lanikai and Kailua Beaches, with pristine turquoise waters and fine white sand. Watch the sunrise from your private lanai, listen to the ocean on a quiet night or walk on the beach and watch the moonrise between the islands. This distinctive spot on the Windward side of Oahu is only a 30-minute drive from Waikiki, Honolulu or from the airport. Five minutes away, in the quaint town of Kailua, are some of the top restaurants on the island, antique shops, and rentals for kayaks and windsurfing. Don't forget to check out one of the best hikes on the island right behind the B&B. Plan your stay with us today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawaii`s Hidden Hideaway Hotel Kailua
Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway Kailua, Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing