We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanikai Beach

Lanikai Beach
Book In Advance
$156.02*
and up
Mokulua Islands Full-Day Guided Kayak Tour from Kailua Beach
Ranked #2 of 38 things to do in Kailua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Fantastic beach accessible from a number of locations. Good for long walks, or finding a less crowded place to enjoy a day on the beach.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank merryleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,607
    418
    72
    24
    44
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Makawao, Hawaii
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a sweet beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

My daughter lives in Kailua. On a recent trip from Maui where we live we went to Lanikai Beach to go paddle boarding. The beach is protected by an outer coral reef so the water is super calm and perfect for a neophyte paddle boarder(me!). I had so much fun in the water which is the most beautiful turquoise blue because of the white sand. You can kayak or paddle board or paddle a surf board all the way out to the "Mokes" (two small islands off shore). What a fun beach and great for the keikis(children) as the water is very calm with no rip currents.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MauiEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I am 12 and this was the first time I had ever been to Hawaii.
My mom and dad actually got married right on this beach 13 years ago and it was really neat to visit there!
The beach was very beautiful and the water was so clear..
I would totally come back to this beach next time I come!

Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice "hidden" beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We came to this beach at the recommendation of two friends who are from Oahu. It took us a while to actually find the beach but once we did, we understood what all the fuss was about. It was gorgeous white sand for miles.

When we came, we parked at the state beach (Kailua Beach Park) and walked into Lanikai. Might be easier --- we felt uncomfortable just parking our car on the side of the road.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
228 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“I'm staying here for 5 weeks. Wonderful beach. Friendly peo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

My beach house is on Lanikai beach. It is gorgeous, and on a nice part of the beach. I say ' my ' beach house, but it is mine for another week. Then I'm off home.
Great beach, friendly people, but no services for people ( toilets, etc.). And a mile + off shore, are the Mokulua Islands.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BunclodySenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanikai Beach also viewed

 

Been to Lanikai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing