We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lanikai adventure,”
Review of Lanikai Beach

Lanikai Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$156.02*
and up
Mokulua Islands Full-Day Guided Kayak Tour from Kailua Beach
Ranked #2 of 38 things to do in Kailua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lanikai adventure,”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

While we were staing in Honolulu we rent a car and went in Lanikai beach and it was the best expeirience ever ;))) Water is sky blue. If you go to Oahu you have to go there!!!! Best beach realy!! You can rent canoe there few meter from the beach. Much beter then Waikiki.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Pedja-Maka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,705
    435
    73
    26
    44
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is what you think of when you dream about Hawaii.”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We hated the parking but the craziness was worth it. Beautiful views, calm waters, and clear skies.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cmcclellan521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oahu
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lanikai Kai - Heavenly waters indeed”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Lanikai Beach is a small but wonderfully placed stretch of beach as it is fairly close to the "twin islands" also most commonly and locally known as the Mokulua Islands. I know that there are issues with the communities of Kailua and Lanikai with having unwanted "water sports" commercial activity. However, if you are able to, book with a company that will give you easy access to the islands as it is a little extreme having to paddle from Kailua beach to the Mokulua's (especially on windy days). I suggest Kayaking with a partner for the best photo opportunities, or if you are adventurist and like to go "solo", stand up paddle boarding may work best for you....of course, with both sports, it helps to have done it before and if you are at least in good health condition.

With Kayaking to the Mokulua's, I timed myself at 45 minutes with a partner, and about an hour on a stand-up paddle board. Note - make sure to go paddle along the shore line of Lanikai beach until you are directly in line with the islands, then head toward it. I believe that this is the best way to get there - especially if you want to stay off of the reef and are trying to avoid the waves.

Make sure to look out for green sea turtles, stay away from coral heads (please respect the ocean life), clean up your trash (take it back with you when you go back to Lanikai Beach), watch out for bird homes on the Mokulua's (as these islands are bird santuaries), and make sure to allow yourself enough time and sunlight to launch from the Mokulua Islands to head back to Lanikai Beach.

There are a lot of good deals out there for Kayaks in the area...my deal was $45 for the day which began from 8am and ended at 4pm - pretty good deal huh? Just make sure to pack a lunch if you are planning to head out to the Mokulua Islands, and to take your trash when you leave.

Other than that, I believe that Lanikai Beach is a great beach for family fun.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank trueislandbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilsum, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely Breathtaking”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

LOVED this beach and the area of Kailua and Kaneohe. Definitely worth the trip! We walked to Lanikai Beach from Kailua Beach Park, it only took 10 minutes, and we were sitting on the gorgeous fine white sand and enjoying the breathtaking view of the Moku'lua island and we even got to see 2 Hawaiian Honu!! (Sea Turtles)!!!!!!!...don't miss out on this beach if you're traveling to O'ahu!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CamaroEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Even better than Kailua”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Beautiful beach, everything you can ask for. It was quite windy here as well but less so than other days. Went to both Kailua and Lanikai and we found them to be fantastic but my boyfriend did get stung by a PMOW in Kailua while boogie boarding.
Overall, our trip to Honolulu would not have been as perfect had we not gone to these two beaches.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Purplehaze925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanikai Beach also viewed

 

Been to Lanikai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing