We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Boots & Kimo's Homestyle Kitchen
Ranked #9 of 143 Restaurants in Kailua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

While the pancakes with the mac sauce is very good, the rest was very disappointing. $3 for a few slices of potato or $6 for a few small pieces of fruit (2 small pieces of watermelon, melon, pineapple and one strawberry). I asked 3 times for four waters and never got 4. I got two the first time, then another one and that was it. There are definitely better breakfast places in Kailua.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thegups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    387
    144
    39
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pancakes to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

They moved to the end of the block since we last came to Oahu. Its a bigger place but still crowded if you come late for breakfast. The best Macadamia nut pancakes! Other breakfast food good too. Get there early for breakfast and then hit the beautiful Lanikai Beach.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DanvilleRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“this is the place for yummy pancakes.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our daughter in law and granddaughter, who never- ever- eat pancakes, smacked their lips after they tasted the pancakes for which this restaurant is noted. Their topping choices were individual and they were delighted that they made the decision to give this restaurant a try and break from one of their exclusionary food choices..

We were en route to a local kayacking adventure, driving from Ko Olina,

We arrived before the restaurant openned to see lots of people standing outside waiting for the doors to open at 7:30am. Promptly at 7:30 am when the doors openned, people were seated, without confusion. After ordering, we were served within a very short time, considering that the restaurant was full with guests who were seated simultaneously .

The wait staff worked the entire room, not just their station, serving seconds of coffee, water and what ever else anybody asked for Nice touch! Oh yes,my husband and I ordered omlette's which were large portions and deilcious.

Your GPS will direct you there easily, Our driive was at sun rise and was spectacular and the girls enjoyed a wonderful time kayacking.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious pancakes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Went there for brunch. The banana pancakes with the macadamia sauce were delicious! Also had the egg omelette which was good. Definitely going back for the pancakes!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dragonfly08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waipahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
134 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Favorite Breakfast Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We make the trip to Boots And Kimo's - and wait for a long time - but the Macadamia Sauce for the pancakes makes it all worth while!
Also love the Hawaiian sausage!
Must try for locals and visitors!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cattayhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boots & Kimo's Homestyle Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Boots & Kimo's Homestyle Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing