We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Big City Diner

Big City Diner
Ranked #27 of 143 Restaurants in Kailua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It was just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

My husband enjoyed the expensive burger he got, but the fish and chips I had was all salt, and I didn't enjoy the atmosphere with the extremely bright lights and tiny tables. There are too many other places to go for me to wind up back at this particular restaurant. Also, and I could be wrong about this, but I don't think they even had any local microbrew on tap.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SusieQ1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    76
    29
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terry is the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We always head over after Sunday mass to sit outside and enjoy the day. Terry is the best for service. We enjoy all the specials and the pancake plate is huge, even a half serving is plenty to eat. They have a nice little 4 or 5 seater bar area outside with a TV, fun for watching a game.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waianae, Hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Definitely lives up to the name”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is a big diner with a big menu! You'll find it in several locations throughout O'ahu and nothing is super special about this place per se. However, the big menu and wide selection make this an ideal family spot, especially for picky eaters and people wanting to try a wide variety of local fare in one place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Toastinsanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A good fun family place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

I love this restaurant especially because the people are so kind and friendly, go in twice and they already know you by name. Good burgers and pastas. Live music on Friday nights and spacious patio seating. Definitely a local favorite

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talkeetna, Alaska
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Still my favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had several meals at the Big City Diner, they continue to impress. Could the location be better, sure. But the food the service and friendly atmosphere keep me coming back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CValentine99676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big City Diner also viewed

 
 

Been to Big City Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing