We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still my favorite!”
Review of Big City Diner

Big City Diner
Ranked #23 of 145 Restaurants in Kailua
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner
Talkeetna, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Still my favorite!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had several meals at the Big City Diner, they continue to impress. Could the location be better, sure. But the food the service and friendly atmosphere keep me coming back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CValentine99676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    83
    29
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best burgers in town!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We absolutely love Big City Diner! The service is always awesome and the food is delicious! Oh favorite meal there is the classic burgers on the potato buns...so good. I also love their salads with the local Halo greens...so fresh! It is always so relaxing to so outside with the beautiful, Hawaiian breeze. A must go to in the beautiful town of Kailua. They also have a great kids menu and delicious breakfast. You cannot beat the prices either.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelers0076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,260 reviews
923 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 755 helpful votes
“Michael Energetic and Spot On”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The food is reliably diner food with a delightful "local" attitude. Service is usually adequate to better. This morning, Michael was dynamic and helpful and exceedingly cheerful! For the very first time EVER the morning breakfast specials were described.
Food came up fast, but the over easy were less than easy. Michael was quick with replacement. The hash browns ordered crisp were crisp indeed!
Coffee is robust. Overall, a good spot for breakfast.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnfjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Don't eat here”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

They advertise "breakfast, brunch, lunch, dinner" but you can ONLY order those things when it is time. In the morning you are only allowed to have the breakfast menu. Everything we asked about on the menu the "didn't have" or "we can't cook it yet." The wait staff was fairly nice but there isn't much here. I ended up settling for toast because that's the only thing they seemed to have and couldn't mess up. When my toast came it was a hot dog bun cut in half... Really?! Def will not eat here anytime again when visiting.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TourguideBarbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

My husband and I ate at this restaurant for breakfast many times over our stay. It is a nice, low-key place that is very reasonably priced. The staff at BCD was great and could not have been more friendly and attentive. Our food was always cooked perfectly, they serve huge portions, and my coffee was continuously refilled - something very important to me. We tried Moke's Bread & Breakfast and Cinnamon's and, for us, the food and service weren't nearly as good - can't tell you how many times I had to ask for my coffee to be refilled. My husband pretty much ordered the same thing at every restaurant (the Loco Moco). He said BCD's was the best (some of his rice was stale at Cinnamon's). Definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FaithW23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big City Diner also viewed

 

Been to Big City Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing