We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast!”
Review of Big City Diner

Big City Diner
Ranked #25 of 144 Restaurants in Kailua
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

My husband and I ate at this restaurant for breakfast many times over our stay. It is a nice, low-key place that is very reasonably priced. The staff at BCD was great and could not have been more friendly and attentive. Our food was always cooked perfectly, they serve huge portions, and my coffee was continuously refilled - something very important to me. We tried Moke's Bread & Breakfast and Cinnamon's and, for us, the food and service weren't nearly as good - can't tell you how many times I had to ask for my coffee to be refilled. My husband pretty much ordered the same thing at every restaurant (the Loco Moco). He said BCD's was the best (some of his rice was stale at Cinnamon's). Definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FaithW23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    82
    29
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bingham Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the best in Kailua”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Every time I am in Kailua I go to Big City. They always have the best fish selections. They have an excellent wait staff who all represent the spirit of Aloha.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CorinneKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Diner style meal with Hawaiian Themes”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We went here twice. Once for a 'cheap' fast dinner when we were starving and once for breakfast one morning when our #1 choice was closed for the day walking distance to here.
Its not that great. Its good people watching, they had live music on the weekends. The TVs were set to the channel guide (which plays music) so the restaurant would have music which we thought was hilarious.
Its not all bad. Service was good and the food wasn't bad it just wasn't great. Locals seem to love it too!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ASebrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
417 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Brunch was good”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed brunch & mimosas here on Christmas day. The waitress was obviously not happy to be working on Christmas (fair enough) but didn't do a great job. Food runner was good though & took care of what we needed. Salmon & eggs were good. Mimosas were nothing fantastic. Great outdoor seating & a large variety of brunch options on menu. Lots of breakfast places in kailua and this one is probably my 3rd choice.

Helpful?
Thank beachbreeze66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
1 review
“Good food, GREAT service”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We love coming here. It has a nice menu mix of local food and standard diner fare (burgers--the patty melt is really good; club sandwich,etc.), the prices are good, and they frequently have Pau Hana specials. But the great service is what sets this place apart. Always friendly, always accommodating, always greeting you with aloha. Truly stellar place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big City Diner also viewed

 

Been to Big City Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing