We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fixed menu and attentive service”

Casablanca Restaurant
Ranked #80 of 144 Restaurants in Kailua
Cuisines: African, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fixed menu and attentive service”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Six of us dined recently at Casablanca Restaurant. We liked each course of the set menu, but especially the course of a phyllo dough creation and the succulent lamb chops. Two of us were gluten-intolerant and the chef made us the phyllo dough course without phyllo dough, just baked in a pan - meat, spices, nuts, savory and sweet. We would all go back for just that one course, but liked each one.

The service was attentive and gracious.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank painted_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    19
    5
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great ambiance....food, not so much”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We dined at Casablanca on the recommendation of a local and I must say that we weren't thrilled with the reco. The ambiance is great but the food was not good at all. We ordered an array of items and not one of the four of us enjoyed our meals. I would go back for a drink at the bar but that would be it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cwalk412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good But Not Fantastic”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Casablanca is a good restaurant, but it is not something to rave about. The food has good taste and has deep flavor. The ambiance is ok, a bit cheesy, or commercialized, but still a good try at a Mediterranean-style experience. Menu is a set menu but a few items to try from. Family style appetizer. Reservations accepted, and recommended. Fills up fast and has limited seating.

Recommendation: If in the area and can make reservations..A good stop.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 808Surfrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic and Fun”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

When you enter Casablanca, you step into another place and culture and it's fantastic. I'm a world traveler and have experienced authentic Moroccan food and hospitality. Casablanca replicates that in Kailua, HI. Family run business. Dinner is served in traditional courses, complete with hand-washing in between courses. Your server will bring a pot and bowl and towel. Traditional music plays while you sit or recline on comfortable couches and pillows. It's a great experience and the food is superb.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank triciateach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“YUM”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I wanted to try something new and we realized that this was the only place in Kailua that we haven't eaten at. I'm so glad we came! It was so much fun, the food was great and service was good too. The lamb was to die for! I recommend it just for the atmosphere. It can be pricy but you get a 4 course meal.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casablanca Restaurant also viewed

 
Honolulu, Oahu
 

Been to Casablanca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing