We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
99
6
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
99
6
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden studiotree houselanikai beachthe kitchenmokulua islandsthe penthouseshort drivemango treefamily vacationlocation was perfectthought of everythingwindward sidestocked kitchenettepillbox hikenorth shoreenjoyed our staypalm trees
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 107 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We are just ending a 5 day visit to Lanikai, staying at the garden studio apartmentt. It has been a wonderful spectacular sleepy visit. The studio is just right for a couple, very private, with its own little back garden to laze around in. It is at the back of the house, so almost no road noise just birds. The apartment itself was absolutely spotless, eat off the floor spotless when we moved in and super well equipped (including fruit muffins etc that others have noted). I have no idea what the ant story mentioned earlier is about... we didn't see a single insect inside the apartment our whole stay.
We have stayed in Hawaii many times before on many islands, and in a mix of houses and hotels. This location is in the middle of an upmarket housing area (houses are multimillion $$s), in turn the surroundings are clean, well maintained and very private. There is a beach access path right across from the house, but honestly even at low tide its hard to walk on the beach there, you either walk down and walk in the water to the beach or take the road to the beach... a lazy 3-5 minute stroll.
I honestly dont think we have anything negative to say about the place, or about Lanakai. I guess a few more upmarket restaurants would help... There are only a couple worth visiting, on the other hand the craziness of Honolulu is only a 20-30 minute drive away.
This is a lovely very special romantic and beautiiful place and this little apartment was a very special place to enjoy it from.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We very much so enjoyed our little bungalow! It was beautiful, right near the beach, and wonderfully quiet. The landlord made a point to stop by and make sure we were doing well - he was delightful and sweet, and made us feel very much at home. I would absolutely recommend this location for travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ElBeKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

This is our third trip to Lanikai. We have stayed at Rick Maxey's properties before and have been very happy. This time is no different. We rented the Lanikai Garden Studio this time, and it is perfect. The studio is very clean and well equiped. Everything we needed was waiting for us upon arrival. Everything for the beach: chairs, towels, sun umbrella, cooler, etc. We were pleased to find the kitchen well-equiped. Everything from coffee pot and grinder to rice-cooker was there. There was even a fresh bag of kona coffee, a pinapple, POG juice, and some muffins waiting, which was very much appreciated since we arrived late and did not have time to shop until the next day.

There is internet access; I am writing this review from the very private lanai (that's what they call a private patio/garden here in Hawaii). The studio has lots of louvered windows and a nice cross breeze. also plentiful ceiling fans. No need for AC - very pleasent temperature.

The beach is right across the street. This is sandy beach a low tide, which for us this trip is in the morning. At high tide (afternoon) we walk 5 minutes down the road to the wide sand beach. Rick left us a tide chart in the info book, along with other useful information. You can also check the internet for low and high tide times during your trip, or ask Rick. Lanikai is the best beach on Oahu in our opinion. The water is calm and peaceful here due to reef protection. beautiful view of the Mokulua islands, which you will see on every Hawaiian calendar. You can rent a double kayak for less than 200/week and paddle out to them.

Don't pay any attention to the review below complaining of ants. We have had no such issues. Like any tropical location there will be ants outside. With everything being open they will come in if you don't put your food away. Just put any open food into zip-lock bags (provided) or into the frig and all will be fine.

Lots of great places to eat right here in Kailua. But our all-time favorite restaurant is to drive into Hawaii Kai (30 minutes) to go to the original Roy's- it is worth the trip. We avoid Waikiki like the plague.

Walk the ridge above Lanikai if you have the time. Beautiful view for a very reasonable hike.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank e-bob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We stayed at the Kailua Beachside Oasis in early November and couldn't have been happier. The darling cottage was perfectly appointed, everything we could need to cook great meals and relax was there. It was quiet, close to the beach, and oh so clean. Sue is a gracious host, and she even shared her Hawaiian music with me -- the location couldn't be better, and having access to the hot tub was amazing.

Can't say enough good stuff about our experience - highly recommended! Oh, and we loved the 3 little dogs that would come and visit from the main house. What a treat!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank portland_OR_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed in the Garden Studio at the Lanikai B&B from 6/2/09 through 6/7/09. This was our second visit to Oahu together: in 2006, we stayed in Waikiki and loved the powdery-soft beach at Lanikai. I definitely recommend staying at Lanikai rather than Waikiki for a relaxing vacation, and we would recommend this specific B&B. In particular, the garden studio was perfect: it was close to the beach, there was a cool breeze, it was comfortable, the gardens were pretty, the kitchen was well-stocked (to prepare your own meals), and Nini was very, very friendly. Nini and Rick provided backpack-style beach chairs, a cooler, boogie boards, and even a welcome Dole pineapple and muffins. There was even a binder of local restaurant menus which was helpful. We would definitely stay at the garden studio again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
35  Thank RomanticTravelers888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews