We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice in Kailua”
Review of Prima

Prima
Reserve with OpenTable
Prima is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 143 Restaurants in Kailua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hamakua Drive
Transit: The Bus has routes from Honolulu to Kailua hourly.
Perth, West Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great choice in Kailua”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Found Prima by chance and was so pleased. We felt like something light so we chose 2 pizzas, a Margherita and a Dirty Marinara, both were excellent. We chose to at at the counter and ended up having a great conversation with the chef who explained his soup choices, what went into making the combinations he created. We really enjoyed ourselves and eating later on in the evening meant we had a more personal service which was fun. We shall return next time we are in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank perth4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    40
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tasty but pricey”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We ate here for a birthday celebration. The four of us shared 5 different items. The pork belly, while tasty, was one piece of pork with a side of polenta and some spinach. For over $30 I felt it was way overpriced. We tried 2 pizzas which where very good. Also tried the mushroom appetizer which was nicely presented. The spaghetti was very flavorful, but again for $20 I would have expected a little larger portion. Service was friendly and items were brought out when ready. It is byob with a service fee. There is a grocery store in the plaza that people were purchasing wine and beer.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jrath01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I am surprised by some of the bad reviews because we loved Prima. We asked the waiter for the "must have" dishes and everything was amazing. The octopus was absolutely delicious, spicy meatball pizza, brussel sprouts ... Bread salad, which I can't remember the name of was so good we ordered a second! I'd say if you didn't like it the first time, give it another try and ask the waiter for recommendations. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ckg1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Portions Seem to Have Shrunk!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I've raved about this restaurant in the past, but am concerned that all of the entrees really have shrunk in size (or has my appetite just grown?!?) Everything we selected arrived looking smaller that "appetizer-size", but are priced as full "entree-size". The creative menu remains exceptional, but they no longer serve liquor. It's a good thing the R. Fields/Foodland is next door to help in that area (but realize you'll be paying a corkage fee of $10 for each bottle opened!).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lookp002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Level Contributor
155 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food in Oahu!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This restaurant is about a 20 minute drive from the Wakiki area, but worth it. They have great pizza (my husband and I shared 2 different ones) and is very affordable. As an added bonus, it is BYOB, and there is a great wine store next door which is part of Foodland. However, the wine store closes at 8pm so get there before then to purchase your wine for dinner.

We sat outside which didn't have much ambience as the restaurant is in a strip mall, but asided from that, it was a great dinner!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing