We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location for family beach holiday”
other traveler has booked this property
Amazing Kailua Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Amazing Kailua Beach
Modern, spacious villa Hibiscus room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Amazing Kailua Beach
Modern, spacious villa
Hibiscus room
Jungle studio
Ocean room
kayaking from the river
safe_for_the_children
Gardenia studio
Plumeria room
sunset on the beach
great fishing
sailing in Kalua Bay
kayaking is great,  anything one might desire, from quiet protected waters to kayak surfing
kiters' paradise
amazing sunsets
manta rays
Hawaiian outrigger
boogie boarding
wonderful exotic plants
outriggers Kailua park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Donna H
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location for family beach holiday”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Just got back from a 10 day trip to Oahu, Hawaii. Stayed at this lovely 5 bedroom rental home on Kailua Beach with another family (4 adults and 5 children in total - kids all under 12 years). What's great about this home is that it is 3 minutes walk from Kailua beach. The beach is just amazing. Perfect sand, warm sea and shaded by trees. Perfect for boogie boarding, sandcastle building, digging for crabs or just lazing in the sun or under the trees with a book. Also it's just a 10 minute drive from Lanikai Beach which is also a fantastic spot and voted one of the worlds best beaches. Across the road from the house is Kalawai Market shop and Bob's pizza or it's just a 20 minute walk into Kailua town which has shops (including Macys) and lots of different and varied eateries.

Waikiki Beach is just a 45 minute drive around the coast past Sealife Park, Hanuama Bay, Diamond Head and other more lively surf beaches.

If you are looking for the lap of luxury and modern fittings and fixtures plus a flow from the kitchen to the outdoor space, then this house is NOT for you. The house is spacious but the furniture is of the mix and match variety and some of the cupboards/chest of drawers could do with replacing. Having said that, the house was very clean and the beds were comfortable. There was plenty of hot water for baths & showers plus plenty of space to mill about when not at the beach. Anna the hostess lives next door (house adjoining) and was very nice, very laid back and left us to it. We hardly saw her.

The road outside the house was busier than perhaps we expected it and there was a fair bit of noise from the road and from the wind at night. However, the breeze at night kept us cool and there was no need to use the aircon.

If we went to Hawaii again, we would spend a few days in Waikki to soak up the atmosphere and also the shopping and then head across to Kailua for the rest of our time for a perfect place to swim, rest and enjoy the perfect Hawaii weather, people and relaxation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1972Ellie
San Leandro, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We rented the jungle studio that had one full size bed and a futon. The location is awesome and the room was clean. Located right across the street from Kalapawai Market where you can get almost anything you need coffee, breakfast burritos or sunscreen. The cottage had beach towels and chairs you can borrow and you can do your laundry which is included in your rental. What you should know is that this is a busy area so may not be as quiet. Our
family would definitely come back. The owner Anna was also very nice.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelleew32...
Seward, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, clean and spacious. Great hosts.”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We were very pleased with our individual units. We had a spacious studio with large closet and great bathroom. Full size fridge but no stove/oven. They did provide a hot plate, toaster oven, microwave and coffee maker. Nice bath and beach towels and beach accessories also provided.
My parents had the separate cottage which also had all the same amenities (still no stove/oven). It had a great private lanai/yard area with table and chairs, lounge chair and clothesline. Laundry facilities right there - very nice.
Another great unit was also available that did include a full size kitchen with stove/oven, nicely stocked.
We all found this was a great value in a nice, quiet neighborhood with very hospitable hosts. I would gladly recommend this to friends and would not hesitate to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron B
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, gorgeous town.”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Very tidy, spacious self contained "jungle room". Great for a couple. A 10 minute stroll to the town shops/restaurants and a 2 minute walk to the beach. Being next to the local store was a great bonus and the coffee and salads there were excellent.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelrev...
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful secure location steps from the beach”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Studio apartment 'as advertised' - comfortable for 2 people, ground floor location (occasional upstairs noise depending on renters). Street outside the gate is busy, but quiets down at night. Anna provides a gate opener, so you only really have to punch in the car gate code once. Easy access to Kailua beach 1 block away, and taking the H-3 freeway - very good access to the Leeward side and the airport. Owner is very 'hands off' - just saw her on the first day - she was very quick to respond when I had written the house code down slightly wrong (had a '4' when it should have been a 'Y'). Great location if you have your own car - otherwise could be challenging.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: upstairs noise, and some towel/soap shortage
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Reviewed March 23, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Value
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mary s
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This IS the place to stay!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Anna's! She is a wonderful host. We will stay with her anytime we are in Hawaii without question. We would like to thank the other guests for being kind and following the house rules of when it's time to be quiet and when to do laundry (9-9). It is literally 347 steps to the market. less than a 1/2 of block to the beach and only 1/2 block to shave ice and pizza. Everything you need is there. We stayed in the Gardenia Room and had plenty of room for 2 adults and 1 child. The high ceilings make the room feel so much larger.
If you are a noisy person with loud disrespectful kids please stay away from this peaceful retreat We will be back and don't want to see or hear you.
If you love to read a good book and an get up early for a cup of coffee from the local market or just a walk, this is it! Be sure to see the sunrise from the beach over the Moke's islands.
Be sure to check out the art studio! The work is amazing and worth your trip if only to see Anna's work.
Rent a smaller car. There is plenty of parking but when parking on a island smaller cars are the way to go. You will be happy I mentioned this.
Don't bother to look for other places. This is the place to stay! Mahalo Anna! We will see you soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The local!
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing