We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent stay. Highly recommended.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Lanikai all fire up in the morning.
Lanikai point
Sunrise on Kailua beach
View over Lanikai
Kailua beach in the morning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Michael S
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An excellent stay. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed January 18, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Reiters are very thoughtful hosts who think of just about everything you might need yet provide just the right amount of privacy. Easy walk 10 minute walk to beach and shave ice and center of Kailua is about 15 minutes. Second time I've stayed with them, just as wonderful two years later. About as good as a vacation rental gets. I've stayed in several other vacation rentals in Kailua and this is the best. They were also very accommodating about a late departure on my final day.

My only critiques would the following small improvements:

Bathroom is a bit small so it could use a set of shelves. Hot water takes some time to come on in the shower. Could use a few more or brighter lights in the bedroom. Fast internet was great but it stopped working the last day of my stay. That’s about it: no real problems, just a few suggestions. All in all an excellent stay. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2015
It was nice having you back and loved the conversations. We will definitely pick up more lights for the studio and adding shelves in the bathroom.
Sorry the Wifi didn't work on your last night. Because of the concrete wall, the regular wifi doesn't reach the studio so good, we had put in a range extender and didn't realized it dropped on you, wish you had let us know.
We hope to see you back in a few years.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet-10...
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Value but Warm at Night”
Reviewed January 14, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This is a bedroom attached to the back of a family's house, not a detached studio. As such, one hears speech and coughing from the family. The ceiling fan pictured did not work, but the owner placed a portable fan in the rental to try to cool off the room. Drapes cover all the windows and it is difficult to push them aside for more ventilation.Hm, give up privacy for more air? Sure. The owner Tina was gracious and experienced, offering useful maps and a bicycle for my use. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed comfortable. There were 3 available drawers to unpack in, but no table or desk-height surface with a nearby outlet for my tablet. As a senior, I found the room poorly lit. But the price represented a good value.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Maps and bicycle offered by the owner
Liked least: Too warm at night
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take pride in knowing our guests are comfortable and satisfactory during their stay with us, therefore, we are sadden that you had found our place wasn't up to your satisfactory.
Our house locates in a residential neighborhood, and the studio is our guest quarter and unlike most of the houses in Kailua,our walls are built with CMU,therefore,it gives more privacy to each room, with 3 walls detached and the 4th wall attached to a laundry storage room however it still close to proximity of other rooms or houses.
The ceiling fan, we had checked the ceiling fan and it seem to work, the fan is control by a switch and per half the pull chain was pulled to the off position.
We are also sorry you found the studio is warm at night. For many years, we had not offered air conditioning as our guests enjoy the fresh ocean breeze air in Hawaii. Due to an exceptional hot summer and fall this year, we had recently offered an option of air conditioning for the small extra fees. We are trying to keep the rate low by offering the air conditioner as an option instead of automatic add on, and most of our guest choose to opt out.
From Dec-April,The weather in Hawaii is about mid 60 at night to 80 in the day. Most of the time, Kailua has trade wind and that keep the house ventilated and in a comfortable temperature most of the time, however, during your stay, there was no trade wind.
Above all, we hope you enjoyed your time in the Kailua area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benbiles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This studio apartment was perfect for our holiday.”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect location away from all the noise of waikiki on in our opinion the best part of Oahu. The local beaches are perfect and Tina is really helpful if you need any info :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon11
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Perfect rental for Kailua”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
4
people found this review helpful

If you want to stay away from Waikiki, try here. Easy walking distance to lovely beaches and everything you need. Make coffee there or take a short stroll to the Kalapawai market. Plenty of restaurants around too. Comfortable bed and clean. Also wifi.

Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii201...
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality in Kailua”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
4
people found this review helpful

My husband and I just came back from our trip to Hawaii. Since we did the island hopping during our stay, we were able to experience several accomodations. Out of all the places, we must say that Tina's place was the nicest with safe and family atmosphere. The place was always clean. Even though we were were late due to the flight cancellations, Tina was very accepting and had the room ready for us when we arrived two days later.

The place is ony a few minutes (less than literally 5min) walk to the most beautiful beach and the town, Kailua is very beautiful with a very relaxing touch. When we drove to Honolulu and Wakiki the next day, we were very glad to we stayed in Kailua.

We enjoyed the little snacks, the Hawaiian coffee, and guava juice, which were there to greet us when we arrived. Thank you for such a nice place and we will definitely come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the review. It was a pleasure to meet and talk with both of you. We are very glad you had enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to be able to visit you in Germany one day.

Aloha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mlnsandpo...
Sandpoint
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
5
people found this review helpful

The beach is excellent, and the Kalapawai Market was a gem.
Great coffee in the morning, and the staff had wonderful recommendations for local restaurants. The Island Grill is not much to look at, but Oh My, what great food, and extremely reasonable prices. Try everything is our advice. The Grove and Baci are excellent as well for a nicer 'real' restaurant feel, with commensurate prices, but just wonderful dining experience.
Tina, our host, was most helpful and gracious at all times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The location. Very close to a great beach and market, and a Whole Foos in the other direction
Liked least: Not having a 'kitchen sink'. We didn't do any cooking per se, but cleaning up after snacks/sashimi was a bit tricky
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing