We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hold the mayo!”
Review of The Hibachi

The Hibachi
Ranked #17 of 145 Restaurants in Kailua
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Thehibachihawaii.com/
Restaurant details
Description: Thehibachihawaii.com/
Clementon, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Hold the mayo!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great selection, great taste, great prices. My son had poke, he said it was great. I had a Beef Teri sandwich. It was loaded with fresh cooked beef (cooked while you wait). But I didn't notice til I got home, they put mayo on it. Never saw that before.
It is a take-out only. The folks are friendly and efficient.
Worth a stop after a busy day to bring some food home.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    21
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Poke is ONO-licious”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Delicious is the word to describe their fresh poke. IMHO: the best in Kailua, which is why we keep coming back. We have had their fresh fish as well, which is awesome.
There are tables in front, we have always done the take-out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bdwood2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A local casual authentic spot for fresh poke”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Our family was craving fresh poke and we bumped into Hibatchi as we were searching for a local, authentic spot. It's a cross between a market and a fish/ meat counter. Tables outside let you eat right there. They were very friendly and helped us decide which if their several fresh poke dishes to get, offering up samples. You order by the pound and they'll make a bowl. Pricing is super reasonable and the fish is super fresh and high quality... A great find!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everything in one place!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is one of my favorite places on the island-and the perfect place to stop before going over to a friend's house (grab a bottle of wine and some edamame) or for a beach picnic (poke!). It also has delicious marinated meats that make you seem like a much better cook than you actually are. A faker's best friend!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ohjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, CO
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“For Ono-licious Poke, Search No Further”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our group has been coming to Kailua for the last two years and this place is always a stop on our list of places to hit for pupus. The staff is very friendly and the selection of poke and other items in the deli case is outstanding. Whether its garlic and ginger, habenero and tobiko, or shrimp poke, you won't be disappointed. Its quality eats at a fair price ($14.95 a lb.) and it's delicious. Try the stuffed portobello mushrooms with crab and cheese. Yum!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hibachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing