We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach on Oahu!”
Review of Kailua Beach Park

Kailua Beach Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$156.02*
and up
Mokulua Islands Full-Day Guided Kayak Tour from Kailua Beach
More Info
$420.00*
and up
Luxury Convertible Tour to Oahu's North Shore
More Info
$39.99*
and up
Kayak Rental
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Kailua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Alameda, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best beach on Oahu!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is my absolute favorite beach on Oahu! Beautiful sand and clear, calm waters. This is a large beach so there is plenty of space, unlike Waikiki.

Pros:
Dream beach with soft sand and clear and calm water
Not too crowded
Showers and bathroom facilities

Cons:
Parking can be tricky here. There is plenty of parking, but there are also many visitors. So make sure to either come early or be patient with finding parking.

All in all, this is the best beach on Oahu if you enjoy calm, clear waters, soft sand and serene, peaceful environment.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grickan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,653
    557
    73
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most beautiful beach on the island”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was by far our favourite beach on Oahu - the sand is white, fine, and powdery; the water is turquoise blue and clear. There's bathrooms and showers at this beach as well. We saw a sea turtle while we were snorkeling just off the shore; there isn't a lot of coral or fish in the shallower areas, but just down the road at Lanikai there's plenty to be seen.

We left our daypack (no valuables) and beach towels on the shore and everything was untouched when we came back. I would most definitely come here again!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Windward Beach”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We live in Kailua & try to get to the beach as much as possible. We really enjoy the early morning sunrise & ocean breezes. Riding bike on Lanikai... swimming out to Flat Island.. walking the rocky tide pool Lanikai shoreline is the best!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Very Nice, Very Crowded”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We went on the recommendation of a friend. The view is absolutely stunning but the beach was PACKED with kids and dogs. We hung out for awhile, took some pictures, and then got out of there. If I were to go back I would probably go really early or really late when all of the babies and dogs are sleeping.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Columbus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best beach on windward side”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Aloha! This beach is an excellent option for visitors. It has ammenities for a nice long visit, a parking lot, bathrooms, pavilions, shower stations, and a long beautiful crescent of white powdery sand dotted with naupaka plants and coconut trees. Shallow waters make the most amazing turquoise water you'll ever see! The hours fly here. The beach is perfection on a sunny day. Thanks to the lovely weather on Oahu, it is a sunny day most of the time.

For your comfort, it is best to stay out of the way of the kite surfers - their kites are huge and hard to control. They are only allowed to come ashore in one area of the beach, so watch them land and you'll know where to avoid.

There are no food vendors at the beach, but there are TONS of markets and restaurants within walking distance.

There are only three things that can make Kailua Beach undesirable for a visit. Sometimes the currents will be too strong in the winter and the winds and weather are stormy, but they will usually put up signs as a warning. Sometimes jellyfish wash up on the beach, causing stings that are uncomfortable (but not life threatening). Ask the lifeguards if you want to know anything about the currents or the jellyfish. There is also a rare problem that can happen during the winter if there are BIG rains. In November or December, there is sometimes a huge, week-long rainstorm will cause a surge of filthy water from the stream that flushes a load of foul smelling bacteria into the water - it is unswimmable during this rare time. There are usually warning signs, and an unmistakable odor. Pay attention to the water in winter. If it smells REALLY gross, don't go in. There will be other beaches on the island that are safe for a visit if Kailua is not. This has happened twice to my knowledge in four years, and took about a week to dilute out and get clean. The beach is almost always perfect, so don't let that scare you off! It's just something to know. This is one of the world's best beaches and usually a prime example of the best white sand Hawaii has to offer.

One last little thing, please don't litter - this is so important! Mahalo for keeping the land and ocean pristine!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kailua Beach Park also viewed

 

Been to Kailua Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing