We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Beach! Hidden gem!”
Review of Kailua Beach Park

Kailua Beach Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$156.02*
and up
Mokulua Islands Full-Day Guided Kayak Tour from Kailua Beach
More Info
$420.00*
and up
Luxury Convertible Tour to Oahu's North Shore
More Info
$39.99*
and up
Kayak Rental
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Kailua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing Beach! Hidden gem!”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is truly one of the best beaches on O'ahu.
Discovered this one day randomly. Was working in Kailua, and never even knew that this beach existed.
Great for swimming and sunbathing; not so good for snorkelling (no good reefs in the area, and a great sandy sea bed).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank France N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,625
    554
    71
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, WI
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the best beaches on O'ahu”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Very nice beach and the water can be great for boogie boarding, body surfing or light/beginner surfing. Also popular for kite surfers too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mnfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
2,577 reviews
1,417 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,351 helpful votes
“The absolute no. 1 premier beach.”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Want to know where the best place for cobalt blue sea and wide continuous powdery sand is? This is the premier site,in my opinion,because it has calm water,off shore breezes,a line of palms and ironwoods to shade your white,but getting pink skin. Miss this place and you are obviously still gawking at tacky Honolulu.
It is a huge park with picnic pavilions to escape the heat. There is no escaping the crowds because its popular with local families,wind surfers and kite boarders. We had a mess- of -fun with a 2-seater kayak that was $55 for 4 hours,making it the cheapest,romantic, laugh-fest, for my femme and i. Be warned though,marriage doesn't mean co-ordination,if you know what i mean .

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No Wonder Residents Try to Keep this a Secret”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Recently there has been local residents complaining about tourists. Funny thing is that we saw that piece on Yahoo and decided we had to drive over to see if Kailua was as wonderful as the locals said.
OMG, this beach is fantastic. The locals we meet were happy and glad we visited. It seems that a small group of locals have complained about toursits. Well, the next time we go, we are going to stay here.
Kailua and Kailua Beach Park is as amazing as ever. I totally understand why some, probably isolationistic locals, don't want you to know about the place. Amazing!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DancerForMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia,
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great views, strong breezes, clear waters”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Windsurfers and the like come out in full force during windy/drizzly weather. Space for picnics and family outings. Benches to sit and watch. Fine white sand. A steeper incline from beach to water's edge. Showers and picnic benches.
Rentals of surf boards etc. and a general store, food at the K&K BBQ Inn nearby very handy. Large portions at K&K - try the BBQ chicken and combination plates.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank designfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kailua Beach Park also viewed

 

Been to Kailua Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing