We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A private gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaimalino Homestay Bed and Breakfast

Kaimalino Homestay Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaimalino Homestay Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Kaimalino Homestay Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #12 of 14 Kailua B&B and Inns
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A private gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is one of those places that you hesitate to review...because you want to keep it all to yourself. But I realize that would be selfish, especially since I can't be in Kailua 52 weeks a year! This is not a standard B&B. Only one couple or group (1 or 2 bedrooms) is hosted at a time, so you are guaranteed privacy (but have the world's sweetest B&B hostess to advise you). Instead of fighting the crowds at Waikiki, this feels like staying with your favorite aunt at her house, if your aunt had a nice home in the same neighborhood in which the Obama's vacation. There is a very comfortable king-sized bed, free internet, adorable bathroom with atrium garden, use of a beautiful landscaped pool and hot tub, and you have TWO private decks, downstairs with hammock and table, and upstairs, where I watched the gorgeous sunrise (although apparently that is visible from the deck only two months of the year) and saw a huge full arc rainbow. It is 2 blocks to a beach access and a mile to the famous Kailua Beach, a tropical paradise of sugar white sand and aqua water. Plus a lovely continental breakfast, a mini fridge and microwave, beach towels, and instructions on sight-seeing. Did I mention the incredible Hawaiian bird songs? This is in a real home, so not for those who want a 5 star hotel, but absolutely great for those who want a 5 star experience on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wellsprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We spent two nights at Kaimalino Kailua. The home is in a quiet, residential neighborhood. The room is fine, the private bathroom large and I loved the private lanai. Susan gave us good tips on sights, activities and restaurants. Breakfasts were tasty. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BevLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

I wish there were more reviews on this place. It is absolutely beautiful! It is quiet, peaceful, and we could not have asked for more. It is all we could have wished for. My husband and I stayed here in Sept. 2010 for 3 days. We only wish it could have been longer. Grounds are well groomed and beautiful. The place is clean and neat. The bed is comfortable. Only one guest, or guest group allowed at a time so very nice that way. Beautiful patio with upper and lower deck. Nice pool area (cannot accommodate young children because it is deep). Lovely living room. Beautiful atrium in bathroom. As much or as little interaction with the hostess as you wish. She is a very sensitive and kind person. Breakfast is served, but due to ordinances, only packaged foods can be prepared. No cooked meals. Our breakfasts consisted of yogurt, fresh fruit, toast, or similar item, granola, hot drinks, packaged waffles heated in the toaster, etc. A 3-5 minute drive to beautiful beaches, or a 10 minute walk. We were very satisfied and recommend this beautiful location to anyone. A real paradise!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Switzerland03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

A last minute emergency led me to this wonderful bed and breakfast in my new hometown of Kailua. Lovely hostess, wonderful homey surroundings, privacy, lucious grounds, delicious breakfast, nice company, and a wonderful nights sleep is just what the doctor ordered. Very elite neighborhood near where Obama stays. I would definately recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone visiting Kailua. There was an awesome observation deck that looked out on the ocean, and the open tropical grounds before Kaneohe. A lovely pool is on site too. I felt very well taken care of. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jalohadavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua
11.8 mi away
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,316 reviews
18.7 mi away
Courtyard Oahu North Shore
25.4 mi away
Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
11.7 mi away
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,663 reviews
6.3 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaimalino Homestay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaimalino Homestay Bed and Breakfast

Property: Kaimalino Homestay Bed and Breakfast
Address: 656 Old Mokapu Rd, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-1635
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaimalino Homestay, a bed and breakfast in Kailua, Hawaii offers you a gracious stay on the Windward Side. Closed November and December ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaimalino Homestay Bed And Breakfast Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing