We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“" Perfect place for peaceful and relaxing vacation"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hula Breeze

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hula Breeze
Ranked #2 of 14 Kailua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“" Perfect place for peaceful and relaxing vacation"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Hula Breeze is such a great chill out destination, situation on the windward side of Oahu, in one of the best neighborhood's, with two of the best beaches you could wish for on your doorstep. The property is in a peaceful area of town, with some shop's and Kailua beach a short walk away. The room's have all you would need, fridge freezer, microwave wi-fi etc... Even down to big beach towel's and sun screen. They also have a well stocked area for beach equipment, so you can go to the beach for the day fully armed, with cooler, seating, bodyboard's etc.. Allison and Sven are such good host's, nothing is to much trouble for them. We cannot recommend this place highly enough, so sad to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rolo120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    23
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
137
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

It was two Japanese old couples' stay.
Owner husband and wife explained plainly also for inconvenient English us.
Language was satisfactory.
It was very easy to pass and was wonderful environment.

Moreover, he plans to use also for the following vacances.
Thank you! ARIGATO!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOSHIO T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spend 4 nights of our honeymoon at the Hula Breeze. It is a very nice and especially calm place to stay. The hosts are very helpfull and one of the most beautiful beaches of Oahu is just a short walk away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthias M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was my second time at Hula Breeze. It's a great place, a few blocks from the beach and the general store (for morning coffee runs). Alison (owner) is wonderful - very welcoming. Nothing fancy, but very comfortable and great value. This is our go-to location!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveToTravelFrom650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The pineapple room was bright and airy and topped off with all the necessities required! Our only disappointment was that we had such little time to stay. what a little haven the "hula breeze turned out to be!" Definitely recommend this spot which was so relaxing and only a little drive away from a beautiful beach. If you are looking for a sanctuary to unwind this is the spot. Allison was so friendly and helpful. If we are so fortunate to return to the island we plan to revisit this hidden treasure!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happylivingthedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyou, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

I'm definately not going to tell about this place.
However, here're some things characteristic about it.
Far from shopping places, laundry machine only between 10 a.m. and 4 p.m., only a few chances to meet the owner's family.
Sorry, it's yet our one and only secret place for our summer vacation in the world.
I do reccomend to stay at other places in the downtown area in Kailua.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AboveTurtlebackTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HulaGirl19, Owner at The Hula Breeze, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Aloha,

Don't worry, we will always have a spot for you and your familiy here at the hula Breeze....you don't have to keep us a secret

We really are a short 10-12 min walk or a 5 min drive into Kailua town and we live onsite so we are always available to answer questions.

See you next year!

Warm Regards, Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

With few options in Kailua, my wife and I (both confirmed B&B skeptics) took a chance and booked the Hula Breeze. What a gem this place turned out to be. Allison and Sven are incredible hosts - gracious but not intrusive (they're not the hovering B&B innkeeper types, thank goodness). What must be the finest beach on Oahu (if not beyond) is a short walk away, as is Kailua town (it was SO NICE to escape from Honolulu!). We'll be back, thanks to the hospitality and location of the Hula Breeze.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TurtlebackTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hula Breeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hula Breeze

Property: The Hula Breeze
Address: 172 Kuumele Pl, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-2953
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Hula Breeze Hotel Kailua
The Hula Breeze Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing