We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable!”
Review of Sharon's Serenity

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sharon's Serenity
Ranked #8 of 13 Kailua B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 30, 2009

As stated by another reviewer, Sharon is a gracious and unobtrusive hostess. Her coffee/juice/yogurt/fruit/bread of your choice breakfast was a great start to our day. My mother, sister and I enjoyed the dogs. We had the Suite room and had the bathroom across the hall to ourselves (didn't share with Sharon as another reviewer stated). The location was perfect for walking to the beach or a short drive downtown to nice places to eat. The tables on the patio by the pool are a great place to have a glass of wine after a day of sightseeing. Sharon has a table covered with guide books, maps, and brochures and will offer helpful info about things to see in the area. All in all, we enjoyed our stay. If you are looking for the sterile, unhomey feel of a hotel room this place won't be for you. But if you want a glimpse into the life of a local, stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ichiban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Sharon's Serenity
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 76 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2009

Sharon is an attentive but unobtrusive host. She provides a wealth of information about Kailua and all of Oahu. The property is well located near the beach, central Kailua, and Lanikai and the pool is first rate.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laconic12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

We were at Sharon for three nights and we definitely enjoyed our stay: we were in the pool view room with private bathroom and the accomodation was perfect.
Sharon is a wonderful host always ready to give tips on the best places to go.
Her B&B is really close to the beach and her backyard with pool is right on the canal with a great view.
This is the right place if you are looking for a relaxing stay in this paradise island.

Mahalo Sharon!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marconap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

It's true that Sharon is absolutely and undoubtedly a lovely person, full of kindness and attentions to her guests, and the location is more than acceptable being a ten-minute-walk from the seaside.
But some real considerations have to be done before choosing this B&B, since the situation is dramatically different from what offered thru the website.
Our plans were to spent an entire week at Sharon's, but after a single night we decided to move away. Starting, we were first assigned a wrong room, instead of the chosen Suite Room we'd been given the Blue Room.
The Blue Room, like the rest of the house, is approximately furnished with very old pieces, the bed could not really be defined comfortable, the ceiling fan didn't really work (like probably all the other appliances in the room), even if the bathroom is really (you'll understand why...) private. There is a secondary detail: we heard a loud noise coming from the wardrobe, and with a full surprise we discovered that the unique washing and drying machines of the house were located there inside and working! A clear note left over reported that they were not at your disposal for the high price of electricity etc., inviting you to go few blocks down to the public laundry.
Finally we'd moved to the Suite Room, (that appeared immediately different from the photo you see on the website) where general conditions were exactly the same: old furniture, noisy fan, wardrobe half full of other people clothes, uncomfortable mattress. But the real surprise is that the "large private bath" is located outside the bedroom (with the problem you should dress up anytime you need it) and, even worse it isn't "private" since you should share it with Sharon herself!
It's also true that the two dogs are funny, but they aren't under any control, going around all time, entering all the rooms, sitting over beds, and their strong smell could be perceived all over the house.
After the first night, and a quick unsatisfying coffee-'n'-muffin breakfast we agreed with Sharon (always nice and kind, undoubtedly lovely on a personal point of view) to quit for another accomodation.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ThePoloMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

I recently had the pleasure to stay with Sharon and her two adorable dogs, The house is lovely and in a great location. The beds are comfy and clean. She has a great pool that looks out onto a canal. I was just a few blocks from the beach where I swam, and kayaked. Sharon prepared and served great java and tropical fruit breakfasts with a smile. I sincerely recommend her bed and breakfast for solo travelers, couples and families alike.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Zoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

the previous review said it all - the only thing missed out is that it is in a very good location it is far enough away from the main road to give you a good nights sleep but also a very short walk from the beach and a really good bar/restaurant to finish off the evening - you can book sharon's with complete confidence. if you do not have a car , there are some buses to honolulu close by

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fsweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

My parents and I were looking for a place in Kailua, I found Sharon's Serenity online. This was the first for my folks and I and didn't know what to expect. Sharon has a lovely place with a lovely yard and two precious dogs that hang out by the front door. We had a wonderful continental style breakfast in the morning with delicious fresh fruit and served to us by Sharon, she is a wonderful lady with much aloha. I would definitely book a stay with Sharon's Serenity B & B again!

2  Thank Allicat27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua
25.6 mi away
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
21.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Oahu North Shore
21.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oahu/Kapolei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 mi away
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
8.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
2.2 mi away
Paradise Palms Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharon's Serenity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharon's Serenity

Address: 127 Kakahiaka St, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-3474
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Sharon's Serenity Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing