We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shave Ice - Awesome!!!”
Review of Island Snow

Island Snow
Ranked #2 of 10 Dessert in Kailua
Certificate of Excellence
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Shave Ice - Awesome!!!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The shave ice is awesome! It is situated really close to Kailua Beach. They have plenty of flavors to choose from and the staff is very friendly! Also kayaking rentals are in the same parking lot.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tngal40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    81
    17
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“My favorite shave ice on the island”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We did a taste comparison of a couple different shave ice places last week and Island Snow came out on top! I was surprised because we just stumbled upon it on our way back from hiking Koko Crater, and it wasn't one of the places hyped up in our guidebooks. We tried Aoki's on the North Shore and Kenekes in Waimanalo, and my husband and I both preferred Island Snow.

I got pineapple, lilikoi, and coconut with a scoop of rich and creamy vanilla ice cream at the bottom which was perfect for cooling off. My husband got the snowcap (which is apparently condensed milk) that they drizzle on top if you're feeling really decadent.

If you're in the Kailua area, you should definitely try Island Snow!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bananafishfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Love the flavors- better than ice cream bc it is lighter tasting. But you can also get ice cream at the bottom. Haven't tried the beans but may be brave enough in future. Great tropical flavors and easy neighborhood hang out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank VitDSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty new dessert treat”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I had never tried shave ice with condensed milk. It was a wonderful surprise. I had the mango and cherry with condensed milk on top. It was delicious. However, next time I would just have the mango with condensed milk.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DestinationUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
140 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Oh Oh Oh”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Now I know why the President gets his shave ice here. AND it's only 3.00. I made a meal more than once. On the mainland, I've never had shave ice with a scoop of vanilla icecream at the bottom. It really makes a difference. Also, the guys are generous with the syrups and boy do they have unique flavors.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pinkiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Island Snow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing