We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an overlooked gem”
Review of Uahi Island Grill

Uahi Island Grill
Ranked #7 of 143 Restaurants in Kailua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“an overlooked gem”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is my favorite place to take visitors b/c it has fresh local food, a nice vibe and is never overly crowded. A recent menu change made me a bit sad- their vegetarian option was far superior before- but overall still a great place for a delicious dinner (or reasonable lunch!)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ohjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    117
    23
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food, Loud Environment”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We dined at Uahi Island Grill on March 28th, and the food was amazing. Everything was fresh and prepared by a chef who valued fresh ingredients and fish. Unfortunately, we shared the restaurant with 2 large groups, and the noise level really detracted from the whole experience. Our server was familiar with the menu items and provided excellent recommendations. We would strongly recommend this place, but caution others to be prepared to speak loudly if they want their dinner partner(s) to hear them.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weekendtraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great meal after a day at the beach!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife had the Grilled Ahi with red curry sauce and I had the garlic chicken! Both were excellent! Large servings and great service in a very casual setting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service in a small restaurant”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The place was rated highly and we were not disappointed.

We called for reservations and they don’t take reservations for parties less than 6. It’s a small place with seating for just over 30 people. We got there on a Wednesday around 6:30 and had no problem finding a table. We pretty much had the place to ourselves until after 7:00 when people started flocking in.

We started off by splitting a garden salad. We both had the grilled Mahi with a red Thai curry. We were in such a hurry to eat we didn’t take photos of the meals until after we had started. The fish was absolutely fabulous and the curry was not too hot. They had an Argentinian Malbec on the menu as well which was quite drinkable.

Desert was a Malasada which we split. Very good Again we forgot to take a photo to show the presentation until we were well into it.

Ambiance was not at the same level as Baci or the Grove (two other great restaurants in Kailua) but the food and the prices more than made up for it. The staff was very friendly and service was prompt. We had a great meal for two for just under $90 with a generous tip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

From the outside, this restaurant may not appear like much - it isn't that big and has a diner feel to it; however, the food is excellent! For dinner, I would recommend going early to avoid waiting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Budgeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uahi Island Grill also viewed

 

Been to Uahi Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing