We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wannabe fusion, yet surprisingly tasty and memorable dessert” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Uahi Island Grill

Uahi Island Grill
Ranked #6 of 143 Restaurants in Kailua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A wannabe fusion, yet surprisingly tasty and memorable dessert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I generally am more skeptical about fusion food. We saw people getting edamame (boiled beans, Japanese appetizer) and the menu has some Thai curry and were expecting a giant confusion of Asian food.

We ordered a stake with local beef and mahi mahi fish in red Thai curry, without much expectation. To our surprise, neither dish was delicate, but both oddly tasty. The winner of the two is the mahi mahi. I wouldn’t say the papaya salad and red curry were too authentic Thai, but somehow the overall flavour was quite nice.

After being relieved, we thought we were being a bit judgmental and decided to venture into dessert. We ordered lilikoi (passion fruit) cheese cake and chocolate peanut butter cake. We were thinking about sharing one, but couldn’t decide on which one, so got both. Guess what, we were fighting over the dessert and finished them all!

This place is probably best described as a restaurant that tries to make Asian food with Hawaiian ingredients. It is not a very sophisticated fusion restaurant, but if you put aside label, good food is good food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annie1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    112
    21
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the restaurant at 1730 and the place was empty. Don't be fooled though- in a hour, there was a 45 minute wait. We had the big island tamarind hamburger. So tasty, served on French roll. Also had the Korean beef salad which was nice and tender. For dessert we had the malasada sundae. It had a small piece of chocolate dipped bacon. It was ok. The caramel tart was so good! A nice combination of sweet and salty. Highly recommended!
Overall it was a great meal and we would definitely go back. We even bought a bottle of kimchee salad dressing.
Go but go early or make reservations.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Uali Island Grill is a standard.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Very good, every day lunch and dinner dinning. Easy going, and perfect proportions. Fish always very fresh, great curry. BYOB.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike45992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food -go for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

This very pleasant, inexpensive, friendly, small restaurant is the perfect place to go for lunch. We ate there twice and it was not crowded. The garlic Ahi (yellowfin tuna) was fantastic with a huge serving of Ahi and you have your choice of white or brown rice. The steamed vegetable (choy sum) was a delightful side dish. The ice tea was fresh and they refilled it. Did I mention the awesome desserts? Peach cobbler, Lilikoi cheesecake and several others that looked fantastic. The food is fun with lots of local and Asian flavors. I had the fried tofu steak with tamarind sauce -yummy!! I noticed some of the other reviewers called Uahi Island Grill expensive - We thought it was very reasonable compared to other restaurants in Kailua. We loved it and will definitely go again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice mix of flavors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Visited on our first night in Kailua looking for something a little different. Uahi didn't disappoint. My wife and I had fish gau gee, jumbo shrimp salad and lamb kebobs. Not bad for $40 total. Service was very good. Recommended for a unique spin on surf & turf.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uahi Island Grill also viewed

 

Been to Uahi Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing