We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice B&B - my room was clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manu Mele Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manu Mele Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 14 Kailua B&B and Inns
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice B&B - my room was clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Manu Mele B&B is a nice Bed & Breakfast directly located at Kailua Beach (about 300 meters away). Carol is the owner of the B&B where I stayed for a week in September 2010. But now I have been twice more in Kailua and have stayed at other B&B which were not so close to the beach but also very clean, comfortable and much more bigger as well as cheaper. I paid 100,00 USD + tax per night at Manu Mele B&B what is also for the beautiful Kailua a lot for a regular B&B. 90,00 USD + tax per night would be a better value for the money!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    19
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
42
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forde, Norway
Level Contributor
222 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Good accomondations , we used them all, nice naborhood , green and small swimmingpool.
The only pity is that there is no opportunity to boil or steak a egg....
Carol is a supernanny.

Room Tip: all rooms ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

The Manu Mele Bed & Breakfast did not meet my high expectations. I had high hopes because of the information and pictures on the website. I stayed three nights in the Pikake Room. The site says it is “100 steps from the beach”. It is more like a ten minute walk from the beach. I also expected breakfast and daily turn down service from a bed & BREAKFAST. Instead I received three pieces of fruit waiting for me and my boyfriend for our entire stay. There was a small container of coffee grinds in a Tupperware container in the fridge, but you had to ask for cream or sugar.

No one emptied the trash or made the bed daily, as you would expect. I had to take my dishes out of the room since no one came to collect them and there was no kitchen sink to wash them in. Ants started coming into the room to eat any food crumbs. The trash was overflowing and there was no where to empty it.

The room was much smaller than it looks on the website and I was constantly tripping over my suitcase as there was no room to set it anywhere. The bathroom could fit only one person at a time and you could literally sit on the toilet and wash your hands at the same time. The sink and toilet were that close. You had to close the bathroom door and maneuver around to open the shower door to take a shower. It was just much smaller than I expected.

The positives were it was clean, the location was good if you are visiting someone near the Marine base and the price was very reasonable for Hawaii. The host was very friendly and the bed was comfortable. The beach you could walk to (more than the 100 steps as advertised) was very private and beautiful. It was great to wake up and go for a quick swim to start the day. The accommodations were also very private considering there are only two units.

Overall, the price and location made it worth it, but I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kirkdawg98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We loved our stay at Manu Mele B & B. The only thing better would be if it were RIGHT on the beach, but then you wouldn't get the great price! You walk past a few houses to get to the beach and very few people use it! Carol is a delight. A quiet home in a beautiful* neighborhood with very good restaurants within a couple miles. A grocery store in walking distance. A lovely pool in the back yard for a cool dip. You will love it! Carol's place has all you need, and she has great suggestions for where to go. Listen to her!
P.S. an extremely nice bed. A poor quality bed can ruin a trip!

Room Tip: The Hibiscus room is very nice and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleolundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

We booked this B&B based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed at all.

We stayed in the Pikake Room... happy to say it is exactly as it looks in the photos. The room was adequate in size, it had a bathroom w/shower off to the side as you come in the sliding doors. There is a window at the far end of the room just above the bed which combined with the sliding doors, provided lots of breeze way, never had to use the air conditioning as the temps were quit comfortable at this time of year. The bed was very comfortable, in fact we looked forward to coming home to it after a days worth of site seeing. Plenty of "help your self" breakfast foods (fresh fruit, English muffins) stock pilled in the small fridge. The room was also equipped with a small flat screen TV right in front of the bed, has a small dinning table and chairs, toaster oven, microwave and cooking utensils should you want to do some lite cooking/dine in.

What can I say about Carol that everyone else hasn't said, she is a sweetheart!

We recommend staying at Manu Mele B&B, and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Staying at Manu Mele was a huge cost saving for us...no parking fee, no cleaning fee, no extra fees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DHPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

Although you are not close enough to walk to downtown Kailua, you can walk to a nearby shopping center with a supermarket, coffee shop & other stores. Better yet is the short walk to the beach. Carol has beach chairs & boogie boards you can use. The pool looks inviting, although we didn't use it. Manu Mele is only 20 minutes (depending upon traffic) from downtown Honolulu, so if you want to go into the city for touring or dinner, you can.

We were in the Pikake Room, the smaller of the two, but it was just fine for a couple. Everything was neat and clean & worked just fine. It's not on the website, but there is Wi-Fi available to guests.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

This was a great spot to stay and travel around this side of the Island. Everything was clean, very important! and we knew ahead of time that the B&B only supplied breakfast on the first day. Nice pool to swim in, in a private fenced in garden area. Short walk to a beautiful non busy beach! Carol was very welcoming and helpful in pointing out eating places, and sights to see. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in both rooms as we were there for 4 nights and could only stay in each room for 2 nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waltdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manu Mele Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manu Mele Bed and Breakfast

Property: Manu Mele Bed and Breakfast
Address: 153 Kailuana Pl, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-1671
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Manu Mele Bed And Breakfast Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing